We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room I ever had.”
Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taanilinna Hotell
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best room I ever had.”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

very good location, friendly and helpful frontdesk and I really can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    154
    52
    10
    5
See reviews for
43
169
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel is in a wonderful location, just downtown. The personnel is very nice.
However, my room was quite small, the desk did not have space for a chair for example. The breakfast is somehow poor and the wifi internet connection is limited to the lobby. In the rooms (not all!) you can ask for a cable and get wired connection.
My room was at ground floor with the window just looking at the entrance, not very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zarpietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Zarpietro,
We appreciate You for spending some time and writing a little bit about Your experience in our hotel. It was a wonderful to read that You were happy with the service and location, which is a truly sensational for Taanilinna Hotel, as we are located in the heart of historical and charming Old Town. As regards the breakfast and wifi connection, then indeed these items have been in closer look for us some time now and just recently we have improved our breakfast buffee.
Wifi internet connection unfortunately does not work in every room, due to the thick old town stone walls, fortunately LAN connection is now fixed and available in every room.
In reference to the size of the room, we first need to mention that we have 3 different standard and price level rooms. Starting from economy, then superior and biggest one are our three de luxe type.
On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, thank You for visiting and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tallinn when Your travels allow.

TallinnHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

What a pleasant suprise. A quiet Hotel steps away from the main attractions. Nothing too much trouble and service with a smile. Rooms have character very clean and accomodating. This is a charming place to stay even if you have a car.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

My wife and I stayed in a standard double room here for 4 nights B&B.
We chose this hotel for its location just on the edge of the centre and it was very reasonably priced.

Transfer
From the airport the number 2 bus departs from just outside arrivals and takes about 10 minutes to the shopping centre “viru keskus”. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from here. We bought our bus tickets inside the airport from the newsagents for 1 euro each; these have to be validated when you get on the bus.
A taxi from the hotel to the airport cost us about 6 Euros.

Location
The hotel is just outside the city walls, and takes only a couple of minutes to get into the centre. There are currency exchanges, a supermarket, bars and restaurants within a minutes walk.

Hotel
The hotel was very clean and is within a courtyard / car park so is set back from the road. There was always someone on reception. The hotel has a look which is in keeping with the area, exposed beams, rocky walls, very cosy.

Room (No. 14)
The room was not huge but adequate and was located on the ground floor with a view of the courtyard / car park. Looks are very dated but is kind of in keeping with the surroundings. Room was cleaned for us everyday and had a fridge, TV, hairdryer, desk, some storage, shampoo & soap. My criticisms of the room were there was no safe, no AC or a fan as it did get very hot in the room, the birds outside the room were extremely noisy (obviously not the hotel’s fault).

Food / Drink
The breakfast was a cold buffet and consisted of fruit juices, tea & coffee, pre-packed sandwiches, toast with jam or marmalade, cereal and yogurts.
This was fine for us but if you’re used to a large choice and a cooked breakfast then you’ll have to go into town.

Staff
The staff were friendly, if we needed any help or advice they were happy to help.

Misc
- Vanaema Juures Restaurant (Grandmas Place) I can recommend for a nice meal at a reasonable price.
- Tasty cheap eats at the town hall next to the tower are great, elk soup or pies for 1 euro each, beer or wine 2 euros each. Great surroundings.
- Olde Hansa is a good experience but at a price.
- Chocolatere de Pierre is a great quirky café.
- Great views from the top of St. Olaf’s Church

Overall
Overall Tallinn is a wonderful place and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring it. Its medieval charm, quirky pubs and restaurants and friendly people will not let you down. We enjoyed our stay at the Taanilinna Hotel and I would recommend it as a good base with clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benjamin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind feedback here on Tripadvisor.com. We were very much pleased to read that You and Your wife truly enjoyed your holiday in Tallinn as well as Your stay in Taanilinna Hotel. Its a shame that Your good night sleep was disturbed by noisy birds and the heat in the room, it shows that summer is almost in the city. If we only would had known the problem at the time, we would have been more than happy to advise You how to adjust the ventilation system in your room. In that note we would like to wish You and Your family a great summer and hope to welcome You back in Taanilinna Hotel!
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This hotel is very very clean and although the rooms are not exactly large in comparison with US hotels, they are not uncomfortably small. We didn't bring a car but the car park looked like a complete nightmare - with everyone blocking everyone else in. Though it was B&B the breakfast was really awful and we ended up only drinking the coffee. Its in a good location just by the old town and close to a supermarket (for those breakfast essentials!)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundofmusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

The location was perfect near old town and harbour. Service was ok. We loved hotels wine cellar. It was perfect place to start the evening.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank s94072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

This is a nice hotel with a homely feel to it. The staff were very polite and helpful and the location is great (within a few minutes' walk from the Old Town). Our twin room wasn't huge, but it was clean and well laid out. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was also good. There was a decent choice of food for breakfast (buffet style) - can't comment on the restaurant as we did not use it. Only downside was the view from the terrace at the rear of the hotel (the back of a supermarket). However, plus side was being able to stock up the minibar from the supermarket rather than paying inflated hotel prices! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — View from the terrace at the back
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_tastic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
1,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 83 in Tallinn
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 83 in Tallinn
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Property: Taanilinna Hotell
Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing