We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St. Barbara
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palace(Tallinn)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Telegraaf(Tallinn)
US$476
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
L'Ermitage Hotel(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swissotel Tallinn(Tallinn)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Swissotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
253
331
111
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
331
111
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman restaurantfreedom squarebeer cellargreat locationold townrestaurant downstairsthree starnice hotelcoffee machinefamily roomquiet streethotel is locatedminute walkrooms are cleanporridgereception staffsuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We liked this hotel. I think the price (60€/night) from Agoda makes it a bargain. It has everything that you need from standard hotel plus we felt that it was cleaned above standard :) Location is nice, very close to old town but still on a very quiet stretch of road. Breakfast was wonderfull and downstears German restaurant also. 5€ for a plate of sausages with sauerkraut and potatos. Not bad at all I say.

One negative thing though, if you are handicapped or have strollers or anything that makes moving difficult the reception is half floor up from the street level, which means 10 stairs that you have to manage without elevator or any help. Most of us it is not a problem but for some it can prevent to use this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonfire_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StBarbaraManager, Manager at Hotel St. Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Thank you for your warm words! It is always a pleasure for us to make our guest's stay comfortable and cosy. And we alredy added new track for wheeled luggage! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

On the whole this hotel is OK (almost very good). It would have been great apart from a couple of niggles. The positives are a great location - 5 min walk to old town square, safe area, clean room, room service every day, polite staff, good bar.

On the downside is that the breakfast is "OK" but German orientated. Im not keen on hot dog sausages and potatoes for breakfast but the scrambled egg was really nice. Plenty of different breads, a few cereals, tea and coffee (though the coffee was so strong I couldnt drink it). Secondly, and this was the main disappointment was that the lift makes a noise that could be heard from our bedroom every time it was used. When I spoke to reception they sympathised and knew it was a problem but we were down the end of the corridor and that was the best it got. Ive never stayed in a hotel where the lift was a problem before. So these 2 points mean 1 less star Im afraid.

If you're a heavy sleeper this probably wont bother you at all though.

Also, as we were leaving a couple turned up and asked reception for a restaurant that was typical Estonian. To our surprise they were directed to Olde Hansa in the town square. This is a bit mock medieval, very touristy and not typical Estonian (& over priced) so we were a bit surprised they sent them there.

Also please note that we paid just over 6 euros for a taxi from the airport. Others we spoke to paid up to 23. Max price should be about 8 euros to this hotel. Agree the price before hand so you dont get ripped off.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrilliantBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel is comfortable, clean and unpretentious. The staff were courteous and helpful. The location is ideal for access to the Old Town and all the major City sights of interest. The restaurant/bar is in the basement and offers hearty reasonably priced food. Watch out as you may get a twin room which is classed as a double! This hotel is ideal if you want to spend most of your time out and about and are not looking for a place to spend relaxing in lounges etc. A comfortable stay for us nonetheless

Room Tip: if you want a double bed reserve this in advance or you may end up in a twin.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bccwEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel was clean, cosy and in a great location-less than a 10 minute walk from the Old Town. The rooms had a spacious shower-room, TV and mini-bar fridge (which has a key so it doubled up as a safe!) I was not bothered about watching TV, but in case you are interested, the channels included BBC news and MTV. The best thing was the large, grand windows with a big enough ledge to put all your pillows on and sit there writing your postcards, which felt very cosy when it was raining. The staff were really friendly and helpful, (particularly with directions and booking us a tour of the hotel where the KGB had their secret headquarters!) We spent ages over our breakfast because there was a wide choice, cold hams and cheeses, cereals, fruit salad, a range of eggs, juices, jams, breads (eg: black Estonian bread) and pancakes! And you could have hot milk, cold milk OR cream in your coffee. Don't know if this is standard but that to me is proper service and makes me feel like I am really on holiday!
I only felt sorry for the restaurant staff who were dressed in some odd Germanic folk costume.
I would definitely reccommend this hotel.
.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor seemed more spacious.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with partner and teenage daughter, hotel was lovely, rooms clean, staff were lovely and helpful and had a really nice buffet breakfast with plenty of choice, felt we definately got a bargain, would stay here again, good location as well, bathroom was a wetroom with under floor heating, only complaint and its a minor one was the duvet on the bed could have been bigger

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen_harrison4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews