We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, with a very good price”
Review of Gotthard Residents

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gotthard Residents
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tallinn. It is located on the northern end of the old town, on a quiet street. We paid an excellent price for two people staying for four nights. If this hotel is on the cheaper range of hotels in Tallinn, I would definitely book it!

The positives:
Well decorated, modern room. The room was cleaned everyday, with fresh towels. The breakfast was always plentiful, and we had no problem getting a table. The reception staff were all multi-lingual- all speaking English. Good location on a quiet street, a few minutes from the main square. Excellent price.

Negatives:
The breakfast choice was quite strange: ratatouille, rice, potatoes with dill, weird sausages and some stale breads. There was also porridge and a range of chillis and condiments. I'm not sure if this is what they eat in Estonia... Also, the reception staff weren't the friendliest.

Overall a good stay in Tallinn.

Room Tip: Request a window with a view. Try to avoid room 102, which opens out on to the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

In my opinion is a very good hotel. I spend there 5 nights (2.02. - 07.02.2014). I didn't have any problems with booking and with stay at hotel. Location is also very good, hotel is situated in heart of city - in old town. The style of hotel is very interesting. My room (N# 304): clean, warm - sometimes to hot so i turned down the temperature; TV, safe, desk, fridge, no wardrobe, design of room is very nice (mixed white wavy walls with woodean beams and bricks); bathroom - small but clean and had underfloor heating, the towels were changed every day. Breakfast: very tasty, a large selection, warm and cold products, the bread was ok but baked rolls werent to fresh.. Staff: helpfull, friendly... just Staff :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel is located in the border of old town so the location was fine and very quiet. I made a hotel reservation via email but they had lost it, luckily there were rooms available. Receptionist didn't really speak a wold to us and wasn't too friendly or nice and none of the people working at the reception said hello to us at any point. We had room 105 at the same level where the breakfast is served but that room was very quiet and we couldn't hear any noise from the breakfast room. Room was very tiny but clean and also tv was supertiny. Breakfast was ok but nothing to mention about. I liked the medieval feeling of the hotel but I wouldn't go back to this hotel because I've seen quite many hotels in Tallinn and I think there are mich nicer ones for the sane price.

Room Tip: Our friends were staying in a room 402 and it was a nice room and much bigger than ours (105) althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinlandTiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were staying wtih some friends and there really wasn't any consistence with the rooms. Ours was ok but the other rooms went from bad to worse. One room opened directly to the lobby and the one in the second floor smelled so badly of mold and sewer you could hardly breathe.

And service was really bad. Not a hello was said or anything else. Only some grumps were heard.

The breakfast room was way too small and they didn't bring replacements on the foods fast enough.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sarpapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent one night in this hotel and that was one night too many. We got a room on the top floor (4th) and even though the room was a basic "nothing special" room, I found it annoying that the only window we had was in the sealing so high that there was no way to reach it. So no fresh air what so ever in the room. The bathroom was inconvenient, there was nothing to contain the water in just the shower area, so once you showered the whole bathroom floor would be wet for a very long time.

I could have been able to deal with all that had it not been for the fact that TWICE during our stay somebody just opened the room door and wanted to enter. First time I woke up in the middle of the night to a man opening the room door and quickly closing it after realizing that someone was in there. The second time we were changing clothes when a woman suddenly opened the door and again quickly closed it. I demanded an explanation at the reception when signing out and it was obvious that the lady in reception just made up a story. She said at night there was a silent alarm and the management came to check all the rooms on the fourth floor and the woman in the morning was cleaning lady. Well, we just happened to know others who staid on 4th floor and none of them had visitors during the night. And if there is an alarm for any reason, I want to hear it! Also from previous experiences in hotels, the cleaning staff knock before entering a room.

As a cherry on top the breakfast room was way too small. People had to stand in line to wait for a table to open up. I think there was maybe 10 tables, nowhere near enough for a hotel with 4 floors of rooms. Also as other people have commented the rooms on ground floor had doors opening either directly to the dining room or they where almost blocked by tables.

I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 90€ for a tiny room on the ground floor. Could hardly move within, and room door opened right in front of breakfast tables. Maybe rooms on higher floors are better, but would rather choose somewhere with less wooden beams and more comfort. Anyway, breakfast also was very disappointing (bread and pastries were far from fresh).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FraANDJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked a weekend via hostelworld and when arriving with confirmation, receptionist told that hotel was full, she had our confirmation, but could not do anything and offered a room in "Ecoland" 12 km from old town.
Still in the evening the hotel had rooms on "Hotels.Com", but the price was 500€, instead of 80€, what we had confirmation.
As all the city hotels were full, we could not avoid thinking that we had been kicked out to get a better deal.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank heikki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#63 of 86 in Tallinn
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#56 of 86 in Tallinn
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Olav Hotel
St Olav Hotel
#74 of 86 in Tallinn
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
#44 of 86 in Tallinn
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#36 of 86 in Tallinn
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotthard Residents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotthard Residents

Address: Pikk 66, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Gotthard Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £38 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gotthard Residents 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotthard Residents is located in an historical part of the Tallinn Old Town, on Pikk Street near the Fat Margaret with its Maritime Museum and the legendary St. Olaf's church. From the windows of the hotel opens a great view on the historical Three Sisters on the one side, and a breathtaking sea view on the other side. The location of the hotel is very suitable for all travellers who visit Tallinn - only 20 minute drive from airport and about 5 minute by foot from the Passenger Port and Central Railway Station. The building of Gotthard Hotel is a great example of architecture of the beginning of the 14th century. The interior is carried out in Medieval style, decorated with unique elements of ancient furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gotthard Residents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing