We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sewage smell in rooms and poor breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baltic Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baltic Hotel Imperial
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sewage smell in rooms and poor breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just a quick review. I experienced the same problems that others mentioned. There is a drain in the bathroom which overflows when the bath is used and the resulting smell is of rotten egg and sewage. Very unpleasant but slept with door closed. Breakfast is poor and I found it odd that potatoes and vegetables were in a heater next to fried eggs and under cooked bacon. There were no tea or coffee facilities (no kettle) in the room and the mini bar was quite expensive. 1 can of lager was 4 Euro for a brand that retails in Rimi for 67 cents. On a positive note, the female staff member who works the front desk is friendly and helpful. This was nice as the other staff did not break a smile even when a hello or morning was passed their way. The trainee chap who works the front desk sighed on checking me out, tried to overcharge me for the minibar and stared perplexed at my credit card as if I had tried to pay with a slice of cheese. He again did not break a smile, made me feel like I was hassling him to check me out and was generally miserable.

This was only a short cheap break. But I expect to be made to feel welcome and at least have a smile thrown my way at least once during a 5 day stay.

Just remembered as well that they charged for use of the sauna!! I have visited 8 countries this year and none of the hotels have charged extra for this type of service. Pretty poor show really.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acupuncturistuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    170
    60
    14
    6
See reviews for
64
197
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at the end of February 2013 for 5 nights. Having read previous reviews we were concerned about how cold the room would be but there was no need to worry as the large room was very cozy indeed. Being a side room it was also very quiet but that may have also been down to it being -14'C at night!! The hotels location is great, a 5 minute walk from the airport bus stop outside the train station, and a short walk to the Town Hall square and the old town attractions. Staff were very helpful and friendly,making some great recommendations for a day trips around Tallinn. Breakfast was good with some excellent fish dishes- salmon , smoked eel and sprats, lovely cut ham and cheeses.The only complaint I would have was the lack of black tea at breakfast on the first day, plently of green and fruit teas but no black. However mentioning this to the staff it was remedied for the next day - result!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side of the hotel, great mix of old brick stonework and modern flat screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplySi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

I'll start at the begining, the hotel was easy to get to from the airport (its a 5 min walk from the train station if you use public transport) and the taxi dropped us off directly outside.
The location is great in the old town a short walk from everything.
My room was at the front of the hotel and it was quiet (apart from the early morning bin men one morning) my brothers room was at the back and it was super quiet. Both rooms were clean and tidy, if not a little small, unfortunatley my room had an occassional smell of sewage from the bathroom, by brothers room had no such problem.
I had a super comfy bed, although my brother had a really soft bed with a dip in the middle which wasn't comfortable at all.

The hotel staff were really unfriendly, no smiles, no 'have a nice stay' at check in and no 'did you have a nice stay' at check out, in fact no one from the hotel spoke to us during ourwhole stay. We asked to see the sauna area and this was conducted without one word being spoken.

The breakfast was ok but not super.

The hotel is good value for money, but, would benefit from better service and because of this I would not return. The location is its selling point, central without being noisey.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUEY69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Service was ok, Bed was one of the best i've slept. That's about it. Breakfast was bad, everything tasted like cardboard. Room had all the time an odor from bathroom. Stink like sewer. Good luck if you made reservation. I hope the stink is gone before you get there. There is also sauna/spa section but we didn't try that

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EihMrJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in January 2013 for 5 nights. The situation is great- a 5 minute walk from the airport bus stop at the train station, and a 5 minute walk to the Town Hall square. The room wasn't large but had all we needed; a kettle was the only thing that was missing. Staff were very helpful and made some great recommendations for a day trip outside Tallinn.Breakfast was good with some excellent fish dishes- salmon , smoked eel and sprats (if that's your thing at 9 in the morning!!).The only complaint was the hot dishes - the fried eggs had been cooked a long time in advance of breakfast and weren't very nice. We got a great price off Expedia of around £50 a night but it is the off season, and the prices will be a lot more in summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel located next to the old town wall. We got very spacious room with views to small square. Only minus comes from the smell of sewer in our bathroom. Building is very old but nicely renovated and decorated.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pekka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#30 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltic Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Hotel Imperial

Property: Baltic Hotel Imperial
Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltic Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Baltic Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing