We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better!”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My parents and I stayed at this Hotel in July 2012 and, regrettably, we did not leave a review on Trip Advisor. Our stay, at this time, was nothing short of 'perfect' and when planning another trip to Tallinn our rooms were booked at the Imperial before our flights!

Yes, my expectations were high but we found the staff, service and amenities even better than last year! Our numbers increased to 8 this year (3 rooms) and between us nothing could be faulted. Comments from our group included 'Friendly staff', 'Great food', 'Perfect location' and 'We will be back!'

I did witness another quest complaining about the early morning street noise, but the staff handled the complaint in a very professional manner. On the matter of street noise, this may be compounded by the need to sleep with the windows open on warmer nights in order to offset the limited room ventilation from time to time.

Yes, we will be back!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent four nights here in June 2013. We had a room on the 2nd floor. It was a comfortable room, neat, tidy, reasonably sized with a view of the side lane and a garden of a church residence (at least that is what we think it was. We had no problems with noise or smells as reported from previous critics. Our only real enduring problem was that it has centralised air-conditioning which keeps the corridors nicely cool while the rooms remain too hot. We were present at reception when another tenant from the 3rd floor complained about this feature and was treated a little rudely for doing so. The routine ongoing maintenance left a little to be desired - one of the curtains was only half-hung, and obviously so, letting the daylight pour in. As duration between sunset and sunrise was only four hours this proved to be a real annoyance on our first night. Less obvious was the problem that the shower clamp was not working so the nozzle had to be used only by hand. We reported both these problems the next morning and, to the hotel's credit, both were corrected before we returned to our room later in the day. The regular front office staff do not start until 0900 and the night manager/attendant seemed to be unskilled of uninformed in some basic aspects. This is an area needing improvement.
Great breakfast offering with very considerate and attentive staff.. The hotel also features a "pubi" which provides good, reasonably priced meals and some fancy, hand-made chocolate offerings.
The hotel is well situated to the old city being on the boundary of the original city wall. In fact, contrary to the Lonely Planet guide, the best gateway in the wall is just behind the hotel, There are also two very reasonably priced coffee shop/bakeries opposite the hotel. Once you go into the old city you'll be offered a lot less for far more cost. Reception staff English language skills are just acceptable but care needs to be taken. Serving staff have excellent skills in this area.
We rate this hotel as a 3 mainly because tenants are unable to have any control over the temperature of their rooms and the centralised cooling was clearly deficient in the rooms. Its best feature is its proximity to the old city so I'd recommend it for tourists. For business, I'd choose elsewhere.

Room Tip: From the various comments, I'd recommend a room inspection, prior to confirming, if possible. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalkaboutAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed 3 night in April 2013. Great location, easy walking distance to a huge variety of attractions. We had a junior suite located in the roof which was clean and tidy but would get a lot more room if they ditched the curtains which protruded into the room because of the angle of the ceiling. Amenities were very good. Restaurant had a good variety of food and breakfast was terrific.

Room Tip: There can be a lot of noise from party goes on their way home early in the morning so maybe request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777Fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Best location in old town, calm and beutiful. But the hotel did smell mold, everywhere... Breakfast was allright but coffee looked more like tea. Close to airport and nice hipster neigbourhood Kalamaja. Fine for a weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JockeSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is not the cheapest hotel in Tallinn, but is still good value as it sits right at one of the main entrances to the 'Old Town'. There is an excellent breakfast and free wifi and the reception staff are all really helpful and knowledgeable. With the Old Town right on the doorstep it's a really convenient place from which to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yambatrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

There are some minors flaws to this hotel, but overall it is very nice, perfectly located in the old town of Tallinn. The rooms could be more sound proof, and the slight smell of sewage is annoying, but the main impression is positive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights. The personnel very very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cozy. The breakfast is good with several kinds of cold fish (salmon, herring etc.), normal cheese, sausage, ham, and so on. It also contains good selection of warm food. Special thanks to good variety of sweet cakes. The only thing I was missing ware fruits and vegetables but altogether the breakfast was much better than I have experienced in hotels in the same price category.

The only thing that annoyed us were the ringing sound from the helical stairs leading from the restaurant to third floor. The sound could easily been heard during evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible from the stairs from restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuusoHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,745 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#14 of 86 in Tallinn
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#19 of 86 in Tallinn
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Baltic Hotel Imperial)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £57 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel building is from 1877. It was erected against the city wall which is a late phenomenon in historical tradition. In the contemporary organization of the city it was strategically important from the perspective of protecting the city to leave a free space between the city wall and the buildings. The first data about the dwellings being built against the city wall states 17th century when the city wall started to lose its strategic importance over the bastions. No extensive reconstruction has been done in the building, but throughout times an attempt has been made to preserve everything historically valuable. On the second half of the 19th century, the building was owned by family von Stackelbergs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing