We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a quiet room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ask for a quiet room.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The staff and room was fine, but at night the noise from the bar in the hotel and certain establishments across the way were so noisy it was impossible to sleep. I would have gladly had a smaller room on the otherwise of the hotel but none available when we visited.
Also the dining area for breakfast was too small and some had to wait for a table (or in our case give up).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baishamao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    202
    116
    24
    15
See reviews for
53
164
62
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

On the plus side the Vana Wiru is ideally located at the main entrance to the old town. Our loft-conversion suite was quiet, spacious and had a nice view of the old town. On the bad side there was a strong stench of mildew in the loft corridor. It took some time to air out the room. We were looking forward to trying the jacuzzi, but after turning on the jets the water filled with loads of small black flecks. Once refilling the tub, the jets no longer worked at all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The location was very great, close to shops and old town. Rooms were clean and quiet. Breakfast was good and full of different variety of food. Lobby of the hotel was beautiful even now on Christmas time, a lot of beautiful decoration. Staff were also kindly but when we asked to order a taxi they called some expensive one. Otherwise everything was ok in this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very nice an clean hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff. The hotell is very good for weekend stay.We stayd at the hotel in November and had a room on the second floor facing the courtyard/ parkingspace and we heard no noice at night . Beds were ok and the bathroom clean. The brakfeast was ok/ very ordinary. The location is very good if you like to visit the old town. I can recomend this hotell.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Helenasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Location is good and the entrance in the inner courtyard made the hotel more tranquil than I expected. Rooms are small, view from the window is cheerless, sleeping comfort ok, albeit you could hear conversations through the walls. Bathroom is ok, shower stall is good size and keeps the water in. Wall to wall carpet was not very clean. Minibar was plentiful: on account of that credit card guarantee was required at check in.

There is also possible to reserve different kind of massages in the hotel with convenient prices and the massage with hot stones I chose was professionally cared for. Unfortunately there is no price list in website and no email address to make the reservation beforehand.

Breakfast was adequate, more products were carried before the dishes were empty and coffee was nice and hot.

For summer months the lack of air-conditioning is the biggest flaw, for autumn and winter months this hotel is ok if you manage to get a good price. I could visit this hotel a second time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you are on a mini-break then this hotel is ideal as if you are like us, and want something comfortable but perfectly located to explore the old town and different eating out options. If on business or looking for the full package then perhaps you should look elsewhere!
The hotel is spotlessly clean although the rooms are simply and plainly furnished and the staff pleasant. The breakfast is varied and reasonable and offers hot/cold options with plenty of juices and coffee as you'd expect. There is also a pub integral to the hotel which means that, if its very cold outside, you don't need to venture out at all. The hotel also offers various spa and sauna facilities but we didn't try any of these. All in all a fairly simple hotel but I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front of the building as (at least) some of the others look onto a br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleRedBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here in October for a weekend city break. The hotel is ideally located, near all the main sights which are within easy walking distance. The room, and breakfast, were reasonably basic (I'd class this as more 3 stars), but for the location and price you'd struggle to get better. Reception were very helpful also.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mike75699557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#24 of 83 in Tallinn
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#28 of 83 in Tallinn
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Olav Hotel
St Olav Hotel
#56 of 83 in Tallinn
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru

Property: Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Address: Viru 11, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru is a stylish and cosy hotel. The hotel offers professional service to its guest at the excellent location in the old town of Tallinn. The building dates back to the 1950s. Renovated and converted into a hotel in 2002. Our hotel has 82 rooms, a spacious lobby/lobby bar, restaurant Complemento, Vana Wiru Pub, conference facility, meeting room, Turkish and Finnish saunas, luggage room and private parking. The hotel also provides free Wi-Fi in the entire property and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing