We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two days In Tallinn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Two days In Tallinn”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent location, clean comfortable rooms and breakfast buffet has a great choice. The only problem was there was not one of the 500 rooms avaiable until 2.00pm. I would sack the Executive Housekeeper if this was actually true. Everybody had to wait and at one minute past 2.00pm the two receptionist were completely swamped. Chaos ensued. Still this was the only quibble on an otherwise great stay in Tallinn and i would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    445
    191
    50
    15
See reviews for
223
270
49
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Location is perfect! The hotel is huge and there is a lots of people having a breakfast at the same time. But everything works and the breakfast is very good. Rooms are clean but a little bit outdated. Beds are excellent. The bathroom was nice in the room with sauna. You must take part to "KGB tour" (6 euros, for familys 18 euros), so you can see the hidden part on the hotel! Remains of the Soviet period.

Room Tip: Ask sea view and top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Have to say it is very good choice. Service in front office is very prompt, and friendly. Location of hotel is one of the best in Tallinn; short distance to harbor, old town and other shopping facilities. Rooms are good standard; reception offered room upgrade from standard to superior, and that was good idea. We get nice room from 17th floor with nice sea view. Breakfast was good, but restaurant was a bit "cold" and not so nice atmosphere. Hotel is very popular among children families. I will use this hotel again when traveling back to Tallinn.

Room Tip: Superior rooms has nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed two nights with my wife and a group of 44 people in this excellent hotel. I was traveling with a group in organized trip so I'm not familiar to the prize we paid for this hotel so I can't compare the quality to the prize for the room.
The room we got was on the 13th floor with excellent view to the sea and to the old town.
The location is excellent, there where only few minutes walk to the very nice old town where there is lot to see and eat and drink. Don't miss out the Peppersack restorant, opposite to the famous Old Hansa restorant. Great food and drinks at the Peppersack, the best I got in a week trip to St. Petersburg and Tallin.
The breakfast at the hotel is one of the best I have got.
The only thing I missed in the room was a bathtub.

Room Tip: Better view on the northsite of the hotel and on higher floors (~10+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BodvarGudmundsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

To start with something positive i would say its a hotell close to the old city and central in that way. However the rooms are quite expensive compared to the standard you get. its outdated and needs desperatly to be renewed. The room i had was a non smoking business room on the top floor however it still smelled like alot of smoke. I had a sauna which was not even close to the experience promised. Friendly staff tho, but compard to other hotels in tallinn and the price it didnt reach up.

Room Tip: Non smoking, if that helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokkedal, Denmark
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy about this hotel. It works, breakfast is ok and the rooms are clean. Not super clean, but clean enough. My room was quite old style and with aged furniture. Staff is very friendly and as the hotel is well-located near the old town, it is an ok choice.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bmaschoreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
144 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel, centrally located in the heart of Tallinn. Breakfast ok. Few in the front desk. Long line of finnish people all the time, that did drink heavily. Booking radisson next time! With more international guests, and some more staff it would be a ok 4 star hotel as they announce as. Tough, location is perfect, and do visit viru center and try the mexcican food at the first floor. :)

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stian Hagemann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 83 in Tallinn
1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,169 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Address: Viru vaeljak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing