We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional with extraordinary view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This modern hotel is situated in the perfect city center, just some steps from old town. The room was comfortable and clean, could have been little bit bigger but it is ok if you don't have much luggage. If you book by them, ask for the room on high floor and on the seaside part - you will have an extraordinary view on old town and on the bay of Tallinn.
I liked also the breakfast, the only thing - they could include one free espresso in the menu.
The hotel is connected directly to the big commercial center - so it was very comfortable, especialy now with cold winter temperatures, to go to do some shopping without going out at all.
The staff is very nice and accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and view on old town! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fadinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

The reason that we chose this hotel is the fact that the location is excellent, you have easy access to other destinations, shopping and old town. Also the hotel's long history is quite fascinating and the service is friendly. We were offered a higher classified room at 20 euros additional rate and we took it. However it's not worth paying. You have sofa, 2 little bottels of water, a possibility to cook coffee/tea - we had only 2 portions of coffee available. Additionally you can find hard-washed bathrobes and slippers tightly rolled in the cabinet. Breakfast was average but there was something to be desired concerning the dressing of waiting staff - one dish collector had fashionable trousers, which left too much naked of her buttocks - it is not nice when others are having their breakfast. At any case we can warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjaana54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A big hotel, conveniently situated, good standard, just enough for a short stop in Tallinn between the sailing in and out. Gives good access to the old town, various restaurants and near by shopping facilities in the town. We stayed there for one night on our cruise from Helsinki with our Danish friends.

The rooms we booked as part of the Viking Line cruise were small but who wants to spend hours in the room when there is just limited time available for something else. However, the reception nicely offered us bigger rooms of almost double the size at the the additional 20 euro/room but we did not considered it applicable.

At the ground level, there was direct access to the Viru Shopping Mall. Amarillos restaurant and bar was also nice for quick bite during the day and night cap at the end of the day. Breakfast hall was sooner a hall than restaurant by nature. Obviously en-heritage from the old CCCR times when planned and built. Breakfast itself was good with plenty of choice and varieties. Service in the hotel as part of a Finnish hotel group was to the expectations, fluent and of good standard. There was nothing luxurious but adequate as for our need for the hotel in this case was.

Room Tip: In case you desire to have the view to the Old Town require for it. The higher you are the more you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekuvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I was in Tallin for work and then checked in here for a couple of days to myself exploring the city. It's proximity to the Old Town is fantastic so it's a great base to come back to after a hard afternoons shopping, sightseeing and sampling of local beer.

I checked in early and had a lovely warm welcome in English. I was put in one of their newly refurbished rooms (20th floor) which wasn't huge but was finished nicely. The bed was comfortable, the view over the port / sea was brilliant, and the room was kept nice and warm.

I made use of the therapy centre with a back / shoulder massage with easily booked, reasonably priced and very effective.

The only downside to this being a huge hotel was the manic nature of breakfast and the difficultly of finding a sea during peak times.

Overall a nice stay at the hotel which helped towards a relaxing weekend in Tallin.

Room Tip: Floor 20 has been refurbished, and make sure you get a front facing room that looks out to the port...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanD_Lincoln_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The hotel is nice but a bit below our expectations. The room and breakfast were OK... the big downside was the lounge which was always extremely busy!

The highlight for this hotel is the KGB Museum. A visit is really worth and informative... however make sure you book in advance as they don't have many groups per day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The location of this big hotel is the best. It is connected to a large shopping mall, so if you like shopping you don't have to go outside. It's also right next to the old town. We were in a superior double room on the 12th floor. This room had clearly been renewed and created from two separate rooms, it even had two bathrooms. In some of these rooms the other bathroom is a sauna, but we didn't upgrade for that (cost was around twenty euros). The room was exceptionally spacious, we liked it very much. Good TV channels too. The hotel is oldish an has that soviet feel to it, that we found charming (now that it's gone). Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A big chain restaurant in the middle of city centre. Location is excelent.

This soviet era hotel from 70s in nowadays run by Finnish Sokos hotel chain and they have converted it to their tasteless and odorless basic concept. Nothing fancy, nothing really worth mentioning. Everything is about average. Rooms are normal. Of course being one of the most used hotels in town, some rooms show that.

There are plenty of private saunas to rent, which is a plus.

Tallinn has plenty of better restaurants so need to stay in hotel for dinner. I have normally skipped using restaurants here, only occasioonal beer in the lobby.

Good for shoppers as contacted to one of the biggest malls in town.

Average place but pretty unimaginative. Be also prepared for drunk Finnish

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
#11 of 86 in Tallinn
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#9 of 86 in Tallinn
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
0.3 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Address: Viru vaeljak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#24 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £77 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing