We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better not risk”
Review of Gotthard Residents

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gotthard Residents
Ranked #42 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 90€ for a tiny room on the ground floor. Could hardly move within, and room door opened right in front of breakfast tables. Maybe rooms on higher floors are better, but would rather choose somewhere with less wooden beams and more comfort. Anyway, breakfast also was very disappointing (bread and pastries were far from fresh).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FraANDJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked a weekend via hostelworld and when arriving with confirmation, receptionist told that hotel was full, she had our confirmation, but could not do anything and offered a room in "Ecoland" 12 km from old town.
Still in the evening the hotel had rooms on "Hotels.Com", but the price was 500€, instead of 80€, what we had confirmation.
As all the city hotels were full, we could not avoid thinking that we had been kicked out to get a better deal.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank heikki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our first stay at this small hotel at the very heart of Tallinn in the old city. Hotel is old but well maintained, rooms small but tidy and service friendly. Due to early start we did not have breakfast but it looked very rich. And you are just a stone throw away from the market square in the old town. That also means that you cannot park in front of hotel but one cannot get everything. Overall, a nice experience if you want nice stay without a lot of cost and close to action

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lassiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 105 (I think - the door opens into the breakfast room). For what we paid I was delighted. There was actually enough room for three people not to be totally on top of each other.

We had three single beds, each with plug sockets in sensible places for phone charging. There was a big window which opened fully, and actually because of the slope of the city the ground was many floors below the window (ie. the back of the hotel and the front aren't at the same height).

The bathroom was clean although the shower was small.

The location is excellent (and if you stay here, the first thing you do should be to go up the tower of St Olaf's immediately out the front. This gives you an excellent view.

Breakfast was yummy and had loads of healthy options. Even the vat of coffee was nice enough (although I had breakfast when it started at 7am... Not sure what it would have been like three hours later!).

The only downside was that the front door to the hotel broke and if you closed it on the inside it couldn't be opened again. This struck me as a massive fire hazard, but they did get it fixed pretty quickly.

I liked the medieval feel of the place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathalieemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel looks great! It has been recently restaurated in 2012 and everything
is in original style. If you want a special experience i can reccomend room 412
very tiny just like an attic, but very nice and clean. Only the breakfast could have been better,
plenty of choice but not really the normal kind of things and the bread wasn't fresh.
Location was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DvS1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a very tiny room without a window (room 212). The room was damp and hot but it was impossible to ventilate. Avoid the inner rooms without windows at all costs or find a better place to stay as you wont catch any sleep. Breakfast was okish but staff couldnt spare a smile or hello. Location is good, but that is about it.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

To sum it up briefly: if you want a clean hotel near (in) the old town, then this could be your choice. If you want good customer service, there are better places to visit.

The hotel is located in a medieval building and our room at the top floor was really clean and nice - the window being at the floor level (old building). Shower/bathroom was small but otherwise ok.

The customer service level seems to be below average even on a Tallinn scale. Staff was not friendly at all - no greetings etc. There were not any bad incidents, but we really didn't feel welcome in the hotel. This feeling went through all service events in the hotel: reception and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pajulankustaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#64 of 86 in Tallinn
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Olav Hotel
St Olav Hotel
#75 of 86 in Tallinn
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#56 of 86 in Tallinn
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
2 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#15 of 86 in Tallinn
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#36 of 86 in Tallinn
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotthard Residents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotthard Residents

Address: Pikk 66, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Gotthard Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £40 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gotthard Residents 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotthard Residents is located in an historical part of the Tallinn Old Town, on Pikk Street near the Fat Margaret with its Maritime Museum and the legendary St. Olaf's church. From the windows of the hotel opens a great view on the historical Three Sisters on the one side, and a breathtaking sea view on the other side. The location of the hotel is very suitable for all travellers who visit Tallinn - only 20 minute drive from airport and about 5 minute by foot from the Passenger Port and Central Railway Station. The building of Gotthard Hotel is a great example of architecture of the beginning of the 14th century. The interior is carried out in Medieval style, decorated with unique elements of ancient furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gotthard Residents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing