We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel with a free sauna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
16eur Fat Margaret's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's a very nice hostel in a very good location, with big and clean rooms and friendly staff. The kitchen is very big and recently renovated, and the sauna with a tiny swimming pool is free for all the guests every day from 9 to 11.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksushagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Location is good. You can reac old town center by few minutes walk. In front of the hostel there is a tram stop and you can reach distant parts of the city. Staff is great. In the entrance there is locker room. Rooms are clean and comfortable. You can also rent a bike if you want. Higlhy recommended hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gradot-e-Nem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Perfect hostel, recently restored and big and confortable rooms.
Dinig room well done and big common room with a computer... and the free sauna in the morning was awsome. Love it!
I recommend it, expecially for the good position, 5 minute walking to the city centre, near to the supermarket, restaurants and transports. Good staff, young and well prepared.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aneres86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hi,

We would recommend it to everyone as we ourselves had such wonderful experience. We stayed in a twin room with attached W/C.

There are lot of advantages for travelers and also for couple like us who stayed there for a longer duration. The old town is just five minutes walk. The tram and bus network is just a minute away, The main railway station is just two tram stop away and for people planning to go to Finland the ferry is just 10 mins walk. If you are flying , the taxi will charge maximum 7-8 euros to the airport. So you are in a well connected place and in addition this hostel is a wifi paradise with free internet connectivity. In case you dnt carry a laptop there are provisions for you too, you can check them at the reception or the common room.

The day starts with free Sauna for all those interested to have a healthy start. The rooms are spacious and clean. For budgets travelers you have dormitories at such affordable price. And for ones who want some private space you can opt for private rooms. Your bed linen, towels and covers are changed when ever you want it. I have never been to a hostel which connects you with such warm hospitality .The staff, the receptionist and also the manager Siim has such patience and always ready to help if you have any issues.

If you are a in a party mood or want to hit some rock concerts the girls at the reception will pick for you the best options.For those who love to enjoy Table tennis you can enjoy there in the common area , which was our favorite place as you meet wonderful people and make friends . The kitchen which is quite a spacious one is equipped with all modern facilities. All you need to bring along is just the food where you can cook. There is a big Fridge where you can label your food and keep it even for your next days.

we would recommend it to everyone and to all our fellow Indian friends. if you visit Estonia make your stay comfortable by staying in this hostel which gives you more than a hotel feel at much cheaper price. We are sure that you will enjoy your stay as we did.

Poly and Keyur (India)

Room Tip: First floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Warm, cozy atmosphere. Friendly staff. Good location not far from the historical center "Vana Tallin" and the Port - Sadama, but quite place. Morning sauna is also a big "plus"! Booked twin room with shared bathroom. Room is not big, but clean and well lit thanks to the big elongated windows. Ceiling is very high - so absolutely no claustrophobia!:))

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadinNadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed only 1 night.

We arrived to Tallinn in a night ferry, so the location was great; in 10/15min we were in the hostel.

Left early in the morning, so our stay was short; anyway it seamed a regular hostel.

Maybe it was bad luck, but the staff was not very proactive, we had 2 situations:

1) We booked 2 beds, but when we arrived to room there was only one "free" bed, or so it seamed. Immediately we returned to the reception and told the 2 girls working that day there was only bed "free", or at least, only one bed with clean sheets. They had no idea who or how many people was supposed to be in that room. It took them more 30min to identify the second bed; not to say that during period they didn't told us nothing besides "you have to wait". In the end they managed to identify the free bed, changed the sheets and problem solved.

2) They gave us 2 keys, one for the room other for the locker. Once again, they had no idea who or how many people was supposed to be in that room, because they gave us the key to another people's locker. We didn't want to use it, so it wasn't a big problem. After a while, we were already a sleep, one of the girls enters the room saying that she had given us the wrong key, she took the key, and told us that she would return with our key. She never did.

Maybe it was just bad luck with the staff that day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This hostel has a perfect position.. Near to the port and 2 min to go to old town. The house is old and bad looking from outside but they are getting it done.inside the same story: old and abandoned. It's a hostel il every sense.Mostly rooms are with bunk beds and toilet in
corridor,anyway there are also private rooms with bathroom. Rooms are clean. Downstairs there is a large room where you can watch tv, one pc,table tennis, small kitchen place with sink, microwave, plates and glasses,
refrigerator( everyone can leave a food in plastic bag and name on it,
prohibited to take other persons food!!) Downstairs you can find also toilets and showers just renovated and sauna is gonna be ready soon! Bicycles available.
I recommend this place..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
796 reviews
2 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#15 of 86 in Tallinn
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Monk's Bunk
The Monk's Bunk
#1 of 122 in Tallinn
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Old Town Alur
Hostel Old Town Alur
#3 of 122 in Tallinn
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
16eur Old Town Munkenhof Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hostel
Welcome Hostel
#24 of 122 in Tallinn
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16eur Fat Margaret's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16eur Fat Margaret's Hostel

Address: Rotermanni, Pohja pst 27, Tallinn 10415, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 16eur Fat Margaret's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Margaret's Hostel offers quality accommodation for affordable prices. Located just at the gate of historical Old Town and only minutes walk away from the busy port of Tallinn, you are never more than a few minutes away from all the excitement Tallinn has to offer. It is also close to the ferry terminals and train station. Enjoy your morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the Old Town or check out our sauna and pool- a perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing and meet fellow travellers. Spacious common room with table tennis and a fully equipped kitchen makes it a very suitable for budget travellers. Fat Margaret's hostel is a perfect stay for ones keen on exploring the Historical Tallinn with it's narrow streets and picturesque red roof-tops. The nearby bohemic Kalamaja district is an excellent area to wonder around and absorb the historic atmosphere. There you will also find many hip cafes and bars and some of Tallinn's best restaurants. Around the corner from Fat Margaret's hostel lies the Baltic Sea, you can take a relaxing stroll on it's banks or even have a quick dip! Our guests can choose between comfortable private rooms and dormitories, all with fresh linens and towels. The hostel with it's simple but comfy rooms, helpful staff and easy-on-the pocket prices are most suitable for travellers of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your 16eur Fat Margaret's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing