We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It might be we were lucky and upgraded but had a great stay in the hotel. It is not central but finding way into town is not difficult slightly uphill past library and church and you are practically at the top of town in 10 minutes. It is on a main road and you wont get a scenic view. The room provided had a flat screen tv, computer, Jacuzzi, coffee maker and got a good night sleep. The only slight minor points might be access into hotel as I seem to remember steps, so might have to check if not that mobile and breakfast is a bit hectic if there is a group in. Good selection but can be a queue for drinks.Neither was a problem for me. Found staff were friendly

Room Tip: try to get upgraded or pick one of better rooms fir a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluem5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    334
    129
    27
    10
See reviews for
120
363
62
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was taken here for my birthday as a surprise from my boyfriend! We were in the zen room we were so pleased the bath this was amazing!! We loved the mood lights perfect to help you relax and feel refreshed! Champagne was provided on arrival in the room as a birthday treat I was extremely impressed by the staff service with this! Rooms were always clean and to an excellent standard. Staff were always helpful and friendly and answered any questions when needed. The location was fab around 10-15 minutes walk to old town which was our favourite place to visit so beautiful! The hotel breakfast was the best by far of any hotel we have ever stayed in great choice and variety. Only negative thing would be to be careful of some taxi men as they try to rip you off other than that they are not bad prices if you don't fancy walking one evening, around 5 euros at most! Some lovely places to eat and drink would be pepper sack, Chicago, the hotels restaurant (amazing cheesecake!) clay hills, reval cafe and African kitchen! Overall a fantastic stay would definitely come again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed in the hotel Kreutzwald for 4 nights and it was excellent. At the beginning I booked a standard room but on spot decided to go for the upgrade to the room with jacuzzy.I think they called it ZEN room. The room I got was spacious and had a flat screen TV. The location was about 10 minute walk to the old town, so no complaints about that. The only thing which was a bit negative in the hotel was the elevator, it was rather slow.

Tallinn is worth ex[ploring and I would recommend this hotel stay at when in Tallinn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was looking for the hotel close to city center with good value-for-money quality. After numerous checks on the map, I detected that this one has good location, 10-15 minutes walk from the heart of the city. But that was the only thing I liked about this one. The room was quite small, although it was enough for 1 (me) person. TV, bar and a kettle, one chair and a table. Blind curtains were good, though a proper wash is required to remove dust and stains. The windows faced the street so it was quite noisy. Breakfast was medium quality - but what can you expect from this type of a hotel? No fresh juice, poor quality tomatoes and cucumbers. To me everything looks like a renovated and restylished dormitory with canteen downstairs.

Room Tip: ask rooms that are not on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LokiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in September. The hotel recommended Tallink taxis from the airport, but they charged us twice the normal rate - beware.
On arrival reception was friendly and helpful. Our room - 517 - was very disappointing. There was a sloping ceiling which one had to duck under to get to the far side of the bed; the room was stark and very small with no where to sit except the bed, not Zen as advertised; there were wicker blinds at the windows which did not keep out the intrusive street lighting; the bed was hard and uncomfortable; there was no shower, only a hand held shower head on the edge of the bath; there was no ventilation in the bathroom and it smelt. As the room was at the front of the hotel the traffic noise was very loud and the windows did nothing to keep that noise at bay.
We asked for another room the next morning and the receptionist was happy to move us. The second room could have been in a completely different hotel. This room, 414, was everything one would expect: blackout curtains, easy chairs and coffee table, room to move around and put bags, shower over bath and quiet!
Breakfast was good although there was no plain yogurt just the normal fruit flavours with the extra sugar. I overcame the problem by going to the supermarket and buying my own. The waiting staff at breakfast were not very friendly or polite, unlike the reception staff who were delightful.
The hotel was a bit of a trudge to the old town along a very busy main road, but the old town was worth the walk!
TIP ask for a room at the rear of the hotel where it is quieter.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mariannehoyymanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at Kreutzwald for 3 nights with my girlfriend.

The hotel is located slightly outside of Old Town. It is a 20-minute walk to get to the centre. However, a taxi to the centre is about 6 euros, so we ended up taking one quite often. Not a bad location at all.

Check-in was quick and painless. During our stay we were served by two receptionists who were complete opposites. The other receptionist barely smiled or said anything to us whereas the other one was very polite. They both got the job done but a bit more friendliness from the other receptionist would have made our stay better.

Our room was a standard room on the top floor. Very minimalistic and clean. The bathroom was a bit outdated and we experienced a lot of technical difficulties. The shower is basically cheap and terrible. The TV reception was awful. Our air conditioning was working occasionally. The bed was a bit flimsy. These problems gave the hotel a cheap feel.

The free internet is fast and reliable. We really enjoyed the breakfast! However, the juice machine was malfunctioning one morning and they ran out of sausages for a long while another morning.

The price of the hotel is very reasonable compared to other hotels in Tallinn. It makes up for the location. We liked the cleanliness of the room but the lack of attention to detail made it worse than other hotels we have stayed at. The hotel management really needs to step up and pay attention to the smooth running of the hotel. Employees need more customer service training. The breakfast was maybe understaffed which caused issues in supply. The rooms need some maintenance.

Overall, this hotel could be the perfect place to stay with some attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alushousut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melboutne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and our room was large and spacious, large bed , which was a bit soft, and when we did turn our bed on 1 st night there was a very long hair on the sheets. I was disgusted and we stripped our bed and remade it, from the clean sheets on trolley outside our room.
Room has safe, cupboard , desk with computer, flat screen tv on wall, tea & coffee making facilities, mini fridge which has a lock on it, which I found very strange, and we didn't bother to ask for a key.

Bathroom was okay size , shower with shower curtain, which I hate because they always cling to you, heated towel racks, soap & shampoo dispensers only. There wasn't any bench at all in bathroom to put your toiletries on.
Buffet breakfast was very good. Lots of variety.
Hotel was on a main road , when i say main road in this case i mean with a lot of traffic, old town about 15 mins walk, shopping centre about 5 min walk in other direction.
Bus stops practically outside door of hotel, but we didn't use

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foreveritalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#20 of 83 in Tallinn
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Property: Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, "Kalevipoeg".The hotel recently completed a throughout renovation, which has retained the buildings' historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambience.After the renovation the hotel now has a total of 73 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 49 standard rooms, 17 ZEN rooms, and 7 ZEN suites.You can enjoy our Unigue Breakfast at the remarkable Nipernaadi Restaurant, which is also open for all day fine dining, casual meals and drinks.You can indulge yourself at our newly opened ZEN SPA with private saunas, party room with Jacuzzi and experience a variety of different vitalizing and rejuvenating massages and body treatments.Or relax in the Kreutzwald Library Lounge with a delightful pot of tea and a good book from the library.And in the summer you can enjoy the atmosphere of the Summer Terrace - an exiting oasis in middle of the city.Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing