We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small price - great value - friendly staff”
Review of Economy Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Economy Hotell
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small price – great value - friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel is located just behind the railway station and you just have to cross the station to arrive in the old city centre.
As we booked our room online with a promotion, we got great value for small money (30 euro/night)
Our room was simple; spacious and clean, bathroom was small. We did not take breakfast, as Tallinn is full of great bakery shops offering coffee with anything you like from the shop.
To be recommended if you look for a well located, bright and friendly place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    320
    114
    29
    15
See reviews for
91
197
175
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I agree with what pretty much everyone else has said. We stayed here for 2 nights for 30 Euros/night. We got incredible value for money. We were on the third floor and had a nice little room with an opening window. The bathroom was compact and clean and the whole hotel is non smoking which is great. There's a little alcohol store next door where you can buy water, soft drinks and alcohol. It's right next to the tram stop and the main train station, and it's about a 15 minute walk to the ferry. And it is a 5 minute walk to the old town, so you really couldn't ask for a better spot. The staff are very helpful and there's a computer in the lounge area downstairs.

The room is basic, but clean. Towels are included, but there are no toiletries (other than a soap/body wash dispenser). There are a couple of channels in English on the TV. The only things to be aware of are that it can get quite warm in the room in the summer (we had days in the high 20 degrees celsius) and even with the window open it was quite warm (and of course, with the window open you got all the noises from the trams and the street). The other thing to note is that the bed is a bit squeaky, but honestly, at such a price, who cares?!

All in all, excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerKRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed in a triple room in this hotel for 1 night during our Russia & Baltic trip. We were happy that we paid a very good price for this room through an online booking agent.

The hotel is located behind the Tallinn Railway Station which is reachable by the airport bus no. 90K. The bus stop is 100 yards from the hotel doorstep. Tram stop with 2 tramlines is also right in front of the hotel. It’s only 5 minutes’ walk to the Tallinn old town, so it has a perfect location. The triple room we had were on the top floor (3/F) of the building, very spacious, clean and comfortable though basic. The receptionist was also friendly and helpful.

I was happy to have stayed in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, God's Country
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Me and a group of friends travelled to Tallinn with no expectations what so ever. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the pleasant staff, who were happy to advise us with train/tram times and best ways to get around the city.

The hotel was clean as a whistle, and some of the rooms (particularly the ones on the end of the corridor) were really generous with space. There was a mini-bar behind reception which was open 24 hours, and the enthusiastic staff (considering their wage) spoke good English.

In relation to the City centre the hotel was really handy. It was located just outside the Old Town which we scoured for 4 days. The new part of the city is just the other side of the Old Town but is not as enjoyable as the Old Town. Outside the hotel is the bus station. It only costs 2 Euro on the bus to the airport.

Ask for a map at reception it will help you get a lot of things in a small space of time.

If I go again, I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnyIngram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

As the title says! Stayed here for four nights. The hotel is quite basic and no frills ie no toiletries in the bathroom,hairdryer etc but it was perfectly adaquate for our needs. A comfy bed, a TV and a cleaner everyday. The receptionist was lovely and helpful and told us step by step how to get the bus to Parnu her home town and was genuinely interested to hear about it on our return. It is aso in a great location next to the train station and close to where the 90k bus stop is (90k is the bus from outside the airport). The trams can be a little noisy but it was never a problem. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I chose this hotel as it seemed close to everything we needed. Infact the hotel was so close to everything you will need for a short city break, literally 5 minutes strole from the old town with the bus station & tram stops on the opposite side of the road. The outside of the hotel looks rather basic & boring but when you walk into reception you get a warm welcome, the staff being helpful & friendly.The room we had was on the small side but was clean, warm with nice white clean looking bathroom.
There is a two hour time difference (ahead of UK) but they make the breakfast an hour later on the weekends which is a good idea as gives you time to chill & relax before a days exploring. When you do get yourself down the breakfast it is harty enough for a good start to the day & to keep you going well into the day.
Downside As it is a cheap hotel & you get alot of 'stag' parties in Tallin, the hotel can get idiots running around drunk late/early after a big night out! This said.. it didnt disturb us too much.

Room Tip: On seeing into other rooms the twin rooms seemed to be on the larger size, if you dont mind the beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcp1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

well this is on old treehouse, and its near the russian marketplace so go and look. But the area Kopli can be danger by night. I like this small wooden hotel, and the noice of trams.

Room Tip: take the room 216;its for 2 persons and nice window;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmenHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#33 of 83 in Tallinn
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#24 of 83 in Tallinn
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#43 of 83 in Tallinn
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotell

Property: Economy Hotell
Address: Kopli 2c | Kalamaja, Tallinn 10412, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotell 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the most affordable accommodation option in Tallin. Choose Economy Hotell for your next stay in the historically and culturally rich capital of Estonia. Our hotel is the simple solution for convenient accommodations in Tallinn with a personal approach to quality service. We offer a variety of rooms housed in a historical house, built at the end of the 18th century. We are conveniently located just 3 minutes away from the city's Historic Center, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Whether you arrive by bus, train, ferry or airplane, you're never far from our central location. We are located just 10 minutes from public transit and an easy 5 minute drive from the airport. Our hotel offers everything you need for a convenient stay in Tallinn. Hotel features & amenities: 40 Guestrooms Free Wi-Fi Onsite restaurant & bar Lounge area Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Economy Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotell Hotel Tallinn
Skane Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing