We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard hotel with good breakfast”
Review of Hotel St. Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St. Barbara
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Standard hotel with good breakfast”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We liked this hotel. I think the price (60€/night) from Agoda makes it a bargain. It has everything that you need from standard hotel plus we felt that it was cleaned above standard :) Location is nice, very close to old town but still on a very quiet stretch of road. Breakfast was wonderfull and downstears German restaurant also. 5€ for a plate of sausages with sauerkraut and potatos. Not bad at all I say.

One negative thing though, if you are handicapped or have strollers or anything that makes moving difficult the reception is half floor up from the street level, which means 10 stairs that you have to manage without elevator or any help. Most of us it is not a problem but for some it can prevent to use this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonfire_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StBarbaraManager, Manager at Hotel St. Barbara, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for your warm words! It is always a pleasure for us to make our guest's stay comfortable and cosy. And we alredy added new track for wheeled luggage! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    286
    95
    12
    8
See reviews for
153
213
62
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

On the whole this hotel is OK (almost very good). It would have been great apart from a couple of niggles. The positives are a great location - 5 min walk to old town square, safe area, clean room, room service every day, polite staff, good bar.

On the downside is that the breakfast is "OK" but German orientated. Im not keen on hot dog sausages and potatoes for breakfast but the scrambled egg was really nice. Plenty of different breads, a few cereals, tea and coffee (though the coffee was so strong I couldnt drink it). Secondly, and this was the main disappointment was that the lift makes a noise that could be heard from our bedroom every time it was used. When I spoke to reception they sympathised and knew it was a problem but we were down the end of the corridor and that was the best it got. Ive never stayed in a hotel where the lift was a problem before. So these 2 points mean 1 less star Im afraid.

If you're a heavy sleeper this probably wont bother you at all though.

Also, as we were leaving a couple turned up and asked reception for a restaurant that was typical Estonian. To our surprise they were directed to Olde Hansa in the town square. This is a bit mock medieval, very touristy and not typical Estonian (& over priced) so we were a bit surprised they sent them there.

Also please note that we paid just over 6 euros for a taxi from the airport. Others we spoke to paid up to 23. Max price should be about 8 euros to this hotel. Agree the price before hand so you dont get ripped off.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrilliantBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel is comfortable, clean and unpretentious. The staff were courteous and helpful. The location is ideal for access to the Old Town and all the major City sights of interest. The restaurant/bar is in the basement and offers hearty reasonably priced food. Watch out as you may get a twin room which is classed as a double! This hotel is ideal if you want to spend most of your time out and about and are not looking for a place to spend relaxing in lounges etc. A comfortable stay for us nonetheless

Room Tip: if you want a double bed reserve this in advance or you may end up in a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bccwEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel was clean, cosy and in a great location-less than a 10 minute walk from the Old Town. The rooms had a spacious shower-room, TV and mini-bar fridge (which has a key so it doubled up as a safe!) I was not bothered about watching TV, but in case you are interested, the channels included BBC news and MTV. The best thing was the large, grand windows with a big enough ledge to put all your pillows on and sit there writing your postcards, which felt very cosy when it was raining. The staff were really friendly and helpful, (particularly with directions and booking us a tour of the hotel where the KGB had their secret headquarters!) We spent ages over our breakfast because there was a wide choice, cold hams and cheeses, cereals, fruit salad, a range of eggs, juices, jams, breads (eg: black Estonian bread) and pancakes! And you could have hot milk, cold milk OR cream in your coffee. Don't know if this is standard but that to me is proper service and makes me feel like I am really on holiday!
I only felt sorry for the restaurant staff who were dressed in some odd Germanic folk costume.
I would definitely reccommend this hotel.
.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor seemed more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with partner and teenage daughter, hotel was lovely, rooms clean, staff were lovely and helpful and had a really nice buffet breakfast with plenty of choice, felt we definately got a bargain, would stay here again, good location as well, bathroom was a wetroom with under floor heating, only complaint and its a minor one was the duvet on the bed could have been bigger

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen_harrison4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed here for four nights over the Christmas period. I absolutely agree with other reviewers that this hotel feels like more than a three-star. It's on a quiet street just accross the road from the old town, but easy to reach by cab. I love the high ceilings and grand windows. The bathrooms are spaceous, wi-fi is reliable, service is polite and efficient, breakfast is good. All round I was very happy with the choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryOwen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

3* hotel but felt more like 4* friendly staff lovely breakfast comfortable basic rooms
situated within 5 minutes of the 'tourist trap'

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#20 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Barbara

Property: Hotel St. Barbara
Address: Roosikrantsi 2a, Tallinn 10119, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Barbara is centrally located within the walking distance of Tallinn Old Town, sightseeings and of course shopping centres. Our massive historical limestone walls conceal 53 spacious and well lit guestrooms with high ceilings and beautiful large windows. There are special rooms for people with allergies as well as those who prefer to travel with their beloved pets. Families are accommodated in very spacious family rooms which fit both extra beds for older children and baby cots. There is a mini-bar in the room at your service and wireless internet covering the entire hotel. We also have a guest computer at the reception if needed.We welcome you to our German-style restaurant, where we also have two chambers for business after-hours or private gatherings. Hotel guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet and parking in the hotel parking area. Hotel St. Barbara is also considered to be one of the most beautiful limestone buildings in Tallinn, designed by architect Bernhard and has a very interesting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell St. Barbara Hotel Tallinn
Hotell St Barbara Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing