We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is NOT a HOTEL! Perhaps a hostel, or backpackers lodge is moer appropriate.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotell G9

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotell G9
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Narva, Estonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is NOT a HOTEL! Perhaps a hostel, or backpackers lodge is moer appropriate.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

It is located on the third floor, no elevator. If you travel with the luggage, you have to carry it all way up up to the third floor. Room service is somewhat next to non-existant. I arrived in December, late at night, and for my personal delight discovered, that cleaning-lady had left the window opened for.. i assume not less than 12 hours, bonus effect was snowfall and -7 C outside. The room was not warm even in the morning. It was impossible to take shower as the bathroom was freezing... perhaps it was some extreame new health program, which the hotel was pilot-projecting on the guests. Still, I did not dare to take advantage of improving my defrost-skills at the shower.

As soon, as the window was closed, the reason for open window become obvious: this was definitely not a non-smoker room.
The sheets in my bed had already had some previous visitor... so I asked for new sheets, which I was kindly given, and respectedly left alone to change all the bedding on my own.

In the morning the breakfast (asked and payed extra) was served to room. It contained precisely 1 cup of tea (I asked for tea), 1 small glass of juice (apple or orange), 1 small yoghurt (i cannot eat dairy products), and 2 slices of untoasted white bread with 2 slices sausage, 1 leaf salad and 1 slice cheese between two breads. That was all.

If you like extreme situations, this accommodation is just, what you are looking for!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L_T2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
6
25
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

I really liked this place, although when we arrived late on a cold and wet November evening I was a little sceptical to begin with as it doesn't look great from the outside!
The staff are absolutely lovely- Very prompt at answering e-mails and incredibly helpful and friendly when you meet them. The room was simple but very clean and well maintained. We got to sneak a peak at some of the other rooms and I think ours was one of the smallest, but it still did the job.
There is no dining room, so if you are staying B&B you have breakfast delivered to your room in the morning (at a time you request). Breakfast is yoghurt, a sandwich, fruit juice and tea or coffee.
The en-suite bathroom was more of a wet room rather than having a self contained shower, but it was big enough for that not to be too much of an issue and the shower was fantastically hot and powerful.
Fantastic value, great location and lovely staff!

There's no lift, so make sure you can carry your bag up a few flights of stairs. Also, unlike in the UK where the 1st floor is up one flight of steps, in Estonia (and many other countries) the first floor is what we would call the ground floor so although G9 is on the third floor, it's actually only up 2 flights!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raisinmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed there for a night, me , my girlfriend , my cousin and my dog in a triple room.
It was few choices that we had with a dog and at least it was a good one.
It is very close to the center , behind viru keskus.
A simple hotel with good safety and reception almost kind :p (didnt really care).
we found good price for the room only 49e so it was the cheapest we could find.
Quite clean, beds very simple but we were aiming for budget accommodation so no prob!
I would stay there again maybe next time since i had a cheap and good stay.

Room Tip: Cheap-clean-central
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VasilisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

G9 is a small 2 star hotel in the center of Tallinn. I would say that the standard of this hotel compares to a private double room in a hostel. All doors are opened with a card or in the reception through the intercom so it feels quite safe.

Our double room was big with two separated beds and a small bathroom. They cleaned our room every day. The hotel offers free WiFi but it's very slow.

The hotel is very close to Old Tallinn, it 's a 4 minute walk.

The airport shuttle stops on a parallell street so it's really comfortable.

Pros: Big rooms, rooms are cleaned often, towels are also changed, central, free WiFi
Cons: No elevator (three stairs), the stairway smells really bad, the reception, the corridor and the rooms smell of (cigarette) smoke, rooms are not soundproof

So, considering the low price I can recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a clean, central and safe place to stay. If you are used to, or want a higher standard you should keep looking.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a room far from the reception to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here for two night with my husband on our second trip to Tallinn. Clean with a good location just outside the Old Town (10 minute) walk. Beds were rather squeaky but other that that a good place for a couple nights. Three locked doors to get into the hostel on the third floor made it feel very safe.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WithHusbandInTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My and my friend Stevo stayed here on a winter weekend break for a bit of relaxing and sightseeing. Very basic but comfortable enough. If you're a no frills traveller it's just the job. Very easy to stay here and take the ferry to Helsinki. I found this cheaper than flying direct. Tallinn is alos a lovely city though (if a little small). I'd recommend this as a double city break. Tallinn for sights and Helsinki for partying (at a price!).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omegacds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I have been staying in Tallinn for three nights and this hotel was exactly was I looking for. Cheap and clean. Service was good, people would help you if you needed help with directions or stuff. It was a good experience

The only issues I had were :
Cold shower in the morning
Cigarette smell
The building was quite ugly inside

Room was spacious, I stayed on my own and had a twin room for myself

I recommend it if you are looking for something cheap

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigmund84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#54 of 82 in Tallinn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#38 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorell Hotel
Dorell Hotel
#50 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell G9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell G9

Property: Hotell G9
Address: Gonsiori 9, Tallinn 10117, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotell G9 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotell G9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell g9 Tallinn
Hotell g9 Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing