We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Completely charming, great service, perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Sisters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Three Sisters
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Completely charming, great service, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Standard Double. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it for its great location, very good service and charming decor.

The hotel is located at a quiet end of the old town, which is nice as you feel far from the tourist hordes in the central part of town, but are only a 5 minute walk away. This area has not yet been completely renovated, so there are still many buildings with lovely crumbling facades, peaceful streets, and a beautiful old cathedral with tall trees. The hotel itself is set in a set of three finely renovated old houses and has a lovely courtyard where you can have drinks and dinner in the summer. The restaurant has an excellent wine list and the bar offers many wines by the glass. The interiors are beautifully and tastefully decorated in a simple style with a lot of natural wood.

Our room was huge – like a very quiet, comfortable cave. It opened directly onto the courtyard and had only one window, so those who prefer more privacy or light might want to request a room inside the main building (the courtyard rooms are in a sort of annex wing). We liked our room however because of the spaciousness; a room we saw next door was half the size. The bathroom was quite narrow, with a combination shower/bath, but the bath was comfortable with good hot water supply. The very large bed was extremely comfortable, with a great mattress (I think two pushed together) and fluffy duvets.

The service was excellent – truly warm, friendly and very helpful with dinner bookings, information, advice, taxi arrangements, looking after luggage which had been left behind by the airline, etc. This included everyone from the front desk staff to the porters. Another nice aspect is that the breakfast, which is included in the room rate, runs until 1pm, and you can order it to your room as late as 6pm if you wish!

Our only real complaints were that the wifi signal wasn’t strong enough to use in our room (they gave us a cable, which did work but only at the point next to our bed and not at the desk); and that our room was situated next to a set of wooden stairs leading up to the room above, which meant that when our neighbors stomped up and down the stairs with their luggage to check out on Sunday morning at 7am, it sounded like a herd of elephants.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    111
    28
    16
    11
See reviews for
60
242
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SaintDavids
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

This is a small, but gorgeous hotel in the Old City, conveniently located to all of the sites. Our room #26 was really large and pretty - with 'old city' charm but modern conveniences. The staff were very helpful, fluent in English, knowledgeable, fun. The restaurant was also first rate. This is a tourist attraction, so it was fun to see the tourists take a picture of our hotel! By the way, you get one free transfer free - anywhere (like the airport, or suburban attractions). A+++.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

A fantastic experiense as such. Friendly, personal service. Lovely ambience. Serene and leisurely.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EaglesHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Great small hotel, just few hundred meters away from the sometimes noisy and crowded streets and squares of the Old City, but close enough to the main attractions.
Nice old fashioned rooms furnished and decorated with good taste. Helpfull staff at the recepcion and the restaurants. Good food, nice breakfast and great wines. Functioning wireless internet etc.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neroEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

This hotel is perfect. Boutique with style and history, and a great restaurant and wine cellar. Just watch a couple things: make sure you're not directly below someone who stomps around on the floors too loudly (like me) as it's still an older structure, and be prepared that your bed may be directly next to your bathtub. While this is great, the City is old and is upgrading its water pipes, so sometimes a few odd smells can eminate from the drain. But this happens only occasionally so complain if it happens, not in advance. The Piano Suite is huge; ask for it, sometimes it's available.

Excellent staff, with one small tip: give priority to the customers staying at the hotel. Don't be afraid to tell American tourists that wander in trying to find "that old house, you know the one" to sit down and wait until the guest at the front desk checks out.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABadDayInBosnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lærdal
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

The hotell is rather small, only 23 rooms, and that meens they know you when you are getting your roomkey after a long day with sightseeing. Lovely!! The reseptionstaff are just perfec! The breakfast staff are vey polite, but they didn't give us the meny the first morning so we could make a choise and it takes time when you want warm food. We didn't know about the different roomrates, so we got one of the cheapest rooms. It was nice, but similar to other hotelrooms. The bathroom was very delicate. It is also nice with slippers and bathrobe, and as a gift to us we got a surprise when we arrived!! (Vana Tallinn, fruit and chokolat)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puseline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

If you travel further up the Pikk you'll be in the heart of the Old Town with souvenir shops and tourists from all over the world. Here, on the edge of Old Town is a tranquility and silence only broken by the sounds of the Estonian gulls and even they know when you've heard enough. Our room (#25) overlooked the inner courtyard and red tiled roofs. Lying in bed, you saw sky and trees. A bright red claw-foot bathtub sits right in the room but it added to the charm instead of taking away from it. A 4 poster queen size bed is surrounded by transparent white linen drapes that can be pulled back or left to surround you in absolute comfort.
The hotel restaurant had the best food in the Old Town and maybe even all of Estonia, but duck as you enter the ancient doorway or even someone of average height might smack their head. They gave us an amuse bouche of tomato gazpacho with a half-shot of vodka. You just want more. The menu featured the freshest local produce and every course was presented with a view to please us visually as well as taste-wise.
This hotel is a great base for wandering the streets of the Old Town or venturing into a surprisingly hip new Tallinn.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefegrande65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Sisters

Property: The Three Sisters
Address: Pikk 71 / Tolli 2, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Three Sisters 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2003, three of the Tallinn's most famous trading houses, built in 1362, were renovated and united to create the building of The Three Sisters Hotel. We offer five-star level services in the setting of modern design contrasted with the medieval history. Our hotel located within the fortress walls of the Old Town allows you to feel the spirit of the old Hansa, without compromising style, comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Three Sisters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Tallinn
Hotel Three Sisters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing