We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pirita Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pirita Spa Hotel
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Quote "The hotel with the unique architecture is a part of the Olympic Yachting center, built in 1980 for the Moscow Olympic Games. The building of the hotel is under the protection of the National Heritage Board as an architectural treasure". I travelled to Tallinn and anchored here from 29/05/13 to 05/06/13 for the first time with my 6 year old kid and wife knowing is situated on the coast near Tallinn's marina.
Place is well connected to Talllinn's down town and old town as well as being surrounded by lots of beautiful sightseeing places (Kadriorg, Pirita klooster etc)
First!!! in Europe ground floor is a 1st floor so were accommodated in second floor disabled room no 242 at first I thought DISABLED ROOM CrAnKey I need another one and chose to ask to see other rooms but returned back because this was twice bigger than others although its looking on the road but its never busy and very quite.
Have to say Breakfast on 5th floor was amazing with lovely view of Finnish gulf and ferries
we loved swimming pool and saunas our son enjoyed kids swimming pool downstairs from main one and play room.
There is no aircon in a room but we slept with both balcony's doors open at the top for nice fresh air, bathroom tiles were old style but we didn't care , there was no kettle in a room but we got it from café downstairs, shower head was old but working well with plenty of water pressure , toilet extractor was not working but was repaired when we reported , no WiFi internet in room but we get it in Lobby many thing people don't like but we dint care about little thing and enjoyed our stay in Pirita Top Spa hotel and hope to return one day

Room Tip: Choose a disabled room even if you are not they are twice as big ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinc1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
I´m glad that you liked our hotel and services overall.

Hope to welcome you as our guest in the very near future.


Kind regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Pirita TOP SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    136
    119
    41
    32
See reviews for
151
102
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Travelled to Tallinn with two children aged 10 and 7. Knew from an almost decade -old travel earlier for business that Pirita hotel has easy traffic connection with Tallinn center (by buses), and that it ordered rooms for more that a standard couple. Family rooms situated on the first floor of this rather shabby looking five storey building. One bunk bed with rather thin, uncomfy mattress; and two adult beds have small pillow per each bed; table with three glasses; writing table and a TV on the wall, Shower and standard WC with a soap dispenser and hair-drier. I wish for a family room they'd add at least an opportunity to have a hot drink (a small tea pot?) and a couple of extra towels. Children did enjoy the pool though, and breakfast was smthg to choose from considering we stayed only two nights. It was pretty quiet, smthg we were anxious would not happen. As Tallinn is getting more and more expensive, we might book this hotel again, but bring a few utensils with us to make the room indeed suitable for family comfort.

Room Tip: Family room is basic and average. I glanced at double rooms and they are very similar to family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Griva,

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. In Pirita TOP SPA Hotel there are 3 floors for hotel rooms. All family rooms are on the 1st floor, because these rooms are bigger than second and third floor rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast and swimming-pool.

Hope to welcome you back in Pirita TOP SPA Hotel in the very near future.

With best regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Pirita TOP SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Rooms quite small and definitely the first thing that I had to do was opening the window, even if the room was for non-smokers. Definitely the hotel has 3 advantages: beatiful view for the sea and towers of Tallinn from the last floor, 25m swimming pool - was nice to swim after whole day of sightseeing and superb breakfast - of course it was not served on the gold plates but variety of food make it very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdalenaZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear MagdalenaZ,

Thank you for choosing Pirita TOP SPA Hotel for your stay in Tallinn!
Also we would like to thank you for your kind words about the view, breakfast and swimming-pool.

Hope to welcome you as our guest in the very near future.


With Best Regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Pirita TOP SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murmansk, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Once again spontaneously left with the husband out of borders of Russia. Having arrived to St. Petersburg, planning to spend the compelled holidays there, walking on the painfully familiar city on Neva and dreaming of the cozy apartment, made the decision to use services of travel companies and to have a rest on the seashore - not very well what, the main thing - warm! . Solved - it is necessary to carry out! However, having a little got tired from throwings on travel companies in search of a last-minute tour for 5-8 days for May holidays on the sea coast, we arrived as true travelers: went on the Vitebsk station, to agency of sales of bus tickets "Ecoline", bought tickets, that the Schengen visa is open. Here it should be noted that fact that despite the surprised exclamations of managers of travel companies concerning a reservation for May holidays, since September, and, not very well, in what party, the bus in which we went to travel, it was filled only on a quarter. To our regret, the place of our temporary rest in SPb was deprived owing to circumstances Internet access and we couldn't reserve room independently, however the kind manager of one of travel agencies rendered us this service in booking com system about what once again didn't regret! As a result we became owners of armor of a seafront room (Baltic) Pirita Top Spa Hotel hotel. I won't stop in detail on how we reached, I will tell only that it was once again not dull)) On arrival in Tallinn, took a taxi as assumed that the hotel not in the downtown, and in what direction to move yet didn't know. The taxi driver brought quickly us to hotel of minutes for 10, taking into account departure from bus station) and we arrived into place. To tell that we liked this place, - means nothing to tell! Were impressed by a view of the gulf, the old city, the street and, certainly, the trip! But, despite fatigue, rushed to survey hotel and a local environment. Hotel big - it is quite possible to get lost, without knowing where that is. But by the evening, and we arrived around 16 00, already there was all clear and almost native! The pool, chosen as us Spa - procedures, breakfasts and 2 dinners overlooking Baltic is simply spring fairy tale! Maybe it is the not smartest, but it is very qualitative and beautiful! Later, having thought that it would be possible to live, of course, in the center of the Old city in a Spa hotel, but there would be no sea, air and all that we were surrounded within 5 days of our short rest) therefore didn't regret at all! Next day, having communicated on a reception to the hotel personnel, bought 2 tallin card at 78 o'clock and in spite of the fact that didn't visit all museums and exhibitions, paid back with interest, having been glad for inhabitants and the power of the city, provided such remarkable services for guests and tourists. To all we advise: buy even if you come for 1-2 days, there are cards on 24, 48, 72 часа. The pool, chosen as us Spa - procedures, breakfasts and 2 dinners overlooking Baltic is simply spring fairy tale! Maybe it is the not smartest, but it is very qualitative and beautiful! Later, having thought that it would be possible to live, of course, in the center of the Old city in a Spa hotel, but there would be no sea, air and all that we were surrounded within 5 days of our short rest) therefore didn't regret at all! Next day, having communicated on a reception to the hotel personnel, bought 2 tallin card at 78 o'clock and in spite of the fact that didn't visit all museums and exhibitions, paid back with interest, having been glad for inhabitants and the power of the city, provided such remarkable services for guests and tourists. To all it is advised buy even if you come for 1-2 days, Tallin Card is that is necessary. It and transport, museums, cafe, bowling and the entertaining centers, sightseeing tours for all lines from audio the guide, sea walks and many other things are and it is healthy! Visited in 3 full days practically all corners of the city somewhere on foot, somewhere transport, were in a museum open-air - impressed! The Tallinn Television tower-practically Paris with intelligent robots mushrooms and 4Dтехнологиями! Celebrated my birthday on May 6 it is delightful! On the bank of the gulf at the next small restaurant overlooking the sea) generally everything is excellent also a hotel assessment also 5! Didn't want to leave, we will surely return to the Tallinn spring fairy tale! Or perhaps it will be summer who knows? !

Room Tip: Seafront room it is healthy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0605Maria1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Maria,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Tallinn and you liked our hotel.

Hope to welcome you as our guest in the very near future.

With Best Regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Pirita TOP SPA Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel at the end of April 2013 with a group of friends as part of a Stag do package. The hotel looks pretty grim from the outside but thankfully this is not reflected by the interior. We spent a lot of time hanging out in the cafe area near reception between activities/drinking which was pleasant. There are also plenty of things to do at the hotel if you have some spare time to kill from a casino, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa, boutique, and even crazy golf! This is probably a good thing because we didn't find anything much near the hotel in the way of amenities or entertainment.

The rooms are pretty basic but acceptable for a short stay. They are relatively modern in comparison to the building. The room was not particularly clean however which was disappointing. There were no complimentary drinks such as tea, coffee or water. The shower room was more like a wet room because the shower curtain wasn't very effective meaning that everything got wet. It is not the kind of hotel where you would spend a lot of time in the room.

We went to breakfast on the first morning but not on the second. The food was poor quality. The scrambled egg was the consistency of blamange and the sausages were translucent cocktail sausages. There was no bacon or beans. The pancakes were ok though as were the sauces to go on them but overall, get your breakfast elsewhere.

We didn't have an awful lot of contact with the staff regarding service but service at the cafe was good and any requests at reception to book taxis or meals were carried out with no problems.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Gary G,

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

The hotel with the unique architecture is a part of the Olympic Yachting center, built in 1980 for the Olympic Games. The building of the hotel is under the protection of the National Heritage Board as an architectural treasure. So I´am sure that our hotel is a great combination of history over 30 years ago and today.

Please accept my apologies that the hotel room and breakfast were not up to your complete satisfaction. But I´m glad that you enjoyed the lobby area.

Once again thank You for the feedback and hope to welcome You back in Pirita TOP SPA Hotel in the near future!


With Best Regard,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Pirita TOP SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Haninge, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This Hotel has got a special architecture. It was built in 1980 for the Olympics games. Had a room which no sea view but since I was in Tallinn for a conference first I wanted to have a rest over Easter. So where the room was then situated was not of great importance for me. MAy be if it was during the summertime I would have insisted for a hotel facing the sea.
The hotel itself is to my opinion like a hospital. There are long, cold , grey corridors with no warmth whether in the choice of the colours nor in the decoration. May be it should be like that, don't know. Some areas of the hotels made me feel to still be in a hotel of the Soviet era. The room was nice, I personally liked it for the floor was made of wood Laminat. So for people suffering from allergy it is a plus point. However the lack of WIFI as well as no minibar in the room do not make a stay perfect. HAd to go downstairs (no lift from the 3rd floor) to be able to surf. There were also no sockets where one could charge the laptop's battery. So had to connect my laptop to the one of the 2 massage chairs, the only 2 ones in the lobby. Had to ask the reception lady for permission to be able to remove its plug and connect mine. I told her to give a feed back about it. DOnt know if she did it. Regarding the reception personal, well the people there were very helpful, spoke quite good English, they were patient, smiling, kind. However the restaurant Staffs were not so motivated. I wont say they were not friendly but may be they were tired. Something not nice while taking breakfast is that one has to face the dirty dishes on the tablets of the foodcarts. Also a similar service like in a canteen of the hospital or of the University Campus. May be I am bit spoiled in other 4 stars hotels or even in 3* where your dishes and cutlets are being removed from the waiter. Seems as the waiters were overworked, nobody took any action to clean the tables or chairs if foods or liquids have been spilled on them. Looked really disgusting. Something positive there is that breakfast was good. The best attraction of this hotel was the Spa centre, it was good, clean, well equipped. Staff very friendly and competent. If I had to go back to this hotel it would be only because of the nice spa. There is no need to take a taxi to go to town, there is a good bus connection to Tallin city.
This hotel has also a Casino. But if you would like to get in you have to show your passport. However the staff in there are not so well trained or warm welcome. One had the feeling to be in a Caserne or Police station..The man overthere told me "no passport, no entering in this casino" there was no smile, no greeting nothing. Weird space! The location itself is good but for the Western tourists who are used to be a bit spoiled it would great for this hotel to comform itself to its 4* label. If you stay on the 3rd floor you can go with the lift which goes till the 2nd floor then you have to climb the stairs which makes a curve and carry all your heavy luggages till your hotelroom. Nobody informs you about it before!!
(Tip: take a ride to the Viru Hotel in Tallinn City. There one can have a great guided tour with nice Jana to the KGB Museum)

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor if u have got lots of luggage to carry with you along
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prisci1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Pirita TOP SPA Hotel and for sharing your detailed review on Tripadvisor!

The hotel is one part of the Olympic Yachting center, built in 1980 for the yachting regatta of the Olympic Games. Meanwhile the building has been renovated, it has been staying quite similar.
I`m glad that that you liked the hotel room. All SPA Class rooms are anti-allergenic and suitable for people who have allergies.
We offer free Wifi only in lobby area. Otherwise is possible a rent a Wifi modem. We have decided to mark all power sockets in the lobby.

I am glad that you liked our SPA Center and service. We offer a wide choice of wellness, beauty and medical treatments and packages.

Hope to welcome you as our guest in the very near future.


Best regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Being built for the Olympics of Moscow 1980 you can expect the hotel being somewhat out-dated and it is! Hard to tell when it has been renovated, but it must have been a long time ago. Long corridors, a dirty wall-to-wall carpet, an oldfashioned bathroom and a modest breakfast with hundreds of Finnish tourists. Well, compared with the price they charge for the rooms, one can say it is okay, but there are so many hotels in Tallinn which offer much better quality and have great prices during off-season months, that there is no reason to choose this. The hotel claims they have internet connection in the rooms, but, in fact, you need to pay 99 euro deposit for the modem, 5 euro for 24 hours and there are only two modems available for the hotel of this size (267 rooms)! Top Spa - not for the well-travelled.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

The hotel was built in 1980 for the yachting regatta of the Olympic Games. Long corridors are because of the unique architecture of the hotel and therefore the access to the rooms is only through the 2. Floor.

Sorry to read that you were disappointed about internet connection possibilities. Free WIFI is available in the hotel lobby. Otherwise is possible to use dial-up internet connection in the room or rent a modem.

If you decide to return to Pirita TOP SPA Hotel, please contact me personally through the reception so I can book you a modem beforehand.

Hope to welcome you back in Pirita TOP SPA Hotel.

With best regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tallinn
2.7 mi away
Ecoland
Ecoland
#71 of 82 in Tallinn
99 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Braavo
Hotel Braavo
#50 of 82 in Tallinn
277 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lavendel Spa Hotel
Lavendel Spa Hotel
#53 of 82 in Tallinn
42 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tallinn Viimsi SPA
3.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirita Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirita Spa Hotel

Property: Pirita Spa Hotel
Address: Purje 9, Tallinn 11911, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirita Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirita Spa Hotel is located 10 minutes from the City Center on the beautiful Pirita beachfront overlooking the bay and the Tallinn Old Town. Pirita is an amazing place for visitors who like to relax away from the fast city life, but at the same time stay close to all the action. Our hotel offers rooms with a beautiful view of the sea and our every room has a balcony. Guests are welcome to enjoy their time with us by relaxing at the spa, swimming in our 25 meter pool, dining at our Regatta restaurant which offers a panoramic view, or just spending time in the beautiful nature that surrounds Pirita Spa Hotel. Our hotel was built more than 35 years ago for the 1980 Moscow Olympic Games and is a true marble of the Soviet era architecture. Come have a look and spend your vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pirita Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirita Top Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing