We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Decent hotel in a very central location. The standard room had plenty of space and was clean. The hotel has several restaurants and bars, and apparently there's a KGB museum on the top floor! The hotel is attached to a shopping mall that has plenty of clothing stores, cafes and a decent bookstore.

We stayed during the weekend, so there were quite a lot drunk tourists around, but up on the 7th floor it was very peaceful and we had a good night of sleep. Can't say the same about some of the other Tallinn hotels I've stayed at. The breakfast buffet was very crowded, but the food was decent, with lots of different items to choose from.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamedash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

A former soviet building converted into an average hotel, nothing too great or too bad. But it's location just 2 minutes from the gate of the old city is just great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kronoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I had a standard room and it was planty big enough, double bed, sofa and desk. The price was very good. I was offered an upgrade to a bigger room on arrival but reallly glad i didn't take it as there was no need. The hotel has a small pub, a bar and a nightclub. It also has a very nice Tex-Mex restraunt. If i was returning to Tallin i would be stopping here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed on the 21st floor of this hotel for nearly two weeks. The hotel itself is in a excellent location, as it is situated very close to public transport and and the centre of Tallinn itself; the historical old centre of Tallinn being a 2 minute walk away and a shopping centre attached to the hotel and another a 5 minute walk away. There is also a super-market in the basement of the shopping centre attached.

The Room
Very well furnished room (Double room), with it's own air conditioning unit that has a variety of settings. Cupboard with 6 hangers, an ironing board and iron, including information for dry cleaning and regular cleaning. Complimentary small sewing kit and shoe-cleaners. Large flat-screen TV encased in wood. Small mini-bar fridge with a variety of alcoholic drinks and some snacks. To the left is a space where you can put your luggage and store it underneath, and the same is to the right. By the large glass window are two swivel chairs and a round table, including two cushions either side of the window sill with power points nearby where one can sit and work looking out at the view across Tallinn. Overall well furnished and a good amount of space with a pleasing colour coordination.
The beds are comfortable and clean. Both have next to them light switches that enable you to turn off the main lighting whilst in bed, or choose to have 'mood lighting' on instead. The rooms get cleaned everyday, and towels e.t.c replaced. There is a door-hanger which you can hang up outside the door if you do not wish to be disturbed.
The wetroom is good. There is a medium sized sink with a large mirror and a hair-dryer. There is a shower head underneath the sink which I think is what is described as the bidet. The toilet is modern and so is the shower - with a curved glass panel on hinges. I think the shower is what one would describe as a walk-in. Shower-gel / shampoo is provided.

The Hotel
The reception in the main entrance of the hotel is great with a large amount of seating which is kept spotless. Four lifts are available to use only with your room key-card so this provides an extra layer of safety. Security guards are always in reception during the evening. Most of the time the staff at reception are very polite and helpful, but occasionally some can be a bit abrupt. There are always taxi's outside the hotel so one always available - be careful about getting ripped off though.

There are also a variety of beauty treatments available at the hotel, and if you are staying there you can get a discount. There's also a couple of bars and a restaurant. They offer helicopter rides and information about Tallinn.

The breakfast is a buffet style one with a good variety of foods, ranging from boiled eggs and bacon to cured meats and vegetables to cereals and assortments to put in yoghurt. There are also a variety of breads to choose from and a couple of different cheeses. Tea, herbal teas, coffee and drinking chocolate are also available, including lactose-free milk and kefir. The apple and orange juice taste very synthetic though.
The lunch however was a big disappointment. Each day it seemed that a different meat was put in the same sauce. The vegetables always seemed to be badly cooked and dripping in grease. The potatoes were ok though. The salad accompanying seemed to be Ok some days. I would recommend going else-where to eat lunch.

Overall I was impressed with the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to go for the highest floor possible; these rooms have recently been renovated and are more mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twilight_amoeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Hotel itself it dated and really old, in desperate need of renovation. Basically the lobby area is nice and modern but the rooms are ugly and small. Bathroom is spacious though. You can't hear the traffic outside.

Breakfast was good, a little poor on the selection (enough of everything, though) but the food itself tastes good. The breakfast room was VERY full and a little hectic when we visited there.

Staff was really nice, polite and funny.

Location is perfect, very central.

Hotel is extremely popular with Finnish tourists.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear Kristiina83,
Thank You for Your feedback!
And I’m glad to say that last year we have renovated already 100 rooms and in the beginning of this year even more rooms will be renovated. Last total renovation took place in the beginning of last decade. So we can say that all our rooms are soon the newest hotel rooms in Tallinn.
There are many reasons, why we are very popular among Finnish tourists – at first Finns have built it in 1972 and the basic quality was therefore excellent. For Finns the hotel has long traditions, as it was the first high-level hotel there was a possibility to accommodate during the Soviet time. The location and nowadays excellent service is indeed important for every tourist.
We really hope to welcome You back already in Spring, so we could offer You totally new quality.
Sincerely Yours
Anu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Viru has great location but poor service. Rooms are small, service around the hotel is non- existing, breakfast is chaos.. Cannot recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScandinavianHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear ScandinavianHelsinki,
Thank You for the feedback! We are truly sorry to hear that we did not succeed to offer You the best service, as we always try to, and as one can also see from different other reviews. Something must have happened – could You please turn to me, so that I could personally check the reasons our client remained so unsatisfied.
I’m sure that next time in our hotel we have the possibility to convince You that we learn from any mistakes.
Sincerely Yours
Anu (anu.soosaar(at)sok.fi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Great location hotel in Estonia.
In city centre, very near to old town. All public transportation nerby.
Clean rooms, basic bathroom. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lappari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuSoosaar, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear Lappari,
Thank You for Your kind feedback!
We are looking forward to welcome You again in our hotel!
Sincerely Yours
Anu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
#11 of 86 in Tallinn
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Address: Viru vaeljak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#24 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £81 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing