We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the price but thats about it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

In advance of our stay I wrote to request a double bed for the duration, I received a reply assuring us that we were already allocated a double bed, to no avail, we arrived to tiny single beds in a twin room on the top floor almost an attic room. The bathroom, well shower room wasn't terribly clean, no plug for the sink, mouldy tiles and toilet paper you could sand wood with. The breakfast, well there is bread for toast it says but no toaster, scrambled egg swimming in water, not so fresh, very stale croissants, soggy frigid cake, cold meats looking more than a little worse for wear just not a good standard overall though the staff did seem pleasant in the breakfast room. On our final night we rang down for room service at 1030pm, just for a dessert and to request Tea and coffee making facilities, it clearly states on the room service menu that it is available from 12:00-00:00. I waited 5 minutes for someone to answer, gave up then rang again, waited a while and eventually someone answered and said the restaurant was closed by which time it was 1045pm, still well within the time, I then asked for tea and coffee making facilities, the man then put me through to the restaurant!!!! They said that tea and coffee making facilities should already be in the room and that I would have to speak to reception!!!! I gave up!!! Really do think the only unique thing about this place is having breakfast in a Brazilian themed restaurant with cheesy pop music playing in the background.

Room Tip: UPGRADE wish we had
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandDMcDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
There are newer reviews for Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

had a 3 night break ,upgraded to a zen room very nice, staff couldnt do more to help ,breakfast was very good ,only 10 mins into town ,all in all great spot and only 6 euro each way to airport in taxi ,bargin. thanks to ireana for the smooth room upgrade only 15 euros a night

Room Tip: zen room 517 is the best
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0inerb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

enjoyed the size of the room, but there was a nice 10 mn walk to town. Not a problem, just worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Just returned from a four night stay at the Kreutzwald. Stayed in a zen room at the back of the hotel. Quiet, clean and extremely ccomfartable bed. Bathroom very warm with underfloor heating but with a distinct smell of drains. Shower above whirlpool bath but despite the shower screen water leaked from under the bath - presumably from damaged seal around bath. Although this was reported to reception the floor continued to be flooded each time we had a shower.
Breakfast good - hot and cold selection.
Returned to hotel on second night and got changed to eat in the a la carte restaurant. Found restaurant closed and on enquiring at reception was told it was closed as there was a seminar in the restaurant over the next two days. The only option given to us was to eat in the Brazilian restaurant which we declined as it was not to our taste. As a result we had to get a taxi into the town to eat as it was a bitterly cold night. Surely guests could have been informed of the restaurant closure on checking in - even the Brazilian restaurant was closed for an hour at lunchtime on each of the two days of the seminar.
Tallin is a beautiful city and the Kreutzwald is within easy walking distance of the Old Town - even for a pair of OAPs.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rustygary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Booked through booking.com and got a good rate. Hotel is 5 minutes from the old town and was a good base for us.
Good lava stone steak we had in the Brazilian and breakfast was great.
Staff seemed to be friendly and organised our weekend for us , we had A zen room with a massage bath and this was a surpise. Went to troika also and this was fun on the old town square
Will return , nice friendly hotel and city

Room Tip: Zen rooms are great
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My sister & I took a long weekend break to Tallinn & Helsinki, using Tallinn as a cheaper way of getting to Helsinki where her daughter is at university. Our stay at the Kreuzwald was for our last 2 nights and my niece also joined us. We had standard rooms which were fairly similar although my niece's shower room was slightly larger.
The rooms were small and simple with laminate flooring and melamine 'flat pack' style furniture, spotlessly clean, warm and equipped with a hospitality tray, computer & TV (no BBC World but some English language foreign channels). The shower room seemed newly fitted but had a smell of drains; the shower did not have a separate tray but was a simple raised edge built into the floor. There was lots of hot water but no screen only a curtain (which wrapped round your legs) so water splashed on the floor. With an official 4* rating we were disappointed with the accommodation.
We had our evening meal in the Library Restaurant which was tastefully laid out but we were only offered the menu from the Brazilian restaurant. Maybe it was our choices but the food was strange. A spicy Brazilian curry that was mainly sauce and served without rice (or any thing else), a citrus chicken dish (chicken breast with a bland sauce that seemed to come out of a jar, served with half a lemon and greasy fried peppers, the so-called 'wok vegetables'). This had to be sent back for re-heating. The other was a curious pork dish with bean stew.
At least the surroundings were pleasant in contrast to the Brazilian restaurant, a gloomy semi-basement more bar than restaurant, where breakfast is served. The food was fine, with enough selection for all tastes & in sufficient quantity to set one up for the day but it's not a place to linger. No doubt it could have lots of atmosphere for a packed music night but in the cold light of day the decorations looked tacky & weird.
Arriving by taxi from the port gave a distorted impression of the location of the Kreuzwald & it was closer to the Old Town than it first appeared, just 5-10 mins walk. The receptionist was very professional & friendly and gave helpful advice & directions.
All in all it was a satisfactory stay and reasonable value but not as good or as cheap as the Domina Ilmarine where we spent the first night of our trip. It was not apparent, however, what the 'unique' concept of Uniquestay Hotels entailed.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small & fuctional, you may be better off paying more to upgrade.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laNyonsaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed in the Kreutzwald Hotel at the end of October 2011
I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful and the rooms were excellent.
Rooms were Clean, fresh towels and extra on request. The PC in the room with free internet access was a brilliant addition. The bar downstairs was a lovely place to relax before heading into the old town. The location is fine if you dont mind getting the No. 7 Bus for two stops!! Its easy to find. When you exit the front door, turn left and observe the bus stop in front of the kiosk about 70m away. Two Stops will leave you within mins of the old town.

Overall, we all enjoyed our short stay with the Kreutzwald and would not hesitate to return when visitiing Tallinn!!!

Keep up the good work Kreutzwald!!

Room Tip: Get the No. 7 Bus from the stop to the LHS of the front door, its a great way to get to the town ce...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoelR-GalwayIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,720 reviews
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £58 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn is located close to the National Library of Estonia at Toenismaegi, one of the most famous landmarks of Tallinn, and has taken its name from the former name of the library, the Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald State Library. The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, “Kalevipoeg“. The hotel recently completed a throughout the renovation, which has retained the buildings’ historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambiance. After the renovation, the hotel now has a total of 65 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 32 standard rooms, 18 ZEN rooms, and 15 ZEN Deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing