We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel outside the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel outside the old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. A taxi from outside the airport cost €8. We were upgraded to a zen room which was lovely and really spacious. It's obvious that the hotel has had a recent refurb and it's been done well. Our room had a jacuzzi bath which was fabulous! Top marks go to the girl on reception (can't remember her name) she was really helpful. Breakfast was ideal to set you up for the day ahead with hot and cold choices. The hotel doesn't have a great deal around it but don't let that put you off and it is situated a 15 min walk from the old town. The walk back will help walk off the delicious Estonian food!! Tallinn is now one of my favourite cities it's beautiful!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catdurham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear catdurham1,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you chose hotel Kreutzwald for your stay in Tallinn and that you were satisfied with you stay!

We will be glad to host you again in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager

Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    325
    130
    27
    10
See reviews for
118
355
62
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We paid two rooms for two days and we got corfirmation from you, that all is ok. But:: We game on friday 8 aug and on saturday 9 aug our rooms was given avay and our things were on corridoor. At reception they say that we got room only for one night. Why this happened ?? We were very angry and it was very unpleasant behaviour from the hotel because they accuse us from the situation. I WANT EXPLANATION WHY THIS HAPPENED AND ALSO COMPENSATION FOR THAT ANNOYANCE WE GOT !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Conference & Banqueting Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Kari,

My name is Heli Lillepalu I was manager on duty this weekend when you stayed with us.
Firstly, I would like to apologize once more for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. I recall us having a conversation on Sunday morning before your departure. As we explained back then to you - it was not our hotel mistake. Reservation was made through a travel agent mistakenly for one night instead if two and that was also shown to you on the reservation confirmation that we had.
On Saturday afternoon we tried to reach you via phone but you did not answer and after several times of trying we finally decided to move your items from the room to our secured luggage room upstairs. I am really sorry about this, but as we had the information that you were supposed to check out on Saturday then we just acted according to the hotel´s policies.
Regarding the compensation as I explained already, what comes to the room charge, you will have to contact the travel agency who made a mistake with the booking. However from the hotel side you were upgraded to one of our Suites, given a complimentary lunch with your friends, free parking and we also sent a bottle of sparkling wine together with a fruit plate to your room, so actually we did try to compensate as much as we could and during our conversation back then you seemed to have understood our explanation and also accepted the compensation package.

I am really sorry if I somehow misunderstood you.

Please do accept our apologies for one more time!

Best regards,

Heli Lillepalu

Conference & Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a very nice one-night stay in a Zen room.
Room was large and clean. Our double bed was very comfy as was the huge extra bed for our daughter.
Jacuzzi and the led lights in the bathroom were a very nice addition to the room!
A/C and WiFi were working nicely and there was even a complimentary PC in the room.
Excellent breakfast (porridge is highly recommended!!) with a wide variety of foods to choose from. You can enjoy your breakfast in the beer garden which was nice as the air in the breakfast room was quite stuffy during our stay...
Hotel is nicely situated in walking distance to the Old town and Kristiine shopping center. There is a tiny parking space behind the hotel but it is quite hard to find...
We will definitely stay again in this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear TravellerFinn,

Thank you for your review!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

You are most welcome to stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager

Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
893 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 675 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is located abut 10-15 minutes walking from the city center. While making a choice of hotels I am always concerned about the old town city centers that can easily echo noises from revelers late into the night. Combine this with the fact that many EU hotels do not have aircon and you must keep your windows open and you have a sleepless combination. Having a hotel like this one outside the center alleviates this.

The staff was kind and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and the WIFI worked well. The beds are average firmness, the rooms clean and a decent size. There is a spa in the hotel and it does book up fast so reserve in advance.

The breakfast was included with the price and was very sufficient for the day. Eggs, ham, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads, coffee and tea.

There is a bus that stops in front of the hotel if you do not like the walk into town. Due to the location the hotel is a bit cheaper than others and would recommend this as an affordable option.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear ExplorerXYZ,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this review!

We are glad that you chose us for your stay in Tallinn and that you enjoyed your stay with us!

You are most welcome to stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager

Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

From the outside this hotel is fairly uninspiring. It's in a quite and dull part of town, but the centre isn't far away and an easy walk. Inside the hotel, easy check in which was good, nice enough staff going about their business. The room.........well, they warned me that we could "luck out" and get a good room as some are "good" I didn't luck out, the room was refurbished but obviously on a. Tight budget. It was an odd shape! And the bathroom, well, it was so small it was awkward and annoying! Breakfast wasn't good, reheated rolls that were hard! And the selection wasn't good, so didn't enjoy that. They do have a nice beer garden. Next door is a Chinese restaurant, it's quite cheap, the food is ok, but not great! Wifi was excellent!

Room Tip: Check the room before taking the key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Jim,

Thank you for your review!

I am really sorry to hear that you weren´t satisfied with the room! We are constantly improving our product and each year we renovate a part of the rooms. Perhaps you could send me an e-mail with the room number you stayed in and we could take a look at this room. My e-mail address is fom.kwh@uhotelsgroup.com.

Thanks again for your review and we will be more than happy to welcome you in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Kreutzwald.
Kadri in particular was very kind , friendly and helpful and all the staff courteous and professional.
The room was quite 'roomy' and comfortable for two friends travelling.
Very close to easy transport to the Old Town and shopping.
Loved the breakfast -good variety and prompt service if running low on anything.
Was close to the Tantsu Pidu (Dance Festival) and the parade for the Laulu Pidu (Song Festival) started nearby.
Only disappointment was that the lovely lounge area had music going too loudly to be able to make phone calls or concentrate on sending emails etc.in the morning. It was empty.

Room Tip: As ours was a basic room I would say all the rooms would be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiinaballeriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Tiinaballeriina,

Thank you for taking time and writing this review!

I am more than glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments on the service and breakfast as well!

I´m really sorry for the too loud volume of the music in the lobby, we will definitely check it upon this and make sure that the volume is never too loud this disturb the customers.

Thanks again for your review and hopefully we can also host you in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager

Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Only ten minutes walk to the old city - which is wonderful and a must-see. Comfortable beds, friendly staff, and a massage available on site at a reasonable price. I loved Estonia and I think Tallinn is one of the most interesting to visit with its old houses and shops. We spent a few hours wandering the cobbled streets. Good food too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docbebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Docbebar,

Thanks a lot for your review and lovely words about our city of Tallinn!

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and if you should ever visit Estonia again, then we will be glad to be your hosts in Tallinn!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#18 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Property: Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, "Kalevipoeg".The hotel recently completed a throughout renovation, which has retained the buildings' historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambience.After the renovation the hotel now has a total of 73 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 49 standard rooms, 17 ZEN rooms, and 7 ZEN suites.You can enjoy our Unigue Breakfast at the remarkable Nipernaadi Restaurant, which is also open for all day fine dining, casual meals and drinks.You can indulge yourself at our newly opened ZEN SPA with private saunas, party room with Jacuzzi and experience a variety of different vitalizing and rejuvenating massages and body treatments.Or relax in the Kreutzwald Library Lounge with a delightful pot of tea and a good book from the library.And in the summer you can enjoy the atmosphere of the Summer Terrace - an exiting oasis in middle of the city.Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing