We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed”
Review of Economy Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Economy Hotell
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

After receiving a friendly welcome, we went up to our room on the 2nd floor.
The room was at the front of the hotel but noise was not a problem. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and there was plenty of piping hot water. What more do you need?

A short stroll via the subway, and you are in the magnificent old town area.
Would not hesitate to stay here again! (also the coffee at the reception was delicious!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StockportMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel is well situated for easy access into the old town and if you want to travel further there is the trams, trolleys and buses on the door stop. prices are cheap for transport with a day pass for all transport at 4 euros a day or about 1 euro 10 when bought before travel ( little kiosk near hotel sell tickets) If you are able I recommed just walking around the city the old town blends straight into the new and dont waste money on tour guides the streets are well sign posted for tourists as to where to go to see the sites.
The hotel is clean bedrooms compact but nice could do with some cosmetic work like painting the windows but only minor things, room cosy at night and shower lovely and hot, staff very friendly breakfast ok depends on own taste but quite a bit of choice.
Overall we really enjoyed our trip and we were enchanted by Tallin and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocksterrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was basic but very clean and the staff were wonderful I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Taillin. This was my first time to Taillin and I would recommend it for shopping and the nite life. Also if you go the largest art meusemu .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GRAINNE224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The minute i walked through the door i was greeted with a smile and welcome to Tallinn. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, and there is plenty of hot water for showers.
The staff are very helpful and location is great. Book it and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrstrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Basic in an almost hostel/b&b kind of way. My room had whats necessary -desk, good bed, bathroom. Breakfast ok, CNN on TV in breakfast room. Value for money. Friendly staff. Close to the creative district Telliskivi. Check out the restaurant F-Hoone there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ComaScandinavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had a good stay at this hotel , and yes there water temp was not too hot, but at 15 pounds a night per person including breakfast the hotel is great value.There is free wifi and the staff were always helpful serving coffee and beer when needed, the hotel is in a more run down part of Tallinn but this never caused us any problems.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StHelensLes1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I really wanted to give this hotel four or even 5 stars but our biggest complaint was the complete lack of hot water. We stayed 2 nights and didn't get a single hot shower in that time, which was particularly unpleasant considering it was a maximum 13 degrees day time temperature while we were there. The staff were understanding but nothing seemed to get done about the problem. Until the hot water issue is fixed I would not recommend staying here unless you can handle a cold shower in the baltic autumn/winter.

Hotel and location:
Other than the hot water problem, the hotel is good value, clean and quite close to the old town (about 5 minute walk). There are a few restaurants and a suermarket nearby, although you would be better off venturing further into the old town for decent food (I highly recommend the 3 Dragons beneath town hall for really tasty and cheap elk broth, pies and beer at 1-2 euro each). There is a computer and internet in the hotel lobby, which is free to use and the reception also sells drinks and snacks, which is handy. The hotel also provides free wifi throughout.

A few reviews have mentioned the bus interchange (which you have to walk through to get to the old town) seeming a little unsafe but we never had any troubles, even late at night.

The room:
The room itself was a good size and comfortable for our stay, although the walls are a bit thin and we were constantly disturbed by our noisy neighbours who stayed up until 2am. Other than that we weren't disturbed by any outside noise during our stay. We also managed to get wifi in our room (315), despite it being in the most remote corner of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peregrine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, General Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

"Thank you for your concern and apologies for our late response. We are happy to read your reviews in TripAdvisor after visiting our hotel. Regarding of your concern about the hot water we owe you an explanation about the situation.
Since April in this year the Economy Hotel has used a solar heating system. We are still on a testing phase and as from the beginning of September the solar collectors have operated less efficiency, the system will turn back to operate by the heating pumps. Regarding to this it might take more time than usually and because of that the water temperature was lower than it should have been. For now the system is fixed and water temperature has increased to an expected level.
As our guests’ concerns are always important to us, we realize that our future success and our customers satisfaction depend on an hot water as well, so we keep on striving the heating system to be well monitored. We are building up a better future incorporating an economical and green living. Thank you for your help and patience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
1,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#47 of 86 in Tallinn
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
1,137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,267 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotell

Address: Kopli 2c | Kalamaja, Tallinn 10412, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £22 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotell 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the most affordable accommodation option in Tallinn. Choose Economy Hotell for your next stay in the historically and culturally rich capital of Estonia. Our hotel is the simple solution for convenient accommodations in Tallinn with a personal approach to quality service. We offer a variety of rooms housed in a historical house, built at the end of the 18th century. We are conveniently located just 3 minutes away from the city's Historic Center, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Whether you arrive by bus, train, ferry or airplane, you're never far from our central location. We are located just 10 minutes from public transit and an easy 5 minute drive from the airport. Our hotel offers everything you need for a convenient stay in Tallinn. Hotel features & amenities: 40 Guestrooms Free Wi-Fi Onsite restaurant & bar Lounge area Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Economy Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotell Hotel Tallinn
Skane Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing