We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taanilinna Hotell
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Lovely, cosy hotel, not too big, not too small. Very friendly and helpful staff, speaking quite good English. A nice clean room and a good bed.
The location of the hotel is almost perfect, within a few mitutes walk from a supermarket and Money Exchange and close to the center of The Old Town.
The breakfast, however, could have been better. There could have been more to choose from. And for some strange reason, we didn't have dark curtains.

We would like to recommend the hotel to others!
Great city with very nice people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmithDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

I liked the hotel because of very good location close to all sightseeing spots. The place is very quiet! No noise at all although popular streets with bars are just around the corner.
The interiour is very nice, traditional. homelike.
The staff is friendly, speaks languages.
Breakfast is poor for the price and is not cooked in the hotel: readymade sandwitches, things in plastic containers. But may be this allows to reduce the room price a little.
In the room: WC is perfectly clean and comfortable, but the walls and floors are not so shiny. Little fridge is there, hot drinking water down in the restaurant only.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Taking the reviews from Bantha75, KREEFTFOXTROT and zarpietro as a starting point,

- the location is excellent, in particular if you do not have a car which needs parking.
- the breakfast is not the best (not much choice), but it was adequate.
- I was there during a heat wave. There was no a/c and sleep was patchy. Maybe other rooms do have a/c. My room was effectively underground (ground floor at the back) so I may have got off lightly. Other places we stayed at in Estonia+Latvia had similar problems with the heat.
- the (encrypted) WLAN comes and goes, a known problem there. I used my LAN cable and hooked it up to the covered socket next to the telephone socket. Problem solved.
- the beds are singles, with hooks so they can be attached to each other.
- my desk had a chair in front of it, no problem there.

Finally: the staff, oh the staff. This is not a particularly large operation, most of the time there is just the receptionist there. I can't see how they could possible have been more helpful or friendly. I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Tallinn for that reason.

I can't comment on the price because it was part of a package deal.

Room Tip: Higher is (probably) better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vlad_Inh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

What a great experience, right in the heart of the Old Town in a quiet location. The staff was incredibly nice and friendly, breakfast was not the biggest but it was more than ok (there is no hot food like eggs or sausages or bacon...), the room was a perfect size, very clean, very nice, and was incredibly quiet. I agree with the wi-fi, very poor in the room. The area surrounding the hotel is full of nice wee restaurants and there is a convenient supermarket just around the corner. It's definitely been one of the best hotels we have been. Hugely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bantha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

very good location, friendly and helpful frontdesk and I really can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel is in a wonderful location, just downtown. The personnel is very nice.
However, my room was quite small, the desk did not have space for a chair for example. The breakfast is somehow poor and the wifi internet connection is limited to the lobby. In the rooms (not all!) you can ask for a cable and get wired connection.
My room was at ground floor with the window just looking at the entrance, not very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zarpietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2011

Dear Zarpietro,
We appreciate You for spending some time and writing a little bit about Your experience in our hotel. It was a wonderful to read that You were happy with the service and location, which is a truly sensational for Taanilinna Hotel, as we are located in the heart of historical and charming Old Town. As regards the breakfast and wifi connection, then indeed these items have been in closer look for us some time now and just recently we have improved our breakfast buffee.
Wifi internet connection unfortunately does not work in every room, due to the thick old town stone walls, fortunately LAN connection is now fixed and available in every room.
In reference to the size of the room, we first need to mention that we have 3 different standard and price level rooms. Starting from economy, then superior and biggest one are our three de luxe type.
On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, thank You for visiting and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tallinn when Your travels allow.

TallinnHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

What a pleasant suprise. A quiet Hotel steps away from the main attractions. Nothing too much trouble and service with a smile. Rooms have character very clean and accomodating. This is a charming place to stay even if you have a car.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 26lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Town Maestro's
Old Town Maestro's
#32 of 86 in Tallinn
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Olav Hotel
St Olav Hotel
#75 of 86 in Tallinn
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#56 of 86 in Tallinn
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £48 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing