We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice midprice hotel near old town”
Review of Hotel St. Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St. Barbara
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed 4 plus 2 nights in this nicely located smallish hotel. They have free and safe parking, the included breakfast was very good, and the location is excellent.

The hotel is just across the Vabaduse Väljak from the old town, right at the continuation of Harju Tanava. Which is good, as you can enter the old town not through the pickpocket alley Viru Tanava. There is good access to public transport, should you want to visit some more remote parts of Tallinn, Estonia or the world.

There is no air conditioning in the hotel, so if you travel during the "hot" months and are very sensitive to such things, this might not be your place. The windows can be opened, and at least in 313 that helped a lot. The site is so quiet that you can actually leave the windows open for the night.

The lobby staff was very helpful and friendly. The beds were a bit on the soft side. Room 313 was very good and had lots of windows. 412 was a bit less windowy, and had nasty noise from the elevator.

Room Tip: 412 is noisy, try to avoid that. the "X13" rooms are the roomiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mleivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights from 24th -28th July and really enjoyed our stay.Really well positioned yards from an underpass taking you to the old town with its bars and restaurants and also close to public transport .Comfortable and clean and very quiet probably because of thick walls; no frills but all the essentials(hairdryer, minibar etc) in room. Breakfast well stocked buffet. Bavarian beer cellar very lively during the football and there is a nice garden terrace. The reception staff were excellent and deserve special praise.When we came to check out they gave us a message from the company transferring us to the airport and as soon as we said that the car would be too late to get us there in time to catch the plane the senior on duty came straight out of her office , phoned them and sorted it out without us having to ask. I have never had service like that in a 5* hotel, brilliant

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris38608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed at the st barbara from 17th to 20th and couldnt fault the hotel it was very clean and tidy and breakfast was plentiful and tasty
The hotel is situated withon 5 minute walk from main square and just round corner from bus stop to airport which only costs €2 what a bargain
Would definaly recommend this hotel to anyone visitong tallinn

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We found this Hotel excellently located just outside the old town, with car parking. Staff were helpful, excellant room, very good breakfast buffet. Check-in before 2pm not allowed, but they did allow us to leave our luggage. Date of stay 10 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myke369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel is quite nice. Lovely looking building, a little poor on the inside (smaller rooms, no free shampoo for shower, no sauna), but what they have is in good working order. Clean and quiet. The location is about 100m from the old town.

Exceptional breakfast! I traveled in the USA, Canada and Europe and usually economical class hotels are simply cheap on what they give you for breakfast. Not this one. A lot of variety and some items such as bread, marinated cucumbers, cottage cheese, pancakes are just outstanding and everything is absolutely fresh.

Room Tip: Consider buying a "Tallinn card" for 72 hours while in Tallinn. I found it's worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexT0r0nt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

No problems with this hotel, certainly use it again, well positioned, just
yards to under pass then down the road to lovely square full of restaurants etc,
rooms were fine, good bathroom & shower, bed was comfey, no complaints.

Breakfast good, lots of variety, breads, salads cereals juices etc

Room Tip: we heard no noise both rooms were sunny we were in 206 and 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missmc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The location is very helpful, not far at all from the old town or tram/bus stops.

The staff are very accommodating and welcoming and their English is excellent.

Spacious, comfortable room. Breakfast was fine, ample selection at the buffet. Very nice coffee too.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
816 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#24 of 86 in Tallinn
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Barbara

Address: Roosikrantsi 2a, Tallinn 10119, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £40 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Barbara is centrally located within the walking distance of Tallinn Old Town, sightseeings and of course shopping centres. Our massive historical limestone walls conceal 53 spacious and well lit guestrooms with high ceilings and beautiful large windows. There are special rooms for people with allergies as well as those who prefer to travel with their beloved pets. Families are accommodated in very spacious family rooms which fit both extra beds for older children and baby cots. There is a mini-bar in the room at your service and wireless internet covering the entire hotel. We also have a guest computer at the reception if needed.We welcome you to our German-style restaurant, where we also have two chambers for business after-hours or private gatherings. Hotel guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet and parking in the hotel parking area. Hotel St. Barbara is also considered to be one of the most beautiful limestone buildings in Tallinn, designed by architect Bernhard and has a very interesting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel St. Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell St. Barbara Hotel Tallinn
Hotell St Barbara Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing