We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs something new, soon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Esbo, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Needs something new, soon”
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I've stayed here many times during my teenage years, before we could afford the good hotels in Tallinn. I tried it again on a business trip and the impression was boring. If sober, the experience is very different. The sea is quite far away, even on the highest floors. They could have a bar/sauna on the top, open for visitors. The room is small with a 10-year old interior and probably 15-year old small bathroom. The bed was ok. As always with Finnish hotels (Sokos is Finnish), it was clean and the service was good, on the spot but absolutely nothing extra.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trankkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    419
    177
    45
    13
See reviews for
197
250
45
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The positives: perfect central location, within 5 minutes of the old town and attached to a big shopping mall for those who want some retail therapy. Friendly staff.
The average: the rooms vary and some are quite drab. Breakfast was in a large hall and gets very busy at weekends, meaning long queues for food and drinks. The trick is to go early and then back to bed (with a take away coffee or tea).
The negative: no tea and coffee facilities in all rooms, unless you pay for an upgrade at €20+per night. Very busy hotel at weekends to the point of hundreds of people in reception areas! Think of the crowds in hotels in Las Vegas!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I stayed on one of the high floors and the view of the old town and the sea was a treat.
After reading one of the other reviews, I made a point of checking the emergency stairs and found them always accessible.
I would have liked a few more square feet in the single room, but the price, location, cleanliness and herring for breakfast all made me happy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirahvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We have stayd in this hotel 4 times, and always liked it very much. The rooms are big and clean, last time we had a room with sauna and a very nice view to old town. The kids really liked the moviechannel with Disney movies spoken in finnish. The breakfast is great, very multifaceted! And the room service from restaurant Amarillo is super!! Some lazy evenings we did order food to our room. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koralli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Viru hotel was the first real hotel in Soviet Estonia and nearly the only place in 70's you could stay. Today Viru is Finnish owned good quality hotel in the best place in Tallinn downtown. Usually good room rates, especially weekends and combining ferry.

  • Liked — just renovated
  • Disliked — normal rooms small
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HelsinkiFinnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

The hotel is well located, closed to the old town, and generally ok (we only stayed one night), but I found the stairs were locked to customers, there is only access to lifts (you need your room card), and it is quite a high building, I think we were in floor 18th. If it happens to be a fire, lots of people would be trapped, which is not good.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I had heard some stories about Viru hotel and it's profile as a place to go when your holiday's sole intention is to get drunk and prostitutes' services. However, I assumed that this was something that happened in 70s or 80s. Had no idea how bad it would be even these days.

I was travelling with a friend and her newborn baby and the reason we chose Viru was to join my friend's husband on business there. Well, it turned out that his business guest were there just for one thing - paid women. Of course, we did enjoy the good location - ithe hotel is located attached to a shopping mall and it was easy to go back to the hotel to feed the baby. The rooms were ok, but more a 3 star experience than a four star luxury. In fact, everything was fine until the evening. We entered the lobby at 10 pm and immediately noticed the prostitutes on call. My friend's husband was waiting for us in the lobby for a minute or two, and during that time was offered sex twice. Drunk men were going upstairs with women clearly not their wives or girlfriends. Outside the night club we saw this girl barely 16-17 years old completely stoned and being approached by older men. I was very conservatively dressed but got grabbed in an elevator. It felt like every woman was assumed to be a prostitute. There was even a man who went totally nuts after I told him to keep his hands to himself. Quite frankly, I was afraid that he would go violent.

The whole scene was very sad and disturbing to me. And believe me, I'm young, relatively free-minded and well-travelled, but this was just depressing. Would never, ever bring children to this hotel. I was surprised that I family hotel chain like Sokos knowingly supports prostitution. I would suspect that such a big chain would have somekind of social responsibility, but was sad to find out that this was not the case.

There are far more lovely hotels in lovely Tallinn for this price range. I can't imagine why to stay in Hotel Viru.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The night scene: drunken people and prostitutes
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Traveller_Laru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#10 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Address: Viru vaeljak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing