We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Tallinn”
Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taanilinna Hotell
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Benicia, California
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Tallinn”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Taanilinna Hotel in Tallinn, Estonia. We found the room to be comfortable and quite spacious and the service at the hotel to be very good. The staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. Breakfast came with the room and was adequate for our needs. The hotel is conveniently located in the Old Town, which made walking to all of the Old Town sites pretty simple and straightforward.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irawine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear irawine,

Thank you for giving us your opinion!
I am sure your tips and suggestions will be very helpful to other Tripadvisor users, too.

We will keep up the good work, of course, until your next visit!

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    157
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
43
171
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is clean and stylish. Bedrooms are a good size, comfortable and quiet. The location of the hotel on the edge of the old city by the old city wall is perfect. Lots of restaurants are within a few minutes walk as are the sights and shops.

I would stay again if I return to Tallinn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay-J-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Jay,

Thank you very much for posting!

I am glad to see that you were pleased with your stay and I think that this gives us all the more reason to look forward to host you again!

Until the next time,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

During our 5-day stay we felt very welcome in this hotel. The rooms are nicely furnished, quite big - especially the two largest ones you may ask for (one with a bath-tub) - the breakfast is good and the staff very helpful. The location is central, just entering the old town and, especially with the low-season-reduction, we had a great overall return for the rate we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your post!
Surely this will be helpful for future visitors of Tallinn!

As you said yourself, you are welcome here at any time!

Kindly,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Taanilinna Hotel is clean, friendly staffed and with charming rooms (we have stayed twice, and thus we know both wings). Very near town centre.
Breakfast is OK, but there is room for improvements. WiFi works with android, iPhones and computer ...but no way you can get it to work on an iPad whatever browser you try.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boelskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Boelskov,

Thank you for your post!

I am sure your tips and suggestions will help Tripadvisor users to aknowledge our strenghts and shortcomings better. As for us, the recommentations are highly appreciated for improvement!

Welcome back!
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a great stay here. The staff was extremely helpful (offering to call cabs or arrange an early breakfast without us having to ask).
The rooms are very pretty and the double bed is more than large enough for two people. Everything gives a clean feeling and there's no broken stuff in the rooms.
Breakfast is basic, but still, more than enough options :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraNijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you for your warm post!

These kind of letters are what motivate us here at Taanilinna Hotel to thrive for improvement.
I am eager to see you here again in the future to show you our gratitude with a warm welcome again.

Until the next time!
Sincerely,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

First of all the location and service is good.
But apart from that, I cannot recommend the hotel. I had ordered a superior room with bathtub, but got a small room with shower instead. No reduction in price or anything.
The walls were dirty and never got cleaned, three of the lamps didn't work, and the light in the hallway was broken so I stood on total darkness when locking myself into the room.
Breakfast was minimal, I got fed, but that was it.
Worst part is, for the same price I could have went to far better hotels in town, I just took this hotel because I wanted something new.

Overall, not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear xixit,
Thank you for your feedback!

Your positive notes as well as your suggestions will surely be helpful for our everyday job here at Taanilinna Hotel.

I am looking forward to have you here again so we can improve from the first impression you had here.

Greetings,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

we found this wonderfull hotel in the internet. easely booked, we were satisfied for the moment and looked forward how it would be: in fact it was one of the nicest hotels I've been. Friendly and helpful, small, but with a nice atmosphere and hospility. An excellent position in the center but also close to the public transport stations to visit some places a bit further away... just perfect for our week in Tallinn

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank very much for your post!

I am sure that this will be helpful for the other tripadvisor users as well.
Taanilinna Hotel is looking forward to host you in the future!

Until then I wish you all the best!
Sincerely,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 85 in Tallinn
1,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#19 of 85 in Tallinn
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 85 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#39 of 85 in Tallinn
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Property: Taanilinna Hotell
Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing