We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at the Kreutzwald over the Laulupidu/Õllesummer period, and was not disappointed with my choice. The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk from the Old Town, and is readily accessible by bus and trolleybus. Its location to the west of the Old Town however means that it is a bit less convenient to get to places like the Lauluväljak, which would require a bus transfer at the Viru Keskus.

The room was comfortable, the beds especially! For someone with a weak back, the fact that I woke up each morning without aching (especially after full days of walking!) was a huge plus, and not something I take for granted. The liquid soap provided was not very good however, and ran out extremely quickly, other hotels with similar soaps usually provide better quality ones so this is something that can definitely be improved.

Breakfast was nicely done and of good quality, although unimaginative and the same every day. Still, the fact that they had chili flakes available helped to spice up the monotony. The bar was good (if a bit pricy for outside the Old Town), and the free football was fun!

Where this hotel really shone was their staff. All of the staff on duty were nothing but helpful, polite, accommodating and friendly. Special props go to Ms Kadri Jõenurm, who helped check me in and out, and who was extremely friendly and helpful.

Would definitely consider staying here again on a return visit!

Room Tip: The main road gets really noisy with racing bikes at night, so try and get a room on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shixianhuangdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear shixianhuangdi,

Thank you for taking time to write this review!

We appreciate your comments on the breakfast, room and service and special thanks for the hint on the liquid soap- we will definitely see into this matter.

We will be glad to have you staying with us again in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager

Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    349
    134
    27
    10
See reviews for
131
377
63
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went to Tallin over a week end with my family, coming from Helsinki.

The hotel is at walking distance from the City Center.
Quiet, comfortable, with Air conditioning and Jacuzzy

The sofa bed for the children was OK and did its job.
Breakfast above average, with a delicious buffet where you can find pretty much everything.

The staff is nice and always available.

If i need to find a complaint, probably I would mention the price....slightly over what I thought - but the period is busy so, sort of understandable

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lugano_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Lugano,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your feedback.

You are always welcome to visit us again, and for your next booking we recommend to contact us directly for the best rate guarantee.

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager

Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights enroute to St Petersburg. Hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the old town & there is a shopping complex 10 minutes the other way. Nothing close by. Place looks very drab from outside, but quite modern inside. I had a (smallish) single room but it did have a balcony. Polite staff and excellent breakfast choice. However the big 'downer' during the two nights I was there were a group of drunken English lads who ran riot during the night, one seen running naked through the corridors. Also faeces deposited in the hallway! To make matters even worse there were nighttime roadworks outside on one night. Not the hotel's fault but they could have warned me and they certainly could have done something about the rowdy guests!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank droggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went to Tallinn with Mrs in June and picked this one for staying. Didn´t regret our
choice. Excellent service and location, about ten minutes walk to Old Town and about
7 euros taxi ride from port. Nearest shopping centre is about 10 minutes walk opposite
direction from Old Town. Only minor downside is lack of restaurants nearby, but hotel´s
own restaurant is worth a visit.

Recommended hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jii67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Gii67,

Thank you very much for this review!

We are glad that you were satisfied with our service and you liked our restaurant Nipernaadi.

We will be glad to host you again in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager

Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel Kreutzwald does not easily impress you with promised 4 stars, I'd rather say it is a 3-star hotel. However there is nothing wrong with the hotel, but in certain areas it does lack something. Check in went smoothly, and me and my friend got a small but lovely twin room from the fifth floor. The room was quiet, air condition worked well and the beds were fine. The toilet was average with no toiletries (every 4 star hotel has something, shampoo, conditioner etc) and the toilet seat was placed in a tight corner. Fine for us two slender girls but I could imagine a bigger person having problems sitting there. We were missing a decent hairdrier or at least a socket to use our own. If you want to use your own drier or shaver you have to do it in the room and there is no mirror there. Breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular. For us the location of the hotel was convenient and the staff were friendly. Didn't try the spa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kultasuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Kultasuu,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you took your time to write this review and share your experience with other readers.

All feedback is very important to us and we appreciate all comments about our services as they will help us to improve.

I am glad that in general you enjoyed your stay and we will be glad to host you again on your future visits to Tallinn!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager

Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyväskylä
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I have Stayed several hotels in Tallinn but this was the best. Everything was excellent! Special thanks for the staff! They were great! Rooms are nice, breakfast very tasty, food in the restaurant was very good. Spa was lovely! See you soon again:)!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddyn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Buddyn98,

Thank you very much for your review!

We are glad that you liked your stay at the Kreutwald Hotel and we are gladly looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager

Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Kreutzwald. We found the reception staff very helpful & friendly. The lift was a little small however overall the hotel was very good.
The rooms were clean & spacious, with very large bathrooms. :-). The doors open in to the hallway, which I have never experienced, however change is good.
The beds were soft and gave a sound nights sleeping.
We used the hotel as 'base' for walking in to the old town. It takes around 10 minutes however it is only 1 street to follow.
The breakfast was good, I would suggest going a little earlier as the levels of food do tend to decrease quite rapidly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Edward,

Thank you very much for this review!

I am glad that you were satisfied with your stay at the Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn!

We will be more than glad to see you return!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
783 reviews
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.8 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Property: Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, "Kalevipoeg".The hotel recently completed a throughout renovation, which has retained the buildings' historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambience.After the renovation the hotel now has a total of 73 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 49 standard rooms, 17 ZEN rooms, and 7 ZEN suites.You can enjoy our Unigue Breakfast at the remarkable Nipernaadi Restaurant, which is also open for all day fine dining, casual meals and drinks.You can indulge yourself at our newly opened ZEN SPA with private saunas, party room with Jacuzzi and experience a variety of different vitalizing and rejuvenating massages and body treatments.Or relax in the Kreutzwald Library Lounge with a delightful pot of tea and a good book from the library.And in the summer you can enjoy the atmosphere of the Summer Terrace - an exiting oasis in middle of the city.Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing