We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good tourist hotel”
Review of Hotel St. Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Barbara
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Good tourist style hotel, close to the old town, nice and warm, very clean, good bar.
The breakfast was both continental and english style of which was plenty. Bedroom was small although to admit we had 3 single beds in the room.
our only complaint was a evening meal in the hotel which took 1hr to serve , the excuse being problem s with staff illness.
However this didnt cause any problem, and we had a enjoyable 3 night stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellsyStBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great location and fabulous value. The staff are helpful and courteous. The food is amazing and fabulous value. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disgruntled30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StBarbaraManager, General Manager at Hotel St. Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you, Disgruntled30! We do glad you liked our hotel and restaurant! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A great location - only just outside the old town and 300 meters from the airport bus drop off point at Freedom Square. Staff speak good English but so do most people in Tallinn. Breakfast offered plenty of choice. Rooms a bit old fashioned and a strong whiff of damp in the bathroom. The bar and restaurant night were both dead but plenty of better options within a 5 minute walk. For the money you can't complain.

Room Tip: they should all be quiet. room 309 the bathroom had a damp smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank researcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StBarbaraManager, General Manager at Hotel St. Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you researcher59 for your comment!
We are working on renewal of our standart rooms. Hopefully this summer it will be done. Superiors and deluxe are already finished=)
Restaurant open hours M-T 12-23, S 14-21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

hotell st. Barbara, is a friendly hotel. rooms are very basic and small, bathrooms even smaller. we asked for a double room and recieved a twin room, on ringing reception we were told they had no double rooms!!!! the smell in the hotel was both strange and different, we stayed most of our time out of the hotel, only returing to sleep!!! on the up side the breakfast was good, plenty to choose from, and the staff were lovely and friendly!! overall good loation but needs plenty of attention in relation to rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We spent over a week at this hotel and found it to be very clean, inexpensive and with a great staff. The German restaurant in the hotel is great. The location of the hotel accross an Avenue from the Old City is great. We would go there again.

Room Tip: Get the larger "Luxury" rooms which give you greater value for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadMaxie40667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Friendly, clean, good value and located right in the centre of Tallinn. Perfect for walking into the old town. Was recommended by a local and proved perfect for a two-night business trip. Its not as expensive as the big hotels but has all the facilities, internet, tourist information, taxi service, nice bar area (which doubles as the breakfast room in the morning) in the cellar and really helpful staff.

The rooms are a decent size and very clean, although with the doors opening outwards into the hallway it seems a bit like you're stepping into a cupboard. TV has a good selection of channels. Good Wifi connection in the room. Was woken once by a bit of street noise from the rear - rubbish collection I think. Not a problem though.

I'll stay there again when I go back.

Room Tip: Early morning rubbish collection on Friday mornings at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toffeeman1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed in the St Barbara Hotel during the recent EUFA play off.
Hotel in a great location close to all shopping and bars/resaurants. The staff were very friendly good service. The decor was a little dated Very clean ,cosy etc but lacked any
character.
Food was basic very little choice for breakfast. rooms were very clean but dull You would'nt spent too much time in them
Price wise ther was better value to be got in the area, but i would recommend this hotel as a safe bet. All right for 2-3 days

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StBarbaraManager, Manager at Hotel St. Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Thank you for your tips! Visit us next year - we will renew our interior!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
381 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#15 of 86 in Tallinn
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Barbara

Address: Roosikrantsi 2a, Tallinn 10119, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £40 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Barbara is centrally located within the walking distance of Tallinn Old Town, sightseeings and of course shopping centres. Our massive historical limestone walls conceal 53 spacious and well lit guestrooms with high ceilings and beautiful large windows. There are special rooms for people with allergies as well as those who prefer to travel with their beloved pets. Families are accommodated in very spacious family rooms which fit both extra beds for older children and baby cots. There is a mini-bar in the room at your service and wireless internet covering the entire hotel. We also have a guest computer at the reception if needed.We welcome you to our German-style restaurant, where we also have two chambers for business after-hours or private gatherings. Hotel guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet and parking in the hotel parking area. Hotel St. Barbara is also considered to be one of the most beautiful limestone buildings in Tallinn, designed by architect Bernhard and has a very interesting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel St. Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell St. Barbara Hotel Tallinn
Hotell St Barbara Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing