We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Suprises Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No Suprises Here!”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Situated in the-heart-of- downtown, stone's throw away from old town and very near port. Sokos Hotel Viru is a business-class hotel with all the efficiences and services expected.

The hotel is part of a complex which consists of resturants, bars and a even a shopping mall. The bus station sits underneath the complex and Bus Route 2 (which actually has a stop outside the complex) will get you to the airport.

Rooms I would consider basic but very clean and never a problem with noise. Rates, in my opinion, very competitive. Breakfast buffett included. If touring the city, it is one of the taller buildings in Tallinn and makes for a nice landmark when navigating around. The views from the top floors of the hotel are grand indeed.

If looking to "play-it-safe" during next trip to Tallinn, this is definately the place you want to be.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjwb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    397
    167
    42
    13
See reviews for
186
232
43
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed at Sokos Hotel Viru with a large multi-national group. The staff was professional and helpful at every turn. Each department of the hotel exceeded our expectations - the conference services team, banquet servers & rooms division were all delightful and helpful. Our private events were personally managed by the head chef with care. The hotel's bars and restaurant, combined with the adjacent shopping mall, provided easy "down time" options for our group. The hotel is within two minutes of Old Town which was thoroughly enjoyed. I would recommend this hotel to both individual travelers and groups.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura22302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbo, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I've stayed here many times during my teenage years, before we could afford the good hotels in Tallinn. I tried it again on a business trip and the impression was boring. If sober, the experience is very different. The sea is quite far away, even on the highest floors. They could have a bar/sauna on the top, open for visitors. The room is small with a 10-year old interior and probably 15-year old small bathroom. The bed was ok. As always with Finnish hotels (Sokos is Finnish), it was clean and the service was good, on the spot but absolutely nothing extra.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trankkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The positives: perfect central location, within 5 minutes of the old town and attached to a big shopping mall for those who want some retail therapy. Friendly staff.
The average: the rooms vary and some are quite drab. Breakfast was in a large hall and gets very busy at weekends, meaning long queues for food and drinks. The trick is to go early and then back to bed (with a take away coffee or tea).
The negative: no tea and coffee facilities in all rooms, unless you pay for an upgrade at €20+per night. Very busy hotel at weekends to the point of hundreds of people in reception areas! Think of the crowds in hotels in Las Vegas!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I stayed on one of the high floors and the view of the old town and the sea was a treat.
After reading one of the other reviews, I made a point of checking the emergency stairs and found them always accessible.
I would have liked a few more square feet in the single room, but the price, location, cleanliness and herring for breakfast all made me happy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirahvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We have stayd in this hotel 4 times, and always liked it very much. The rooms are big and clean, last time we had a room with sauna and a very nice view to old town. The kids really liked the moviechannel with Disney movies spoken in finnish. The breakfast is great, very multifaceted! And the room service from restaurant Amarillo is super!! Some lazy evenings we did order food to our room. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koralli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Viru hotel was the first real hotel in Soviet Estonia and nearly the only place in 70's you could stay. Today Viru is Finnish owned good quality hotel in the best place in Tallinn downtown. Usually good room rates, especially weekends and combining ferry.

  • Liked — just renovated
  • Disliked — normal rooms small
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HelsinkiFinnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
1,437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Address: Viru vaeljak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing