We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Class Place to stay in Tallinn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Sisters

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Three Sisters
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
musicben
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Class Place to stay in Tallinn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

Staying here you are reminded that you follow in the footsteps of famous guests like Queen Elizabeth and some Rock Bands.
Given the level of service and comfort I found the prices very reasonable. I paid a little extra to have a very large 2 level room/suite at the top of the buildings and was pleasantly surprised to find so many original features.
I have also stayed at the Schlossle and would say that this is a superior place although that is also good.
The wine bar and restaurant are both wonderfully designed and also good value [Internationally]

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank musicben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    112
    28
    16
    11
See reviews for
61
246
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

This hotel is situated right by Fat Margaret's Tower at the quiet edge of the Old Town but it is still only a 5 minute walk to the main square - perfect.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a deluxe room which was very nice and comfortable.
The mini bar was not overly expensive except for the wine but that seems to be the case all over Tallinn.
The one time we called house keeping they came to us very quickly.
We did not eat there except for breakfast but I can thoroughly recommend that. Everything we ordered was cooked to perfection and tasted wonderful.
My only concern would be if the hotel is actually good value for money but overall an extremely enjoyble stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamilyHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2008

Looking for a short break with charm? Then try the Three Sisters Hotel. A beautifully designed hotel, pulling three houses together in unique style and design successfully mixing the old with the new. With only 23 rooms, this hotel provides a high quality, personalised level of service. Every member of staff was friendly and courteous, Nothing was too much trouble. We would particularly recommend the breakfast of eggs Benedict which you can enjoy in the restaurant or have brought to your room.
The hotel is a short walk from the main square and all the attractions of the old city. When you have had enough sightseeing, we suggest you relax in the beautiful library area of the hotel, order a cool glass of wine from the extensive wine list and write your postcards.
Well worth a visit!!

  • Liked — the design
  • Disliked — Low level shower doesn't work for people over 6ft
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsimeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

The Three Sisters hotel is a beautiful building with fantastic old rooms, all varying in style. We had a Superior room with a bath a four poster bed, which was great and we had a look at a few of the more expensive rooms all of which would be a real treat for hotel lovers.

The biggest disappointment however was the service of the reception staff. The hotel has a boutique feel to it and you would expect the staff to be welcoming and friendly. This is not the case....It's more like you've walked into a 2 star city hostel. Also - do not expect the staff to know anything about the city, its attractions or how you get around....they dont. They didnt have any knowledge of the buses, where you get tickets from,etc. and asking about attractions they were about as uninspired as they come.

The highlight of our trip was the restaurant and in particular - the somelier - "Tarvo". This guy should be the example for the reception staff - he was a real pro. We had dinner on one of the nights and not only did was his service fantastic but he knew his wine inside out and even gave us a tour of the vast and award winning wine cellar. Our meal was superb and with Tarvo's service, it was a night to remember.

All-in-all, this hotel is too expensive for the service you get. We really hope the owners sort this out as it could be superb. Until they do....would spend you money somewhere else....We also had a tour of The Telegraph down the road, and the service was great. You can then check which nights Tarvo works and book a meal at the Three Sisters!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

We spend two days in Tallinn, at Three Sisters Hotel and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is great and it is obvious that the owner wants to provide customers with top-scale service at all levels. However, the total outcome is not what I would call "an excellent one". When we arrived the receptionists who welcomed us were just kids (!)... very young indeed who did not speak English very good. English is a general problem in Estonia and specifically at the Three Sisters Hotel as it is hard to communicate with the staff for details.
April was a low season for Tallinn. Maybe they have well-trained staff who speaks English later on when more tourists arrive?!

We stayed in room 31 and it was wonderful. It was very clean and the bed was the biggest one I've ever slept on!

The Hotel Restaurant was excellent, too. There is an extensive wine list and one can also order by glass.

Breakfast was perfect! There is a buffet but you can also order from a catalogue in case you want something extra. Try the pancakes and the omellette!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers.
In general I think Estonia is making a huge effort to attract tourists and so does Three Sisters Hotel. The former has a long way to go still. The latter must take care of some details but has almost arrived at its goal.

  • Liked — The room (Number 31)
  • Disliked — The staff at the reception
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marimekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantsala, Finland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

The three sisters hotel is a gem in Tallinn. Great service, cool rooms and a wonderful vibe. It is in the old town and well within walking distance, but to be fair some of the other hotels are even closer. On a sunny day this does not matter, but in the rain, you might be tempted to use the taxi more.

We loved the interior, and the Mies inspired black leather furniture with the old brickwork just did it for us from a design point of view.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2008

The Queen stayed there in autumn 2006 - need I say more?
Considered the poshest & best small luxury hotel in town by the locals, quiet area in the old town but just a minute away from all the action.
Definitely try the excellent truffles (they make them themselves)!

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Estonian_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#13 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Sisters

Property: The Three Sisters
Address: Pikk 71 / Tolli 2, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Three Sisters 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2003, three of the Tallinn's most famous trading houses, built in 1362, were renovated and united to create the building of The Three Sisters Hotel. We offer five-star level services in the setting of modern design contrasted with the medieval history. Our hotel located within the fortress walls of the Old Town allows you to feel the spirit of the old Hansa, without compromising style, comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Three Sisters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Tallinn
Hotel Three Sisters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing