We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2008

This hotel stands on the nothern part of the old town within Tallinn. On arrival from the airport, I chose to get a bus, I got the number 2, which stops right outside arrivals, into the city centre and alighted at A.Laikmaa, but you could also get off at the Reisisadam port, the final stop to get to the hotel.

The hotel itself stands on Nunne, which is a beautiful street really near to all the attractions of the old town. It stands at the base of Toompea hill and the castle, which is an obvious advantage and a great sight to see when you look out of your hotel in the morning!

I couldn't fault the service in the hotel, it was top standard. My room wasn't the biggest but more than satisfactory for a single person. The feel of the place is added to by the inclusion of some of the old city walls, which actually run through the hotel!

There's a bar connected which serves good quality food also. Unlike the previous reviewer, I didn't find that they didn't want me there. Also there is the cheese restaurant if you fancy a nibble of that!

The bathroom facilities were of a high standard with everything you'd need. The TV offers a huge selection of stations in all languages, if you should get caught out with the weather! Nearby are some of the best restaurants, you won't go hungry!

When I return to Tallinn, this is going to be an obvious choice for me.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SarkaCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2008

this hotel set the scene for our one night stay in Tallin on a Baltic excursion. The staff spoke excellent english, (We could greet and say thank you in Estonian which helped) Everything was in walking distance. The Old town square was 15 minutes away, the old fort on the hill behind the hotel. Somehow we got a bit lost coming back down. The hotel is actually built into the wall. The rooms are a good size (bigger than a lot in Europe) and very clean. The breakfast had an excellent choice, served in a very comfortable bar area.

Shop around before buying souveneers, the price variation is quite dramatic. The nests of dolls and amber jeweller are particuarly nice. Shop around for hotel prices, as the price "over the counter" was a lot lower than we got from the travel agent.

A very nice comfortable and clean hotel. Beware the Tallin taxi drivers. It's best to have local currancy or they will seek Euros at "their rate". Currancy is also necessary at the lace etc stalls in the market by the city wall.

The bloody history of the place makes you pause for more than the odd moment!

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Just got back from Tallinn. Had a great time.
The hotel is in an ideal location 2 mins walk from the centre of the Old Town.
The rooms are spacious and hotel is very clean and tidy.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FAFTAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We decided to take advantage of the lower prices in Tallin compared with Sweden and Finland and to stay in a somewhat more luxurious hotel. The Baltic Hotel Imperial did not disappoint. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished, and the large, modern bathroom featured a huge bathtub. Breakfast offered the usual spread of food, but served in more pleasant surroundings than usual: a comfortable and spacious room of the hotel restaurant.

The hotel is located along the old city walls (in fact, the wall ran down one side of the corridor leading to our room) at the foot of the Toompea, making it convenient for tromping around to the sights. It did prove to be a somewhat longer walk from the ferry docks than we had expected, and I would advise taking a taxi if you're not feeling up to a brisk walk with your bags. If you do walk with luggage, don't go through the old town and its confusing maze of cobbled streets -- make your way around outside the walls where you can stay on modern paving!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Charming hotel on the edge of the old town area. Staff friendly & the reception was run very efficiently.
Tastefully renovated to blend into the old town wall.
However, an important part of a hotel stay, are the beds. I found the beds here, uncomfortable, not supportive & had a very thin mattress. Also no wardrobe to hang your clothes-just a 25mm piece of copper pipe with a few coat hangers ! The beds & the "wardrobe" are the things you expect in a two star hotel, not 4 star. It's a great shame as the Baltic Imperial has the potential to be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Narrabeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

This is a really nice hotel centrally but quietly located. I have seen other reviews criticising breakfast but when I was there it was great.

Staff were pleasant and helpful.

The room didn't have a bath which is perhaps unusual for a four star hotel

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank stuartdNewburyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night in March 2008. We were allocated a room on the second floor (Room 204) overlooking the main street below. The room was very light and exceptionally clean. It turned out to be a single (wheelchair accessible) room after we noticed that the bed was not a full double and there was only one bath towel in the bathroom, however it was sufficient for us.

Check-in was friendly and efficient, and all the staff spoke excellent English. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre where the airport bus drops you off. If you arrive this way, stop in at the huge Viru shopping centre where there is a very helpful Tourist Information Bureau. Continue towards the old town (and hotel) along Viru St.

The only negative experience we had with the hotel was from very noisy people during the night. There is a restaurant / pub downstairs attached to the hotel and when it closed at 2am, the drunken noise from the people waiting in the hotel foyer for taxis, etc, woke us up and kept us awake. The noise travelled up the stairs from the foyer to our room. If you are in a room far away from the stairwell / lift then this may not be a problem.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant / pub area and was ok. Toast, cheese, cold meats, boiled eggs, omelette, sausage, etc along with cereals, tea, coffee and juice. Don't eat the oatmeal unless you like it salty!

There are two bakeries across the road from the hotel's front door. We chose the one to the left and it was superb! We went back the next day for more. For dinner we ate at "al Sole" which is an Italian restaurant on the main street from the old town to the Viru centre (Viru Street?), opposite the Salamander shoe store. From outside it looks quite posh but their prices were cheap (personally I found Tallinn quite expensive), the environment stylish, service good, and food great! Therefore, great value. They have a pizzeria next door (by the same name) which I'm sure would be a little bit cheaper again, but not offer the full menu.

We would most definitely stay at the Baltic Hotel Imperial again, but insist on a quieter room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 86 in Tallinn
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#30 of 86 in Tallinn
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 86 in Tallinn
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Baltic Hotel Imperial)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £60 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel building is from 1877. It was erected against the city wall which is a late phenomenon in historical tradition. In the contemporary organization of the city it was strategically important from the perspective of protecting the city to leave a free space between the city wall and the buildings. The first data about the dwellings being built against the city wall states 17th century when the city wall started to lose its strategic importance over the bastions. No extensive reconstruction has been done in the building, but throughout times an attempt has been made to preserve everything historically valuable. On the second half of the 19th century, the building was owned by family von Stackelbergs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing