We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything nearby”
Review of Economy Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Economy Hotell
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The hotel is basic but it is clean. There is plenty of choice for breakfast, but don't expect a fry up if you're English. It was bitterly cold outside but inside the hotel is lovely and warm. Had to turn down the heating in the bedroom at night. Internet access is free. Friendly staff. They are refurbishing it at the moment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LC67Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had a winter break for two nights in my favourite city Tallinn, as usual my choice was the Economy Hotel having been there at least five times there are no surprises.
The staff are fantastic I have not had a stay in any hotel that I feel so much at home in.
It was minus 11deg both days it was my first winter experience but got around without any problems.
If you are going to Tallinn consider the Economy Hotel it is very clean with a tram stop at the door.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonaldJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This former Soviet style railroad hotel used to be called Skane. It has survived with some nice changes, but the rooms have not improved a lot. But € 25 a nightis a steal in this city even with the mediocre breakfast. The location is good: outside the hustle and bustle of the very touristic old town but well within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avdij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I recently got back from a 6 night stay at this hotel. It was very good value for money but I would not book breakfast again because first day breakfast was great, all days after that I was the only person who was booked in for breakfast so catering staff did not bother coming in and had left me a pack lunch of nasty yoghurt, cheap small oranger carton and twice i got salami and pickled cucumber sandwiches that had been made the day before, so save your money, i paid an extra £30 for this privilage.

Wifi is good in reception but near useless in some of the bedrooms so I feel should be advertised as such not all over the hotel as is advertised now. Rooms were being repainted whilst I stayed but using a drill on the wall in the room next door at 8am is not appreciated.

Staff very friendly and helped with queries eg phoning taxis best they can.

Also restaurant next door but one is very reasonable and good quality if limited in the menu dept.

Went with hotel4u and got a good deal.

Room Tip: If needing wifi ask for one near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fazza994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have now stayed twice in the Economy Hotel (it has changed its name from the Skane Hotel in the last two years). Both times were comfortable, and very good value (first night I arrived very late and I ended up having to fork out over £100 for a room in a skyscraper where I could barely see the ground - hideous!). I decamped to the Skane next day (now Economy), got 3 nights for what I previously paid for 1 and felt a whole lot happier! Very close to the Old Town, rooms are a decent size with stripped floorboards, which I like ,and free internet. Why can't other European cities do such good value like this?!

No breakfast might be a drawback but it is a reason why it is such good value. There is a cafe over the road where you can get a reasonably priced breakfast or snack all day. The trains fire up very early outside the hotel. I loved it myself, some might not though and should ask for a room toward the back if they suspect they would not.

If in Tallinn a few days you can do another country very cheaply indeed. Come out of the hotel, turn left and follow the main road to the ferry terminal, less than a quarter of an hour walk. A day return to Helsinki, FInland, is less than £30 and takes less than 2 hours. Go early and you can have a whole day in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lionel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A very nice hotel for such price.
An alcohol shop is just in 20m from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max_Izmaylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We were in Tallinn with some friends and we had a little problem with an other hotel in the city, so we had to find a new one near from the old town and we found this.

Pretty basic, little hotel with a good location. Next to railwaystation and only couple of minutes walk to the old town.

Breakfast was really basic; coffee, bread and yoghurt, but when the price was very low, we didn´t expect nothing special from breakfast.

If you stay in Tallinn like one or couple nights I could recommend this hotel to you!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saku t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
1,110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#45 of 86 in Tallinn
83 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#19 of 86 in Tallinn
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotell

Address: Kopli 2c | Kalamaja, Tallinn 10412, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £23 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotell 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the most affordable accommodation option in Tallinn. Choose Economy Hotell for your next stay in the historically and culturally rich capital of Estonia. Our hotel is the simple solution for convenient accommodations in Tallinn with a personal approach to quality service. We offer a variety of rooms housed in a historical house, built at the end of the 18th century. We are conveniently located just 3 minutes away from the city's Historic Center, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Whether you arrive by bus, train, ferry or airplane, you're never far from our central location. We are located just 10 minutes from public transit and an easy 5 minute drive from the airport. Our hotel offers everything you need for a convenient stay in Tallinn. Hotel features & amenities: 40 Guestrooms Free Wi-Fi Onsite restaurant & bar Lounge area Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Economy Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotell Hotel Tallinn
Skane Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing