We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three welcome sisters - History, Style and Comfort”
Review of The Three Sisters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Three Sisters
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is one of my absolute favourite hotels. Created from three medieval houses renovated and turned into one unique hotel.

Every room is different - I have stayed here several times, and on occasion introduced colleagues who have been so delighted they have showed me their rooms. They have created wonderful, original spaces that combine the individual features of the walls and ceilings and windows with sympathetic modern appointments to create striking yet comfortable environments.

It reminded me a little of the Pulitzer Hotel in Amsterdam, not only because of its multi-house structure and luxurious style, but also its location - it is in the Tallinn old town, so an easy walk through the historic city, with its own sense of history within the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Spent three nights here summer 2010. One of those nights were quite hot. As I had one of the attic rooms it must have been 35 degrees hot in there when in woke up in the early morning at 2-3am.
Charging 350€ per night and not having air condition in the rooms is to me completely unacceptable. At least they could have arranged some portable units to the attic rooms as this was quite expected and a horrible experience.
When informing the hotel manager about the problem the next morning I received a quite arrogant and stuck up attitude rather than solutions oriented and interest to resolve the situation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wittsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have been there 2 times with my husband, and we like everything in Three Sisters,
good beds, beautifull room , VERY good service, near all best places in Tallinn, We can not wait to go back!!!I It is true its not cheap, but its worth EVERY penny!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have been in this hotel the last weekend with my family and we honestly liked it very much. All our expectations (from friends and different reviews) were totally satisfied and we cannot say anything bad about this accomodation at all. Only bug are the prices. yes it is true that the rooms are comfortable, perfectly clean, the service and the stuff are very nice and friendly, breakfast was one of the best we had in long time etc., but all of this comes for very expenisve price so if you are looking for a family weekend that is not going to push your budget up too much you better find another option.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed at the top floor suite. At a special rate it was acceptable, would not pay the advertised rates.
The room was nice, but not practical for anything other than leisure. The stand- alone "plastic" bath tub was not equipped to take a decent shower without sitting down.
Have to watch your head- the medieval construction beams will get you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didzis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights at the end of August. Had booked a classic room and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite, complete with freestanding cast iron bath in the bedroom, on the first floor with views out onto the main street. Room was gorgeous, really quirky and unique.

Staff were all really friendly and helpful and we had breakfast in the hotel both mornings - fruit salad, cereals, toast, fruit juice, pastries (omlettes, pancakes etc were also available via an alacarte menu but were extra). Also had tea and coffee one afternoon which was served with a plate of homemade chocolates/petit fours.

Location of the hotel was perfect - on the edge of the old town (definitely wouldn't have wanted to stay in the new town) and five minute walk to the main square

Only downside was there wasn't really anywhere to sit and have a drink in the evening. There is a 'bar' above reception - I think on the website this is called the 3s bar - it is literally a tiny balcony above the reception desk. There is just about enough room on it for a small bar and four chairs and due to the open plan nature whoever is sat at the reception desk could have joined in any conversation you had it's really not a nice private area to relax and have a drink. The only other option we were given when we asked (other than sitting in the restaurant or in the courtyard - it was raining) was the bar in the cellar which we were told is no longer a wine bar but a 'cigar lounge'. We had a look down there and it looked pretty abandoned - it was never staffed and had no atmosphere - didn't look like they expected anyone to go there. This was a real shame as instead of having a few pre dinner drinks in the hotel and then eating in the hotel we ended up going out for drinks and then staying out for dinner. On our last day we had a few hours to pass before a late flight and ended up going and sitting in the merchants house hotel as they had a nice lounge with comfy sofas and a bar as there was no equivalent in the three sisters

One other point was that on the first day when we had a late breakfast in the small restaurant that overlooks the courtyard a large tour group (Tallinn is overrun with tour groups!) descended on the courtyard for tea and coffee. Ruined the peace a little and we were glad we weren't sat out there

Overall though loved the hotel and would recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I don't know what to say, this has never happened to me in almost twenty years of travelling for work or leisure. I arrived with my wife and two-years old son in beautiful Tallinn, looking forward to staying at the Three Sisters Hotel, which was carefully selected. Let me stress that I had several e-mail exchanges with the hotel staff about the baby-cot and other issues. However, when we arrived there we are informed that the hotel is overbooked and that they booked us somewhere else (not in the old town). In addition, considering the situation, I believe that the front manager was not apologetic enough. True that they sent us afterwards a voucher for a stay of one night in a junior suite, but obviously it would be very difficult for us to go back to Tallinn for one night, plus the voucher is only valid for one year....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank ucedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#14 of 86 in Tallinn
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Sisters

Address: Tolli 2, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £114 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Three Sisters 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2003, three of the Tallinn's most famous trading houses, built in 1362, were renovated and united to create the building of The Three Sisters Hotel. We offer five-star level services in the setting of modern design contrasted with the medieval history. Our hotel located within the fortress walls of the Old Town allows you to feel the spirit of the old Hansa, without compromising style, comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Three Sisters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Tallinn
Hotel Three Sisters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing