We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Good business hotel very close to Old Town.
Nice room with fantastic view of the Baltic sea.
English spoken excellently by staff.
Got a good price too.

There is a KGB museum on 23d floor!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PogoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear PogoMan,
Thank You for Your encouraging words! All the details You mentioned mean lot to us – the feeling to make our clients feel good is the reason we are working here.
We warmly welcome You back to Tallinn and to our hotel!
Sincerely Yours
Anu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel has a good location with the old town and tourist information a stones throw away. That is also the best thing to this hotel; the room was a standard good room, nothing good or bad to it. The breakfast was not so good; the food was okay, but the place was packed, so there were line-ups for nearly everything. But all in all, this is a good basic tourist hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwmrtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear jwmrtd,
Thank You for Your encouraging feedback. 100 of our hotel rooms are already renovated and in winter time 300 more will be renovated. We are among the most popular hotels in Tallinn because of our location and good service and the high occupancy rates sometimes cause line-ups. We are sorry for the inconveniences – we are constantly working in making our service better and hopefully You won’t see that kind of line-ups anymore.
We hope to see You back in our hotel!
Sincerely Yours
Anu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I am very satisfied with my trip. I liked Estonia very much, wonderful country, very nice and friendly people. Beautiful countryside, clean sea. I would love to come back and stay there longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tais39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear tais39,

We are looking forward to welcome You again in our hotel!

Welcome to Tallinn and Sokos Hotel Viru!
Sincerely Yours
Anu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights while visiting Tallinn. The location can't be beat. It is a short walk (easy with luggage) from the ferry terminal (we came from Helsinki) and also is across the street from the Old Town area of the city. The room we had was somewhat small. We actually had to put our luggage on the desk (which was surprisingly large) as there really was no where else. It was fairly typical of European size. The bed was very comfortable and we had a wonderful view of both the Old Town (especially nice at sunset) and the harbour and cruise ships coming and going. The room (especially the bathroom) was somewhat dated but overall was nice for the price. The only problem we had was the check-in process was somewhat chaotic. We tried checking in a couple hours early and were told to come back at 2:00pm which wasn't a big deal as we could store our luggage at the hotel but when we returned the lobby was crawling with people everywhere all trying to check-in at once. Maybe it was just coincidence and this isn't a typical situation but it was somewhat off putting. All in all it was a wonderful stay and Tallinn is a fantastic place to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b00mer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear b00mer15,

Thank You for Your detailed feedback! It is nice to know, that You love Tallinn as much as our own people.

We are constantly renewing our hotel, this year 80 rooms have been renovated and in a year all the rest will be renovated as well. When ferries arrive, there may be many people, but it should be taken care without any chaos. We apologize for the situation in the reception and I‘ll look after that it won’t happen again.

Thank You once more for the feedback. We warmly welcome You again in our hotel!
Sincerely Yours
Anu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Sokos Hotel Viru is a quite good standard hotel and their staff have good language skills. They are also very polite and helpful. The room was a basic one, but very clean and tidy, and the view was quite spectacular. The only negative thing - which is really not the hotel's fault - during our stay was that there were some detestable customers who were very drunk, smelly and intrusive. There was some sort of a criminal feel to these people and we were actually warned beforehand that there might be that kind of folks hanging about.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear Madbert,

Thank You for Your kind words to our hotel and our personnel! It encourages us to try even harder.

We assure You that our hotels security keeps hotel safe for everybody. Heavy drinking of some people seems to be the problem of many tourism centers, so also in Tallinn. Fortunately most of the visitors in Tallinn are more interested in our culture, history and sightseeing, and these are also issues where Tallinn has lot to offer.

Thank You once more for Your feedback and welcome back!
Sincerely Yours
Anu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We loved our stay in this hotel. It's large, the rooms are comfortable, room rates are reasonable (cheaper than adjacent Russia or Helsinki). We had a 17th floor view overlooking the harbour and it was stunning...worth asking for a room on this side. Good breakfast, and they also have a cheap buffet lunch deal which was great value.
The hotel is superbly located in the middle if town, next to a large mall, and also adjacent to the old town. Only about 15 minutes walk to the ferry wharf.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliveP-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear CliveP-T,

Thank You for Your encouraging words! It means lot for us, that our efforts to offer the best have been noticed.

We warmly welcome You back to Tallinn and to our hotel!
Sincerely Yours
Anu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Conveniently located for old town and shopping. Has become quite dated. They don't seem to have embraced capitalism and there still seems to be 'Communist leftover attitude'. The Mexican restaurant is good, as in all Sokos Hotels, but beware, By the time you have had your starters and dips, when the mains finally comes you are too full to eat it.
The rooms are ok but sleep is difficult over the weekend due to the busy and noisy nightclub. Also, we were quite shocked in the night club as every lady seemed to be from Russia and asked immediately for 140 Euros!!!! This seems to be condoned by the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgewood48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear Edgewood48

Thank You for taking time to give us feedback and for the encouraging words about our restaurant. Amarillo really has large and tasty portions. In March and April we totally renewed 80 rooms and the rest will be renovated in about half a year. Most of the clients feedback we get every day tells about the high level of services and our employees, so I assure that every mistake made here will be under my personal supervision.

Our nightclubs voices or music cannot be heard to the rooms, as there are 5 floors between living-floors. We have turned to City authorities and for now the surrounding places play their music more quietly.

Our hotel does not tolerate any kind of activities You alluded. Among our hotel-quests there are represented many different nationalities and we feel important to emphasize, that we also don’t tolerate any insults to our quests, especially according to nationality.

Thank You once more for Your feedback. We hope to welcome You again in our hotel.

Best regards
Anu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
#11 of 86 in Tallinn
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.3 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Address: Viru vaeljak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £71 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing