We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good choice.”
Review of Old Town Maestro's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Town Maestro's
Ranked #31 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I had to go to Tallin for a business trip and my partner suggested me this hotel as a "good value, even if not luxury, accommodation".
The Old Town Maestro Hotel is in a XVI century building in the heart of Tallin's old town, UNESCO world heritage.
Bars, restaurants, bakerys and, of course, the most important cultural attractions are just steps away from the hotel.
The reception is at the 2nd floor and the clerks were always VERY helpful, available and friendly.
They gave me and my wife a room at the 5th floor: very spacious, as the restroom, but the floor and the furnitures need to be "refreshed".
Unfortunately Tallinn's weather during my stay was very hot and the A/C was off for the entrire duration. I asked the clerks why and they replied that it is a municipal rule.
Enough the breakfast quality, but a little bit poor the choice.
Useful complimentary gadget: ear corks to avoid to be awaken by the noisy night people... :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeitaliaLeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2011

This hotel is perfectly situated a couple of hundred yards from the main town hall square. The rooms are large and we heard no external noise at all. TV reception (on an antiquated set) was poor, and there were no in-room tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is varied and plentiful, though the "hot" items could benefit from a couple more nightlights under them. All staf were friendly and helpful. All in all an excellent city break choice with just a few minor niggles.

Room Tip: To avoid noise ask for a high room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This was my husband's Christmas present to me. I've been to Tallin before, but never been able to stay in the Old Town. This hotel is just round the corner from the Town Square. Fab. Well, no, it was not. We arrived on Friday 3rd Dec at 21.30. We were met with te glib statement that there was no room for us. They were "vey sorry, had a large party in" So we had no room. They moved us to a hotel outside the Old Town area, They said 10 minutes walk. It wasn't it took 25 minutes and involved crossing several main roads. The next day we went back to Old Maestro to see if a room had become available. The receptionist said 'no' and openly told us that there were six more rooms that were 'double booked' on that day too. Management was unavailable. They didn't seem to care. We wonder if this is a scam that they are running! The City Hotel where we were sent was awful, it has never been reviewd on Trip Advisor - yet! Rooms shabby, no drawers or wardrobe. Bathroom like a cupboard, Room not serviced, we cleaned it & made the beds ourselves. There were some 'strange' types hanging around the lobby??? And the place had an unpleasant smell. Needless to say, breakfast was poor.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Husband's birthday celebrated in Tallinn. Lived in the hotel Old Town Maestro's. Lived in a room on the fourth floor. Booked a room on the fourth floor on purpose, as they were with the child. Worried that would interfere with recreation located nearby strip bar. Pleased with the hotel location in the heart of Old Town. The hotel itself is located in a historic building. The rooms are spacious, in addition to two standard beds, there was a sofa bed. Is very clean, the bathroom has everything you need: hair dryer, soap, shower gel. Particularly pleased with breakfasts, hearty, delicious meals, the staff did not have time to serve, had to wait for the coffee. Good budget hotel, I recommend it to a stop on the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_Gavrilova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We had a problem with our reservation at another hotel and had no place to stay. We were booked into the Old Town Maestro for three nights. We saw from the reviews that there was noise from the bars surrounding it, but thought we could tolerate it. The rooms are large, bathrooms with tubs, and the staff are great. The bars around the hotel were very loud, they had earplugs in the rooms, however that was not the problem, it was a smoking room. My wife has allergies and she could not stay there. The next morning we went to the desk and told them we had to check out. The person at the desk said that we would have to pay for the night we stayed and the bank would return the three nights we had paid for as a credit. We though that was a little scary. We paid and checked out. They were super nice and understanding. The money was credited as promised. If you like music and don't mind the smoke, I reccomend this hotel. It is in the middle of old town and accessible to some great restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRaoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The location of the hotel is unbeatable. It is right in the old centre of the town. Just several steps away from all attractions. Our room was very spacious with large bathroom. Bathroom had a heated floor. Interior was outdated, but still functional. Breakfast was below the average. Small choice and very simple products. Staff was polite, but not welcoming and friendly.

Be prepared that you will definitely need earplugs or sleeping pills. (Hotel provides earplugs for free) A night bar with loud live music is located on the ground floor of the hotel. Until morning it is very noisy in the room. You can also feel vibrations come from the bar downstairs.

I do not advise you to stay there unless you are visiting Tallinn for a hard clubbing. Old Tallinn itself is a nice medieval town with narrow cobbled streets. Also it is good for nightlife. But don't stay there too long, nothing to do after the second day.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Massive room with lovely heated bathroom floor! Yes you might here some music, if you set your mind to it, but I had some of the best nights sleep I've had for months here! Location is right on the plot, in the midst of everything. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#32 of 86 in Tallinn
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Maestro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Maestro's

Address: Suur-Karja 10, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £46 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Maestro's 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Hotel Old Town Maestro's is housed in a 15th-century building right in the heart of Tallinn's Old Town. It offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a seating area. All rooms at the Hotel Old Town Maestro`s are classically furnished and decorated with warm colors. Each comes with satellite TV, a minibar and a safe. All have a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied buffet breakfast is served every day in the dining room. .Front desk staff is available 24 hours a day and can assist with luggage storage and car rental service. Hotel Old Town Maestro's is situated 200 meters from Raekoja Plats and the City Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Town Maestro's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Maestro`s Hotel Tallinn
Old Town Maestros Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing