We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, Fantastic.”
Review of Economy Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Economy Hotell
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For the price, Fantastic.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I recently stayed here, during my second visit to Tallinn. I needed somewhere cheap, but comfortable, and also reasonably central. All three boxes were ticked.

It's a few minutes walk from the hotel to the centre of old town. A bit further to the newer town, but we'd no reason to go that far. 10 minutes in a cab to and from the airport, and the taxis were between 8 and 10 euro per journey.

The hotel itself is slightly bigger than I expected it to be. Though having said that, the two rooms me and a friend occupied were very small. Single rooms, big enough for one person each. Old style television on the wall, with one English speaking channel (MTV unfortunately).
There was plenty of hot water, and the room and ensuite bathroom were perfectly clean.
The bed was soft, but comfortable.
I had a view out to the front of the hotel, overlooking the tram station. The noise of the trams might bother some people, but I didn't find it intrusive at all. I always carry earplugs when travelling, but I didn't need to use them here.

You can access free WiFi in the lobby, and there is a PC you can use if you need to. I'm deducting one star for the lack of WiFi in the hotel rooms. If you have a room closer to the lobby, you still might be able to connect though.

I'd have no problem staying here again, if money was tight. If money wasn't tight, I'd probably upgrade to a slightly bigger more contemporary hotel with a bar and bigger rooms etc.. But for the price I paid, I was more than happy.

Room Tip: No tram station on the back or side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irlirishkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear irlirishkev!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our hotel location perfect.
It is good that you slept well and any noise from outside did not bother you.
The thing about the WiFi is that you get it for free and signal might get low when the hotel is full or the weather is bad. I hope you did get to do everyhting what you wanted in the internet.
We are aiming to be the hotel where our guests can feel themselves like home and we are trying to do our best in everything.

We are looking forward to see you here again!

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    320
    114
    29
    15
See reviews for
91
197
175
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A decent but clean option for the budget minded traveller. Comfortable room with one English TV channel. Good buffet breakfast, continental so don't expect full English. Tram stop right outside the door - five stops to the main bus station. Train station on the doorstep. Decent restaurant next door. Five minutes walk into the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irving And Wend... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear irvingmoscrop!

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our hotel clean- our housekeeping is always trying to do their best.
It is good to read that you liked our hotel location- close to the Old town.

We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stenløse
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed two nights here as our company went to Tallinn for a seminar. Travelling on a budget calls for good deals and we got a very good offer from this hotel.
It is situated right outside the city wall but in Tallinn centre everything is within walking distance. The old town is a 5-minute walk away from the hotel.
The hotel appears to be very basic but it has everything you need. The breakfast buffet is large and is prepared in a small-ish dining room. At the reception you can buy various sundries (drinks, snacks) and souvenirs.
The rooms vary in size - my room was large and faced the street, however the level of street noise is very low. The room was clean.
The staff were very service-minded and easy-going.
All in all this is a hotel to recommend if you look for value-for-money with no real compromises.

Room Tip: Room no 313 is large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils Holm Jørge... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Nils Holm Jørge... E!

Thank you and your group fro staying in Economy hotel and thank you for your review.

We are happy to read that you found our hotel with good price and perfect location.
breakfast buffee has everything that you need in the morning. So I hope it was good for others also.
Our hotel has 40 different sizes room- something for everybody.
I forwarded your good words about our staff- we alays try to do our best.

We are looking forward to hear from you again.

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is excellent for the price, especially if you book early. Very simple, well managed and in a perfect location for exploring the old city. The rooms are basic but very clean and the staff are super friendly and extremely helpful. There is some noise from the railway station but no late night party noise like you get in the old town centre. I had no problems with the Internet ( which is free ) and although the walls between the rooms are thin it's not the kind of place that gets a late night party crowd. While the old town is the big attraction don't forget to explore this side of the city . You might be surprised by some of the local cafes and the quality of the food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbombastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear pbombastic!

Thank you for staying in Economy hotel and for your review.
We are really glad to read that you found our hotel excellent for this price.
I will forward your good words about our staff.
It is always intresting to have a little trip outside the main tourist attractions- It is good that you find your way to have a look at it.

We are looking forward to hear from you.

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just by the bus and tram and station it is easy to get around. Rooms are clean and tidy. We had to close the windows at night because the trams start early but otherwise it was fine. Free buffet breakfast included with my booking.
Market over the road every morning selling food was handy and supermarket at the next tram stop. The staff were great except for one miserable one on reception. WiFi did not work in the room though.
Single women may not want to walk back to the hotel alone as it is a bit deserted in the dead of night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daya101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Daya101!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our location perfect.
The Russians Market have this Soviet Union taste- it can be very imteresting. Glad you liked it.
Thank you on behalf of our staff. We are always trying to do our best.
The area around the hotel is Tallinn´s fastest growing region, so maybe next time you can visit our city it is totally different.

We are looking forward to hear from you again.

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Cheapest hotel during our stay in Estonia thanks to an early booking.

Rooms are clean, even have a TV. Nice staff, the helped us with all our questions (you even can send them an email with an pdf and they print it for gree) and prepare you a nice coffee in the morning.

Has free parking, but I recommend to return the car since in Tallin there is no need for it.

Since check in is at 14:00hrs, you can leave your stuff at the reception, no extra cost.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear adrima!

Thank you for your stay in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are really happy to read that you found our hotel as top quality for money.
I will tell your nice words about our staff being nice and helpfull to my colleages.

We are looking forward to hear from you again.

Best wishes,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Location is perfect, just under the old town and 5 minutes from ferry port. Friendly personnel, good internet. Small private parking in the inner garden, but cannot go to parking directly from the hotel, have to go around. Warm room, old style boilers, feels like in 19th century, and it makes it even more nice.
Very soft bed, could not sleep well. Noisy because of thin walls between rooms, but outer walls are huge. Poor breakfast, only few dishes, but still ok to feed up.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGriNdeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear GGriNdeR!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our location perfect.
Parking place is reachable from inside the hotel also- through second floor, sometimes it is easier to go around the hotel.
We cannot comment about the breakfast as we are different companies- but I will tell your opinion to them.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#32 of 83 in Tallinn
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#43 of 83 in Tallinn
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotell

Property: Economy Hotell
Address: Kopli 2c | Kalamaja, Tallinn 10412, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotell 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the most affordable accommodation option in Tallin. Choose Economy Hotell for your next stay in the historically and culturally rich capital of Estonia. Our hotel is the simple solution for convenient accommodations in Tallinn with a personal approach to quality service. We offer a variety of rooms housed in a historical house, built at the end of the 18th century. We are conveniently located just 3 minutes away from the city's Historic Center, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Whether you arrive by bus, train, ferry or airplane, you're never far from our central location. We are located just 10 minutes from public transit and an easy 5 minute drive from the airport. Our hotel offers everything you need for a convenient stay in Tallinn. Hotel features & amenities: 40 Guestrooms Free Wi-Fi Onsite restaurant & bar Lounge area Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Economy Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotell Hotel Tallinn
Skane Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing