We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price you can't go far wrong.”
Review of Hotell G9

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotell G9
Ranked #70 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel G9 for 5 nights and can happily recommend it, echoing some of the previous reviews on here it was nicely priced, paid 168 Euro's for a generous sized double room with en suite.
Fresh clean laundry and the bed was made 4 out of the 5 days we were there and it was a nice warm room as well because the heating was on pretty much all the time. The en suite was large enough but could have benefited from a spruce up,the shower was piping hot though. Just try not to drop the shower head onto the floor like I did because you'll soak the whole place!
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, don't know about the breakfast or the restaurant downstairs because we didn't sample any of it, however, there is a shopping mall a brisk 5 minute walk away towards the port so you can stock up from there.
The hotel is in a handy location especially if you're heading in from the airport,we got on the airport bus for 2 euro's and it travels along Gonsiori, stopping across the road from the hotel. And if you're after cheap alcohol to take home there's an off-licence a short walk from the bus stop on Gonsiori, much better than paying way over the odds for it in the old-town.

All in all if you're planning a trip to Tallinn you can't go far wrong if you choose to stop at the Hotel G9,it's mentioned favourably in the Rough Guide to Tallinn,and it's also highlighted on Google Earth!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillChirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Hotell G9
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

Awfull bathroom in the room.
Location ok. Near old town.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etorleibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The G9 could be rated as a 2 out of 5 (poor) hotel in the grand scheme of all accommodations or it could be a 4 out of 5 (very good) if a person is on a budget in the not so cheap town of Tallinn. It depends on what you want and are looking for/ want. At 41 euros a night during the high season, it was a bargain in this city. Located near the Old Town, it was quiet, on the 3rd floor of a shared bldg. The city tram stops nearby. The breakfast offered, however, is mediocre at best, and the single cup of coffee is abysmal.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much, after all, you are paying the lowest rate available in Tallinn.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polaris22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I stayed with my wife at Hotel G9 for 3 nights in July 2011. I have to divide my review into 2 parts:
1.) Positives
First and foremost location. Walking distance from anything interesting in Tallin including Old Town and Passenger Terminal (if you want to go to Stockholm or Helsinki).
The room itself was really basic, but you can count on clean bed and bathroom. If you don't mind student hostel feeling, you'll be fine.
Front desk was generally helpful in finding a safe parking space (details below).
2.) Negatives
Parking space is free, but unsafe and unsecure (it's a quote from the warning that can be found at the front desk). What it means is that there are occasional car windows breaking. Anyway it didn't feel safe to leave a car there. We spent quite some time looking for a good parking space and to save you the same trouble we recommend underground parking at the Rotermanni Kvartali. It is 10 minutes away and it has good 24 hours rate.
One other negative is aesthetics. It is not a nice building and you will be disappointed if you can't make an effort to close your eyes to some ugliness around and in the building.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacek73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This hotel is cheap: dirty and smelly entrance, two long flights of stairs to negotiate with luggage, very basic room that could use some new paint on the walls, tyny bathroom where water splashes all over. If you need to open a window, ask for a room on the back because the trams in the front are really, really noisy.
The location is quite good at five minutes from the old town but that is the only plus with this place which is more a hostel with private bathroom than a hotel.
We have used self serve hotels in Finland for similar prices but much higher quality.
Don't bother paying for the room breakfast - sandwich of white mushy bread with lots of butter and mayionnaise, non-dairy yogurt like thing, pretty bad coffee but this is cheap at 2 euros per person. I would certainly never to back to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renee2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

staed at this hotel for 5 nights close to old town and shopping centre /paid 30 euros per night for the two of us which was good value the room was large and clean// the staff were pleasant//could have been done with more coathangers and the stairwell could be done with a tidy up,but overall was quite pleased/// for a cheap meal try st patricks which do some cheap deals

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Good location, free parking. Clean. Stuff is helpful, speaks foreign languages.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saulejanusonyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.9 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorell Hotel
Dorell Hotel
#54 of 86 in Tallinn
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
#11 of 86 in Tallinn
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tallink City Hotel
Tallink City Hotel
#33 of 86 in Tallinn
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell G9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell G9

Address: Gonsiori 9, Tallinn 10117, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotell G9 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotell G9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell g9 Tallinn
Hotell g9 Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing