We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Retreat”
Review of The Three Sisters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Three Sisters
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2006

I stayed at The Three Sisters for three nights at the beginning of February.

The hotel is beautiful; a fabulous mix of the old and the new. I stayed in the suite at the top of the Big Sister and it was great. The hotel was warm and cosy despite the freezing cold temperatures outside.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

There were some nice touches such as a drink on arrival and a selection of fruit and cookies in my room.

I ate breakfast in the restaurant each morning. The food was excellent and the amount was more than adequate. There is a cold buffet and a range of items that can be ordered from an a la carte menu.

I ate dinner in the restaurant one evening. The food and service were very good and the price quite reasonable.

The only negative points that I would make are:

1.) The double bed came with two single duvets and not one double duvet;

2.) The bathroom floor "flooded" whenever the shower was used; and

3.) The bathroom towels were not replaced as part of the turn down service.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PaulN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2005

It is in the old town but it is 10 minutes walk to the town square. It is on a main road so there is a fair amount of traffic noise. In the early moring , there is a lot of noise outside like they are emptying the garbbage. With those out of the way, the hotel itself is very old and charming. The reservation and reception were very efficient and friendly, I was upgraded without charge and the breakfast was very good, you have buffet and on top of that, you can order eggs to order etc, all included in the roomrate. the posted rate is high, but you can get a better rate on the net.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckiepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Three Sisters Hotel for two nights, along with our two adult chiildren, for two nights in August. We had rooms 24 (deluxe) and 28 (grand deluxe).

We began our journey from Helsinki by taking the JetLink high speed ferry to Tallinn. We opted for "business class" tickets with seating at the very front of the boat. I believe there were 98 airline style seats. The price of the ticket included a luncheon buffet and open bar. Though the buffet was not anything special (chicken, fish, vegetables, salads and bread), there was certainly more than enough to satisfy us as we were traveling in the middle of the day. It was an extremely smooth, quiet ride that lasted about 1 1/2 hours.

Upon arrival in Tallinn, we took a taxi to the hotel. (We were able to exchange Euros for Estonian krones at the ferry building for the fare). The hotel was literally within sight of the ferry building, as we later learned, and the ride was all of two minutes. Needless to say, we walked to the ferry building for our return trip.

The hotel is located on the lower end of Pikk St., just a few feet from Fat Magaret's Tower along the wall surrounding the city. The reception area is small, but very charming. We were greeted immediately by a young, very nice staff member and within minutes were shown our rooms on the second floor. Our children stayed in twin bedded room 24. It was a mix of old world charm and modern hi-tech amenities. Flat screen TV with DVD player, a small but very sleek bathroom with a rainfall showerhead, good lighting and plenty of towels and toiletries. The single window faced the side street of the hotel and had a lovely view of a nearby church and other ancient buildings.

Our room, number 28, is actually pictured on the Tripadvisor website (click on the large photo under the hotel name and our room is the third thumbnail from the left). It was exactly as pictured. It was a very large room that faced Pikk St., one large and two small windows. Exposed brick, wooden beams and all kinds of architectural detailing. The king size bed was draped with gauze curtains that you could actually close and had plenty of plump down pillows. The room lighting was all controlled with a small remote (that I never did quite figure out) and the room was furnished with a sofa, coffe table, side and bedside tables, chair and ottoman, dining table with four chairs, and a flat screen TV/DVD combo. The toilet and bath facilities were in two different rooms. The room with the toilet and a basin and towels was actually right off the entrance to the room, a step down from the bedroom (much like a guest half bath in the U.S.) We left the light on and the door cracked a bit at night to shed a ray of light on the step so we wouldn't trip. The shower and bath were separate, modern and quite sleek. Again, plenty of towels and toiletries.

We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and readily available whenever we needed directions or dining recommendations. On the night of our arrival, they booked dinner at a fabulously chic Italian restaurant just 5 minutes walk up the street. Though the service was slow, the food was excellent and quite honestly, you couldn't have found a more lively, cosmopolitan setting in any major city of the world.

We ate breakfast in the hotel dining room each morning (part of the room rate) and enjoyed it immensely. Yes, the breakfast room was small, but we never had to wait and found the service to be swift and efficient. You coud more than adequately have a meal from just the cold buffet, but there were also cooked to order eggs, meats, pancakes, french toast, etc.

On our second evening we returned from dinner and wanted another bottle of wine in the wine cellar. It is a beautiful, very romantic vaulted room. There was no one there upon our arrival, but a quick trot up the steps to inquire at reception and a waiter appeared before my husband returned to the table. We enjoyed our wine and attentive service, feeling like the king and queen of our own castle.

Old Town Tallinn is made for walking - lovely squares, cobblestone streets and more sights and history than we could drink in over such a short stay. Our first stop was the local tourist office to see if we could arrange a tour, but we found we needed to make reservations further in advance (it would have been a combined tour, 1 hour on a bus and 1 hour on foot with a group of 45 others). The Tourist Office referred us to a private agency up the street and we were able to arrange a private 2 1/2 tour for the four of us the next morning for $100. What luck! Our guide was a native Estonian who had served as an interpreter for the Olympics and for Hillary Clinton when she visited. It was an intimate and generous 3 1/2 hours, a combination of straight history and the insights of a native who lived through WWII and the Soviet occupation.

We were in Tallinn on Tuesday and Wednesday nights, an attempt to avoid weekend crowds. Just our luck, there were four cruise ships in port and it was just crazy in the middle of the day! By early afternoon, most ships were preparing to depart and all was quiet again and wandering in the early twilight through the quiet streets was magical.

All in all, one of the best 36 hours we've spent in all of our travels. I would highly recommend the Three Sisters Hotel and Old Town Tallinn.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank aerofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2005

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at the Three Sisters. We had booked a Grand Deluxe room and were upgraded to a Junior Suite, which it was quite nice. The room decor was a bit strange but it did work:
they have mixed the old (lots of beams, barn like walls/ceilings, Victorian Claw baths...) with the new (very minimalist, scandinavian light coloured furniture, flat screens, modern wash basins...). Very trendy and very spacious. If you like dark heavy furniture and classically designed rooms, this hotel is not for you.

The staff was young and most helpful and everybody seem to recognize you and remember your room number. Although our stay was nearly perfect I found a couple of small negative things: first of all, breakfast. Their breakfast room is very small and have not got enough tables for all the guests. The first morning they did find us a table in the "private dining" room but the second one we had to wait nearly three quarters of an hour to be able to eat. Both days we found that the Continental breakfast buffet was very poor and we had to eat whatever was left from the early risers (they did not seem to replace any thing except the fruit juices). Luckily, they had cooked, a la carte breakfast as well, so it wasn't the end of the world.

Secondly, both nights we returned to the hotel for a drink before bedtime (at around 10 pm) and found the bar closed in both occasions, so if you like a lively atmosphere in the evenings, again, think of a different hotel.

Other than that, we would definitely recomend this hotel and would stay here if we did return to Tallinn.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Letssee125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2005

I'd highly recommend the three sisters hotel in Tallinn. The hotel is small "boutique" style hotel with an interesting mix of old world charm with wooden beams and stone arches but with the modern convenience of dvds and flat screen tvs. The bed was very comfortable as was the furniture in the room - a huge armchair and footrest to relax on and watch tv. My bathroom was a little on the small side with a strange sink which was difficult to use without spraying water everywhere. There are 23 different rooms so try and request one which appeals to you and your personal taste. The staff were extremely helpful. The only slight downside and it is very slight, is that the hotel is on the edge of the old city so it is about an 8 minute walk to the main square.

3  Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2005

We stayed at this hotel in October. A very interesting hotel in the old part of the city and our room was lovely - made from an old stable. The staff on reception are friendly but check-in was a nightmare, - they couldn't cope with 3 couples turning up to check-in at the same time.
Service generally was really poor - we waited 20 minutes in the library for a drink and gave up on trying to find somebody to pay for the drinks when we'd finished. When we told the receptionist what we'd done, she told us to wait (again).
I wouldn't return.

4  Thank Lulusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
hereford england
16
Reviewed 5 March 2005

the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. fabulous decor, wonderful library and lovey friendly staff. couldnt recommend highly enough. although beware that some rooms are located accross a small courtyard and not actually in the original three buildings. the hotels location was perfect and right inside the old medieval town centre. everything was within walking distance. i didnt find the hotel too expensive as we shopped around on the net and paid £170 each for three nights including extras charged to the room. we stayed in february and the snow made tallinn beautiful and i cant wait to go again!!! well done three sisters!!!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Sisters

Address: Tolli 2, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £111 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Three Sisters 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2003, three of the Tallinn's most famous trading houses, built in 1362, were renovated and united to create the building of The Three Sisters Hotel. We offer five-star level services in the setting of modern design contrasted with the medieval history. Our hotel located within the fortress walls of the Old Town allows you to feel the spirit of the old Hansa, without compromising style, comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Three Sisters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Tallinn
Hotel Three Sisters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing