We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed with friends and were really impressed with this quaint hotel. Our room was very clean, breakfast was really good and served in a traditional castle styled restaurant. Staff were really helpful. Location was superb, few minutes walk to main square - situated right next to city wall.
Slight downside was that there was no air conditioning so we had to leave windows open and there was some noise but nothing too bad. The weekend we picked to visit was the song and dance festival so city was very busy. Think this would be a great, cosy hotel for a winter break. Rooms varied in size - ours on second floor was very big but friends on 3rd floor room a lot smaller.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

I booked the hotel for a one night stay in Tallin not knowing what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were all really helpful, I had a great room and breakfast was a very rich assortment. The location is perfect for visiting the old city and it's about three minutes walk to the main square. Superb!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucharesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

There's not a lot to say that others haven't. It's not a large hotel and may not be the luxury hotel hinted at, but it is certainly a very nice smaller hotel with pleasant accommodating staff. At less than 70€, it was a real bargain. My room was not fancy, but more than adequate. It had a nice clean bathroom, a large comfortable bed and writing desk. There were two large windows that opened to the foot of Toompea Hill across the street. On one side of the hotel you could walk up the dozens of stairs to the old town overlook. You also had the option of walking up a cobbled ramp just a short distance away.

The breakfast buffet was large with several choices. The service in the breakfast room was especially efficient at clearing tables and making sure that enough food was available. There is also a restaurant, but I never ate there. I seldom saw people dining there.

Some have mentioned that it isn't in the old town. It is at the edge, but anything you want to see and eat is really just a couple minutes away. I found being away from noise of the center, made it quite desirable. I was able to sleep with the window open at night with no bothersome street noise. I heard no noise from the other rooms.

I did walk from the ferry, but it would have been easy...and probably more logical... to take the tram two stops to the train/tram station. The hotel is slightly uphill a couple blocks, through a park from the tram station. I took one tram to the long distance bus station upon leaving. I took the other tram to Kadriorg Park where the new Kumu Art Museum is. I have to admit the area right near the train and tram station is a bit shabby. There are tunnels under the busy street to get to the station that might feel uncomfortable at night, but there were plenty of people using them during the day.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFFtravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This was a wonderfully friendly hotel. The reception desk staff went out of their way to organise trips for us and keep us informed about the volcano ash cloud. The hotel is very central but quiet. Breakfast in the morning is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suasog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

the hotel is not a 4 star by parisian standards but more like a 3 star elegant classical boutique hotel. Beds are super comfortable, bathroom was nothing special but good powerful shower, good products and all renovated. Breakfast is excellent from nice big chunky salmon slices to english breakfast, fresh fruits and juices etc. a wonderful wide choice of massages too at reasonable rates and my greatest dissappointmeny was not having enough time to try even one of them!! it seems to be their speciality. very conveniently situated in the old town but no noisy bars outside :) the only downside was that wifi wasnt reaching my room so they offered a cable but i chose to take computer downstairs to work.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The Tallinn Baltic Imperial is a warm and welcoming small hotel in an ideal location in Tallinn. The staff are friendly and helpful and the choice of breakfast food extensive and plentiful. The hotel bar is comfortable and competitively priced and the food in the restaurant exceptional. A 20% discount in the restaurant is a significant bonus as it is relatively expensive. Our room was small but perfectly adequate.

Our only criticism is that internet connection in the room (which requires a cable provided by the hotel) is very slow.

We recommend a nearby restaurant Vanaema Juures (Grandmother's Place) at Rataskaevu 10 - wonderful food at a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisyjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 1 night in August 2010; we booked a double room on the hotel website. The hotel staff gave us a beautiful room, with a special style at the same time comfortable and romantic. The Hotel has a good position in a quiet area near the old town (5 minutes on foot). We had breakfast in the hotel, very good and copious, in a beautiful room with a delightful medieval environment . Moreover the hotel has a free computer for guests. The supermarket (Rimi) is very far (15-20 minutes on foot from the hotel), near the Bern Hotel. You can go through Tallin centre on footh, it needs 1-2 days to see the most interesting attractions.
Finally we really suggest this hotel to stay in Tallin because of its position, the price (not expensive) and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaPneum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 86 in Tallinn
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#30 of 86 in Tallinn
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.2 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#18 of 86 in Tallinn
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Baltic Hotel Imperial)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £61 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel building is from 1877. It was erected against the city wall which is a late phenomenon in historical tradition. In the contemporary organization of the city it was strategically important from the perspective of protecting the city to leave a free space between the city wall and the buildings. The first data about the dwellings being built against the city wall states 17th century when the city wall started to lose its strategic importance over the bastions. No extensive reconstruction has been done in the building, but throughout times an attempt has been made to preserve everything historically valuable. On the second half of the 19th century, the building was owned by family von Stackelbergs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing