We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...fabulous view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great hotel...fabulous view”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We loved our stay in this hotel. It's large, the rooms are comfortable, room rates are reasonable (cheaper than adjacent Russia or Helsinki). We had a 17th floor view overlooking the harbour and it was stunning...worth asking for a room on this side. Good breakfast, and they also have a cheap buffet lunch deal which was great value.
The hotel is superbly located in the middle if town, next to a large mall, and also adjacent to the old town. Only about 15 minutes walk to the ferry wharf.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveP-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear CliveP-T,

Thank You for Your encouraging words! It means lot for us, that our efforts to offer the best have been noticed.

We warmly welcome You back to Tallinn and to our hotel!
Sincerely Yours
Anu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    498
    222
    61
    19
See reviews for
293
297
54
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Conveniently located for old town and shopping. Has become quite dated. They don't seem to have embraced capitalism and there still seems to be 'Communist leftover attitude'. The Mexican restaurant is good, as in all Sokos Hotels, but beware, By the time you have had your starters and dips, when the mains finally comes you are too full to eat it.
The rooms are ok but sleep is difficult over the weekend due to the busy and noisy nightclub. Also, we were quite shocked in the night club as every lady seemed to be from Russia and asked immediately for 140 Euros!!!! This seems to be condoned by the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgewood48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Edgewood48

Thank You for taking time to give us feedback and for the encouraging words about our restaurant. Amarillo really has large and tasty portions. In March and April we totally renewed 80 rooms and the rest will be renovated in about half a year. Most of the clients feedback we get every day tells about the high level of services and our employees, so I assure that every mistake made here will be under my personal supervision.

Our nightclubs voices or music cannot be heard to the rooms, as there are 5 floors between living-floors. We have turned to City authorities and for now the surrounding places play their music more quietly.

Our hotel does not tolerate any kind of activities You alluded. Among our hotel-quests there are represented many different nationalities and we feel important to emphasize, that we also don’t tolerate any insults to our quests, especially according to nationality.

Thank You once more for Your feedback. We hope to welcome You again in our hotel.

Best regards
Anu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Nice hotel and great breakfast.

Disco was too close to our room so .... we didn't sleep that much.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear Jabinho,
We are terrible sorry because of Your inconveniences!
We would kindly ask our clients to let our reception know if there is any noise from any City center place or any other problem. We take it as seriously as You – by the information we can turn to officials and ask them to take control over night-time silence in Tallinn city center. Our hotels nightclub Café Amigo is in the cellar level and has never caused any noise problems – because there are 5 floors between cellar and living floors.
Thank You also for Your kind words about our hotel!
We hope to have You back! We try to react to any feedback what helps us to improve our hotel services.
Sincerely Yours
Anu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We booked two rooms for our family to stay four nights. The hotel is comfortable and the service was good, but the rooms felt a little cramped and were quite dated. The hotel markets itself as being in the premium category, but I felt that the Radisson chain tended to offer a better standard of room (though they are a bit more expensive) and cheaper hotels such as Tallink City are probably better value for money. Overall, the location is good, the breakfast was reasonable and except for the size/tiredness of the rooms, the Sokos is a pretty reasonable choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear Big_Swim,

Thank You for You detailed feedback!

We are glad to announce that the extreme makeover of our 80 rooms is now complete and twice as much will be renovated right after the season. We are constantly renewing our rooms and Your feedback also pointed us quite well the needs. We have also different room types available – standard, business, de lux with saunas, suites and family rooms. So we hope to offer value for money to every segment.

Thank You once again and welcome back!
Sincerely Yours
Anu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

With Tallinn one of the nicest old town in Europe, you might want to stay in the middle of that town, in a nice boutique hotel. This can be expensive, though, and Sokos Hotel Viru provides a great alternative. Sure, from the outside, the hotel is a tall building lacking character. But it is located very close to the old town - less than 250 meters - and some of the rooms have a great view on it. The hotel also has a direct access to the commercial center, and is just next to the bus station going to the airport.
Sure, the breakfast room is usually filled with more than 100 persons at any time. This is probably one of the largest hotel in the city.
It you stay there, spend 29 euros to reserve the sauna + mini-pool private area; for one hour, you will be able to go back and forth from the sauna to your own private pool!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear Sanji,

We feel very grateful for Your kind words – we really try hard to be not only a great alternative to the boutique hotels, but to be the best hotel in Tallinn. Your kind words are very encouraging for us.

We have big percentage of quests who come back again and again, so we must admit, that our occupancy rates are higher than average in Tallinn. Therefore our breakfast restaurant - the biggest restaurant in Tallinn – has normally at least 100 persons eating as You mentioned.

We are constantly renewing our rooms and the extreme makeover of our 80 rooms is now complete. You can now enjoy our famous views of the city even better than before because the wide windowsills are suitable both for those who prefer looking out while sitting on soft cushions as well as for those who prefer to ponder over matters while sitting behind an integrated office table.

We also suggest friends of saunas even to accommodate in rooms with saunas – we have 20 de lux rooms with saunas.

Thank You once again and we are looking forward to have You back in our hotel.
Sincerely Yours
Anu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A group of 5 of us travelled to Tallinn for 3 days. As we entered the hotel we were greeted nicely by the staff and the lobby was welcoming and clean. You are given the choice between smoking and non-smoking rooms, even if you are a smoker- choose non-smoking! the smoking rooms are just terrible, small, dirty and in a way...sticky!
After the second night it became very apparent that the hotel has a bed bug infestation. All 5 of us were on different floors yet all woke up with fresh bites each morning. The hotel staff just smiled and said "that's not good" when told about it.
Breakfast is chaos, although there is plenty to go around it's still a bit of a bun fight.
The hotel does have a "pool" but it's just a plunge pool to accompany the sauna and you have to pay hourly to use it.
On the up side the hotel is walking distance to the main town (2 minutes) and you get some amazing views from the higher floors.
Maybe we were just out of luck as it seems it has some good reviews.
I would advise you take some bug repellent or something.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loulabell08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnRed, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear quest,
Thank You for the review and kind words addressed to our staff! We are truly sorry because of Your inconveniences in our hotel. There are only 2 floors of 23 where one can smoke in the room, and soon our hotel is going to be absolutely non-smoking. Only places for smokers will remain outdoor balconies in every floor between corridors, so it won't disturb non-smoking clients.
We were really worried by Your comment of bed bug infestation, because this is just 100% not possible. It has been checked for several times after Your review and there is proper cleaning all the time, and no that kind of problems before or after. It is possible that You were bitten somewhere by mosquitos, there are plenty of these in June. But again - very small possibility to have mosquitos in hotel rooms with air conditioning. Even if You and Your companions have got the bugs some other place and carried these with You into the hotel-room, people accommodating after You in the same room cannot get the bites, because cleaning of beds is always very exact and disinfection is part of the process. Our hotel is one of the Finnish Sokos Hotel -chain hotels and standards for health and security are even higher than normally.
Our hotel has three saunas to order by hourly rates, two has small pools and one has Jacuzzi. We have also 20 de lux rooms with saunas and two suites with saunas, these rooms and our 40 family-rooms are the most popular - this is why there were no vacancies of these rooms in the time of Your stay.
We take Your feedback very seriously and assure You that all the pointed weaknesses will be turned on strengths. We try hard to keep our reputation as the legendary hotel in Tallinn with excellent facilities and services, not only with the best location.
Thank You once more and we hope to get the chance to show You that we learn from any mistakes.
Welcome back!
Sincerely Yours
Aire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed in the Sokos Hotel on a recent visit to Tallinn , we found the hotel lovely but we were not pleased with the service we got in a restaurant attached to it called the armarillo or something like that , when we decided to have a Mexican meal in this the place, it was very quiet so we thought the service would be good but when the waitress came to take the order , she took my request for a starter and main then walked away leaving my wife stunned , i had to call her back to take what meal she wanted and then the shock came when her main arrived along with my starter and the main togehter. i have never experienced anything like that before and there was no excuse for it considering the place was empty.I would stay in the hotel again as i thought it was lovely but would not eat in that restaurant as there are to many around to settle for service like that.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulfromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
#11 of 85 in Tallinn
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 85 in Tallinn
1,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Address: Viru vaeljak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing