We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good staff, nothing fancy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Overijssel
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good location, good staff, nothing fancy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

This hotel is promoted as a 4 or even a 5 star hotel, but compared to West-Europe or Asia, it is more like a 3 star hotel. Staff is really friendly. It is close (5-10 minutes taxi-ride) to the Vikingline ferry. By the way: don't be cheated by taxi-drivers and always ask them to turn on the meter.

Breakfast was good, but nothing execptional. The hote is on the edge of the city centre. Tallinn can be easily visited on foot. View from the hotel room was great. (Although our friend who stayed in another room had a wall view room. :) ) I give it 4 stars, because I think you have to see it in proportion to the country, with all respect.

The Olde Hanse restaurant is hyped in reviews, but we had a very dissapointing experience. Okay, the staff is friendly and the theme is nice, but the food and wine were terrible. I can recommend restaurant Ribe.

If you wan't to visit a "wrong" club, go to the Venus Club and drink some Finlandia Vodka. :)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    174
    62
    14
    6
See reviews for
65
203
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

The best thing about this hotel is its fantastic location, within the city walls and a very short distance from the main square and all the attractions. At the same time it is very quiet and peaceful.

Our room, while not very large, was adequate. Breakfast was good, although due to the length of our stay (ten days) we would have appreciated a little more variety.

Two things I would have reservations about. The bathtub was quite narrow, and very slippery. We always felt a bit apprehensive when stepping in or out. The second thing is, although every room had its own internet connection, there was no PC made available to customers in the common areas. I think it would be a good idea to provide such a service, especially considering there are very, very few internet cafés in the Old Town, and not everybody feels like bringing a laptop on holiday.

All in all, however, I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

OK, so you can pay to stay in a chain hotel but you won't find them inside the old town area and you won't find them as friendly as the Imperial. The location is second to none, being just a 2 minute walk to the town square. The hotel is situated just next to the old town walls (actually, the wall runs through the hotel).

Check-in was quick and easy. The receptionist sits behind a big desk at the far end of the room which is quite atmospheric in the medieval style.

The room was large with a bath and not a shower, which was spotless. There was plenty of room for our daughter's fold-out bed - although we had to ask for an extra matress which they were happy to provide.

Breakfast was superb with a hot selection of potatoes, sausages, eggs and bacon, waffles, cereals and pastries, bread/toast, meats/cheeses and herring.

The breakfast is provided in the cheese restaurant which is again decorated in a medieval style - although a little over-the-top perhaps.

We had a sandwich in the "pub" which was very quiet - perhaps due to the fact that it was February.

A very highly recommended hotel which will provide a great base for the old town and Toompea.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlunR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed in the Baltic Imperial over the Christmas break in 2008. Excellent location at the edge of the old town which is within walking distance to the main square and convenient for most of the sights, shops and restaurants.

The service at the hotel is excellent. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The room we were in was of reasonable size, clean and comfortable. The shower stall was rather small but the heated floor, bathrobes and comfy beds made up for it!

Breakfast was good. There were options to order pancakes and eggs ala carte aside from the buffet spread. We were there for 5 nights and after the first 2 mornings, the waitress recognized us and we didn't even have to provide our room numbers. Great service throughout!

  • Liked — Good service throughout
  • Disliked — Small shower stall
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VBPUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

I really loved this hotel! The location was perfect! Not far from the old town at all and very close to all the good eating places. We tried everything - Old Hansa, Troike, Peppersack, another one with a Pig holding a beer...All great restaurants...The hotel restaurant was really good as well...

The room was comfortable although a little small especially the shower but it was fine. The service was great. Check in was easy and smooth. Breakfast was very good - there was a few things to choose from. I am lactose intolerant and every morning would ask them to make me oats with hot water and they did that just fine.

We were very happy with this hotel and would recommend this very happily to anyone. And we would go back and stay there as well if we ever return to Tallinn again.

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Disliked — The smallness of the room and the shower
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller01London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

Check in was effortless and friendly, staff spoke excellent Englishand were happy to give us information on events in the city. I was not too keen on the room we were given as it overlooked the road and I am a very light sleeper but we were cheerfully offered another room at the back of the hotels which was very peaceful.

The rooms do differ in size but ours was fine and immacculately clean. The bed was really comfortable and the large puffy pillows to die for! The thick towelling bath robes a nice touch. Yes we did have a copper rail for our clothes but plenty of hangers so it was no problem.

We met our friends in the hotel pub and were made welcome by the young barman who stoked up the fire for us and reccommended a spicy vodka after our day in the fresh air.

The breakfast buffet was the usual scandinavian cereals/cold meats/fish/hot plate but regularly replenished and the waiter happy to make me a fresh waffle after I tried to do it myself and nearly ruined his machine. Next morning he smilingly presented me with a perfect waffle!

The Baltic is perfectly situated in the old town and our visit was made even more special by the Christmas Market in the town square.

We loved our 3 days in Tallinn and found the people to be open and friendly. Try to visit the museum of the occupation and see what a tough time Estonia had in the past.

We have already recommended the Baltic to our Australian friends visiting the area next summer.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etchinghiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

We were really impressed with this hotel. The location is a very short stroll from the centre of the old town, although pretty much any hotel in the old town isn't going to be far from the center. Our room (314) was very spacious and had part of the old town wall as a feature down one side. It was also spotlessly clean.

Suprised at the lack of Brit tourists in Tallin and in the hotel, most seemed to be Finnish, but the staff all had good enough English. The food in the adjoing 'Cheese' resturant was OK and breakfast was plentiful and was better than I expected having read some reviews.

Would have no problem in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fbass30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Baltic Hotel Imperial)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel building is from 1877. It was erected against the city wall which is a late phenomenon in historical tradition. In the contemporary organization of the city it was strategically important from the perspective of protecting the city to leave a free space between the city wall and the buildings. The first data about the dwellings being built against the city wall states 17th century when the city wall started to lose its strategic importance over the bastions. No extensive reconstruction has been done in the building, but throughout times an attempt has been made to preserve everything historically valuable. On the second half of the 19th century, the building was owned by family von Stackelbergs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing