We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the Price.”
Review of Economy Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Economy Hotell
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Me and a group of friends travelled to Tallinn with no expectations what so ever. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the pleasant staff, who were happy to advise us with train/tram times and best ways to get around the city.

The hotel was clean as a whistle, and some of the rooms (particularly the ones on the end of the corridor) were really generous with space. There was a mini-bar behind reception which was open 24 hours, and the enthusiastic staff (considering their wage) spoke good English.

In relation to the City centre the hotel was really handy. It was located just outside the Old Town which we scoured for 4 days. The new part of the city is just the other side of the Old Town but is not as enjoyable as the Old Town. Outside the hotel is the bus station. It only costs 2 Euro on the bus to the airport.

Ask for a map at reception it will help you get a lot of things in a small space of time.

If I go again, I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinnyIngram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

As the title says! Stayed here for four nights. The hotel is quite basic and no frills ie no toiletries in the bathroom,hairdryer etc but it was perfectly adaquate for our needs. A comfy bed, a TV and a cleaner everyday. The receptionist was lovely and helpful and told us step by step how to get the bus to Parnu her home town and was genuinely interested to hear about it on our return. It is aso in a great location next to the train station and close to where the 90k bus stop is (90k is the bus from outside the airport). The trams can be a little noisy but it was never a problem. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I chose this hotel as it seemed close to everything we needed. Infact the hotel was so close to everything you will need for a short city break, literally 5 minutes strole from the old town with the bus station & tram stops on the opposite side of the road. The outside of the hotel looks rather basic & boring but when you walk into reception you get a warm welcome, the staff being helpful & friendly.The room we had was on the small side but was clean, warm with nice white clean looking bathroom.
There is a two hour time difference (ahead of UK) but they make the breakfast an hour later on the weekends which is a good idea as gives you time to chill & relax before a days exploring. When you do get yourself down the breakfast it is harty enough for a good start to the day & to keep you going well into the day.
Downside As it is a cheap hotel & you get alot of 'stag' parties in Tallin, the hotel can get idiots running around drunk late/early after a big night out! This said.. it didnt disturb us too much.

Room Tip: On seeing into other rooms the twin rooms seemed to be on the larger size, if you dont mind the beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcp1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

well this is on old treehouse, and its near the russian marketplace so go and look. But the area Kopli can be danger by night. I like this small wooden hotel, and the noice of trams.

Room Tip: take the room 216;its for 2 persons and nice window;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmenHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived at the Airport, got on the shuttle bus (2 Euros), which dropped us off about 100 yards from the Hotel (stop 8, the driver tells you!), and made our way in. The receptionists were very helpful at all times, and even the room cleaner (daily) always waited patiently for us to leave before asking to come in, unlike some Hotels.
The room itself was basic (very warm, we had to turn the heating down!), but adequate with a very good shower and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was good, with a selection of cereals including porridge (made with salt, so don't put sugar on as I did!), as well as eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheese and some pickles for those who like that sort of thing. Also there was unlimited toast and jam, and good freshly made coffee.
Internet use is free, although when the hotel is full 1 computer may not be enough. The Hotel was being redecorated while we were there but the workmen did not bother us at all.
Transport was excellent, with a Tram stop just over the road, trams come about every 4 minutes and make very little sound. The bus stop was about 100 yards away, and there was even a main line railway station just up the road! Public Transport in Tallinn is excellent, and I would recommend Tallinn Cards which can be bought online in advance, picked up at your Hotel reception, and cover all Public Transport costs, and give free entry to most museums, and the bus tours of the city.
In conclusion, Economy Hotell is a well located, very reasonably priced Hotel, with helpful staff and comfortable rooms. What else do you need?

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the Hotel, it may not be as quiet in Summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The hotel is basic but it is clean. There is plenty of choice for breakfast, but don't expect a fry up if you're English. It was bitterly cold outside but inside the hotel is lovely and warm. Had to turn down the heating in the bedroom at night. Internet access is free. Friendly staff. They are refurbishing it at the moment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LC67Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had a winter break for two nights in my favourite city Tallinn, as usual my choice was the Economy Hotel having been there at least five times there are no surprises.
The staff are fantastic I have not had a stay in any hotel that I feel so much at home in.
It was minus 11deg both days it was my first winter experience but got around without any problems.
If you are going to Tallinn consider the Economy Hotel it is very clean with a tram stop at the door.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonaldJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#32 of 86 in Tallinn
1,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
703 reviews
0.7 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#48 of 86 in Tallinn
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#15 of 86 in Tallinn
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotell

Address: Kopli 2c | Kalamaja, Tallinn 10412, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £27 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotell 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the most affordable accommodation option in Tallinn. Choose Economy Hotell for your next stay in the historically and culturally rich capital of Estonia. Our hotel is the simple solution for convenient accommodations in Tallinn with a personal approach to quality service. We offer a variety of rooms housed in a historical house, built at the end of the 18th century. We are conveniently located just 3 minutes away from the city's Historic Center, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Whether you arrive by bus, train, ferry or airplane, you're never far from our central location. We are located just 10 minutes from public transit and an easy 5 minute drive from the airport. Our hotel offers everything you need for a convenient stay in Tallinn. Hotel features & amenities: 40 Guestrooms Free Wi-Fi Onsite restaurant & bar Lounge area Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Economy Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotell Hotel Tallinn
Skane Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing