We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and nice beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taanilinna Hotell
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location and nice beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had no problem with this hotel and our stay was pleasant. It wasn't a fancy hotel, but good value for our money.
I liked our bed, with satin cotton bedsheets. Our room was nice, and the interior decor was pretty (all the furniture were the same style). The room was not huge, but we enough room for us.
Breakfast was ok, very basic. Toasts, tea, coffee, cold cuts, cheese, yams and yoghurt.
Hotels location was great and for that reason it was easy to find. It was quite a pity that houses that are next to the hotel, are not in their best condition.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelsinkiVentus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    149
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
164
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Failed to honour a confirmed booking for 2-nights made through booking.com. The hotel did not contact us in advance but when we turned up at 2pm (earliest check-in time) we were told no room was available due to 'over-booking', and that they had booked us in to another hotel instead. Upon expressing our displeasure at this unacceptable practice, and after much discussion, a room eventually became available as if by magic. However this room was truly awful. Just passable if in a very cheap hostel but abysmal at the price they were going to charge. We declined the offer of this room, which I can only assume is not a room they would normally give to guests despite the receptionist saying this was a superior room. We noticed when we left that other guests were checking in, so not sure why no room was available for us but was for them. It is not acceptable that they fail to honour a confirmed booking guaranteed by a credit card. Given the positive reviews by others I cannot believe the room they showed us is typical but we will never no.

Room Tip: Not the large dark bare room on the ground floor right next to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, General Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Pete,
Thank you for your honest feedback!
I am really sorry to hear that we have failed to fulfill your expectations on your visit to Tallinn. I can assure that this event will be in our thoughts for a long time as well. This unfortunate misunderstanding which left one of our guests without a room is of course a dismal issue. But I hope you understand looking back now that our receptionist tried her best to make sure you will be in the best available alternative room in another hotel nearby.
I want to thank you for pointing this issue out so concretely. We have thought this problem through to prevent such things in the future and I am sure that we can offer a better service thanks to you from now on.
I sincerely hope that this did not ruin your vacation to Tallinn and that you enjoyed your stay in Estonia overall.

With sincerest apologies,
Ain Käpp,
Managing director of Taanilinna Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I traveled around Estonia for 3 weeks this summer. This was worst hotel I stayed in. It was hot and they have no air or fans to offer you. Other hotels offered fans if they didn't have air conditioning. I kept asking them if they had a fan and they said no. I kept my windows open, but it was loud at night. They also don't have black out curtains so the sun and heat will wake you up at 3:00 am. I got smart after my third miserable day of no sleep and went to another hotel. This hotel has great location, but that is it. The bathroom toilet stunk like sewage, the food offered for breakfast was horrible. One of the days I was in my room and someone entered while I was getting out of bathroom. I think it was staff. Not sure why they came in. Room was already done by housekeeping. Maybe they came in because I had my card in slot for using electricity and they take them out when people aren't; in rooms? It was around 4:00 pm and I was half naked. When I first got there I thought of buying a portable fan for my room, but didn't since I didn't want to waste my money on something for a hotel. I should have left after first night and I would have been much happier. There are many hotels in Tallinn. Find yourself anther place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreatVaca1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, General Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Hello,
First of all I would like to thank you for your honest opinions about our hotel. Having said that I hope that you understand this: the issues you have pointed out have been the biggest concern of our hotel management during the last two weeks.
Honestly, the situation of a guest not being satisfied in our hotel is new to us. I assure you that Taanilinna hotel’s staff gives nothing less than 100% of what they can to make sure our guests would feel enjoyment and fullfillment not only in the hotel but in Tallinn overall. This concerns every detail you mentioned aswell. The cleanliness of the room, quality of our breakfast and service as well as guests’ sleeping time are the top priorities of Taanilinna hotel. This is why I am as surprised as I am sorry that we could not match your expectations.
Please, accept my sincerest apologies! Nothing to us is more regretful than a dissapointed visitor. I hope this did not ruin your vacation in Tallinn.
All the best in the future!
Kind regards,
Ain Käpp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Nice botique-style hotell with great location, just a few steps from the old town square. The neigborhoud and view from the rooms is not very special, but the street is very quiet. Inside the hotel is warm and cosy, and the staff friendly. Rooms are new and clean, with wooden floors and new bathrooms. We had two economy twn rooms, they were very small, not much space for baggage. Breakfast was ok, compared to the standard in Eastern Europe. No AC, rooms can be a little bit warm in July. Great value for the money, and perfect for a short stay in Tallin

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for one night, and were happy with the room and service. Great location, very close to a bike rental place where one can rent bikes inexpensively to tour around the town and beyond. The room is fairly large, and breakfast was fine. Good wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed in Taanilinna Hotel in the month of June 2012 for 3 nights. I had a good experience during my stay. They have got very friendly staff. Rooms are neat and clean. I was little disappointed with same breakfast every day. But with the price range, it can be accepted.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest, we sincerely appreciate for making an effort and writing down a few words about the hotel. It was truly splendid to read that the room was according to your expectations and our personnel left a good impression. It would be a great pleasure for us, if on your next trip to Tallinn we could welcome you again in Taanilinna Hotel.
Have a superb summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

A lovely hotel with only a few rooms. The reception staff are knowledgeable and helpful
we have just returned from here after three nights stay.. the DeLuxe rooms are best and worth the little extra.

Breakfast is basic but certainly adequate nothing fancy but fresh and wholesome.

If you want a hotel that feels like Estonia and looks the part come here.

for travellers the location is 100%

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe room it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FREDANDWILMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Fred and Wilma, our deepest gratitude for sharing your views on Tripadvisor. Your hearty review brought a big smile on our face and we are extremely happy that our small and cosy hotel was to your liking.
On behalf of our management and staff we wish you a swell summertime and hopefully see you agan in Taanilinna Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.2 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Property: Taanilinna Hotell
Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing