We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jason from portsmouth,England”
Review of Economy Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Economy Hotell
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Jason from portsmouth,England”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hello 4 times to this hotel in 3 Years.Nice and friendly staff,Breakfast nice and filling,toast,yogurt,tea ,coffee,cerial,and hot food aswell.Scandanavian breakfast ? Nice warm rooms,and comfy beds.Nice cheap buget place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Jason!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel again and for your review.
We really appreciate that you find your way back here again and again.

I am happy to read that you found our rooms warm and comfy.
I will forward you good word about our staff. Thank you!
And also I will forward these nice words to restaurant.

We are looking forward to see you in the future!

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    334
    118
    29
    15
See reviews for
93
202
180
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Economy Hotel. Our room was basic and small but spotlessly clean and warm. Pillows were very flat and lumpy but when I asked the staff for some more the next morning they changed them and gave me some extra. Bathroom immaculate, hot power shower, towels small but did the job.. Rooms cleaned daily. The breakfast again basic but for the price good value. Porridge and choice of other cereal, tea, coffee and a sweet orange drink and water, bread and a toaster, pancakes and jam, hard boiled eggs, sausages, vegetable dish, ham and cheese. Staff were friendly and helpful and if you are on a budget, hotel excellent value..Hotel 5/10 mins walk from old town and next to train/bus/tram station. We got the 21 bus on one day to the open air museum which was lovely and well worth the 20 minute bus ride. On our last day we discovered the marzipan museum in the old town where you learn to make your own models. Give Olde Hansa a miss, Clayhills much nicer food and cheaper.Live music in Klass after 11pm each night if you are still awake after all the sight seeing. Taxi from airport 8-10 euros. Airport the nicest I have been in, arms chairs, children's play area and good reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah136Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Sarah136Surrey!


Thank You for your staying in Economy Hotel and for Your review.
We are glad to read that You found our hotel clean and warm. We are trying to make our guests feel comfortable here, so thank You for noticing that.
I will forward Your nice words about breakfast to restaurant.
Tallinn has lot to offer, so if you have a chance- come again!

We are looking forward to hear from you in the future.

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The other reviews say the rooms are large, I don't know what happened with ours but it was a double bed put in a glorified closet. This room should only have a single in it. We both had suitcases and there wasn't enough room to put them both on the floor and still open the door. I had to put mine under the desk. I took photos but can't figure out how to upload them.

I know it's cheap but every single hostel room I've ever stayed in has been bigger than that. The bathroom door hit the bed when you opened it.

The wifi does not work in the rooms!!!!! I think that this should have to be specified. It's unacceptable to say that "it doesn't work if everyone is using i" etc etc excuses that have been offered as comments by management on here. The solution is simple: get better Internet. Yes it works fine in the lobby, but who wants to sit at table and chairs after a long day of exploring.

One staff member (blonde lady) was very apathetic, we avoided the desk when she was there. The other staff were nice. Called taxis and printed our bookings and things for us.

Didn't try the breakfast - no one offered it to us. We might have even paid for it, we don't know.

Location is opposite a train station which looks dodgy but I don't think it is. I used the atm out there at night with people in the area and nothing happened. Close to old town.

No elevator - if you've for big suitcases you have to carry them up heaps of steps with no offer of help.

The rooms were clean and the bed WAS comfortable. I only wish I had space to move around it.

Another thing that turns me off this place is the negative comments management write under comments on trip advisor. Very unprofessional!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 656melaniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Melanie P!

Thank you for your staying and review!
We really appreciate reviews like this- thank you for your time.
Our hotel has 40 different sized rooms. The thing is that when the hotel is full (like it was when you were here) then somebody have stay in smaller rooms also. Just want to say that if there is any plans to come to our hotel again, then just write us that you would like to have bigger room.
WiFi is free for everybody. The best working place for it is lobby area. If we get better and more expensive internet, then in some point guests have to also pay for it.
I will forward your comments about one of our staff and hope everybody will be friendly again.
Our hotel was built in the late 19th century. It is an old building, unfortunately we can´t built elevator in the house. i am sorry that no one didn´t offered help with your suitcases. 70% of our staff are ladies and it is heavy also for us. Hope you understand.
The thing about negative comments under reviews- can you send me some examples? In these comments we really try to show our gratitude and if nececcary explanations.

Looking forward to hear from you in the future!

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was basic but fine. Our room on the second floor felt as if it were accessed via a fire escape but it had a nice view and was warm. the room didn't have a kettle or tea/coffee making facilities.

Sadly, on our return journey to the airport the hotel receptionist booked us a disreputable taxi driver who charged us 22 euros to get to the airport, compared to 8 euros on the way to the airport at the same time of day. After an argument on the airport forecourt we eventually agreed to pay 15 euros but I know this is double what the journey should have been. I know dodgy taxi companies operate in Estonia but I didn't think hotels would book them for guests. I'm afraid this impression will stay with me for this hotel. Very disappointing.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Amy G!

Thank you for your staying and review!

We are glad to read that you found our rooms warm and saw a nice views from there.
Our rooms don´t have facilities for making coffee or tea, but you can have those from reception 24/7.
I am really sorry to read about your taxi experiences in Tallinn booked by us. Most of the time we choose from two taxi companies and we can always trust them. I don´t know what happened that time. I really hope it didn´t ruin your trip in Tallinn and in our hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel!

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A basic room, quite large, clean, bed comfortable. En suite fine but beginning to show wear. I didn't book for breakfast but looked in one morning and was glad I hadn't - looked a bit sparse. Easy access to Old Town - just walk in front of station. Good for trams and buses. [Travel card alone is much better value than Tallinn card if you're not planning on a of of museums.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tranbylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Tranbylad!

Thank you for your booking and review!
We are happy to read that you found our rooms clean and bed comfortable.
I am going to forward your comments about breakfast to restaurant- I am sure they value all reviews.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel!

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I recently stayed here, during my second visit to Tallinn. I needed somewhere cheap, but comfortable, and also reasonably central. All three boxes were ticked.

It's a few minutes walk from the hotel to the centre of old town. A bit further to the newer town, but we'd no reason to go that far. 10 minutes in a cab to and from the airport, and the taxis were between 8 and 10 euro per journey.

The hotel itself is slightly bigger than I expected it to be. Though having said that, the two rooms me and a friend occupied were very small. Single rooms, big enough for one person each. Old style television on the wall, with one English speaking channel (MTV unfortunately).
There was plenty of hot water, and the room and ensuite bathroom were perfectly clean.
The bed was soft, but comfortable.
I had a view out to the front of the hotel, overlooking the tram station. The noise of the trams might bother some people, but I didn't find it intrusive at all. I always carry earplugs when travelling, but I didn't need to use them here.

You can access free WiFi in the lobby, and there is a PC you can use if you need to. I'm deducting one star for the lack of WiFi in the hotel rooms. If you have a room closer to the lobby, you still might be able to connect though.

I'd have no problem staying here again, if money was tight. If money wasn't tight, I'd probably upgrade to a slightly bigger more contemporary hotel with a bar and bigger rooms etc.. But for the price I paid, I was more than happy.

Room Tip: No tram station on the back or side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irlirishkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear irlirishkev!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our hotel location perfect.
It is good that you slept well and any noise from outside did not bother you.
The thing about the WiFi is that you get it for free and signal might get low when the hotel is full or the weather is bad. I hope you did get to do everyhting what you wanted in the internet.
We are aiming to be the hotel where our guests can feel themselves like home and we are trying to do our best in everything.

We are looking forward to see you here again!

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A decent but clean option for the budget minded traveller. Comfortable room with one English TV channel. Good buffet breakfast, continental so don't expect full English. Tram stop right outside the door - five stops to the main bus station. Train station on the doorstep. Decent restaurant next door. Five minutes walk into the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irving And Wend... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear irvingmoscrop!

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our hotel clean- our housekeeping is always trying to do their best.
It is good to read that you liked our hotel location- close to the Old town.

We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Leelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#18 of 85 in Tallinn
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#33 of 85 in Tallinn
951 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#44 of 85 in Tallinn
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#19 of 85 in Tallinn
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotell

Property: Economy Hotell
Address: Kopli 2c | Kalamaja, Tallinn 10412, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotell 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the most affordable accommodation option in Tallin. Choose Economy Hotell for your next stay in the historically and culturally rich capital of Estonia. Our hotel is the simple solution for convenient accommodations in Tallinn with a personal approach to quality service. We offer a variety of rooms housed in a historical house, built at the end of the 18th century. We are conveniently located just 3 minutes away from the city's Historic Center, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Whether you arrive by bus, train, ferry or airplane, you're never far from our central location. We are located just 10 minutes from public transit and an easy 5 minute drive from the airport. Our hotel offers everything you need for a convenient stay in Tallinn. Hotel features & amenities: 40 Guestrooms Free Wi-Fi Onsite restaurant & bar Lounge area Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Economy Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotell Hotel Tallinn
Skane Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing