We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not an Estonian experience!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gotthard Residents

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gotthard Residents
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is not an Estonian experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is owned by Russians and does not, therefore, reflect Estonia in any way.The decor is unmistakeably Slavic from the tiling in the en suite down to the pattern on the stair carpet which was so garish that it made me feel dizzy. The Russian woman on reception was polite but not particularly friendly. When I asked for an extra pillow, the one I received had stains on the pillow case! Our room was on the third floor and as there are no lifts, this meant a difficult trek up and down the stairs with our baggage. The room itself was small, very stuffy and pretty basic. The breakfast room was unbelievably stuffy and overcrowded - so much so that I could not eat as I began to feel slightly unwell. I didn't miss much though - the fare on offer was pretty mediocre and I spotted a square chunk of omelette which was so stiff that it could have stood up and walked off on its own! The only positive comment I have to make about this hotel is its central location in the old town. Finally, a warning to future guests. Do not order a taxi from the hotel reception! We did just that and a Russian taxi driver turned up to take us to the airport. His driving was erratic and dangerous and I have never seen a taxi meter turn around so fast! He wanted to charge us 22 euros to the airport - a journey which normally should cost a maximum of 12 euros. Needless to say, we did not pay the full amount.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    118
    84
    27
    30
See reviews for
54
132
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A nice, small, clean hotel.

The rooms are very small but fine unless you want to dance and as there is so much to do in the City it's likely all you want to do is sleep and shower.

A reasonable breakfast is available, although the omelette like eggs were a surprise with a sugar caramel like topping.

The hotel has no other facilities and at least some tea and coffee making facilities would be nice to compliment the range of drinks in the mini bar.

Generally the hotel is more than adequate for a short stay in this historic city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank André W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The place is located nicely in the top north corner of the old city and the general look of the place is quite nice and atmospheric.

Unfortunately this is where the positives end. For the price, this place offered nothing special. Service was rather unpleasant at the reception. Breakfast was mediocre at the best. Our room on the 3rd floor was ok, but not very cosy.

I also chatted with some other travellers at the breakfast, and two of them told me their rooms didn't have a window. Other had hers situated right next to the dining area. And the dining area was so congested, so you really had to look for a free seat.

Beds were comfortable, but the lack of proper curtains meant that I woke up 6.30 when the sun started shining.

Wouldn't recommend, not for this price.

Room Tip: Demand a room on the upper floors, with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iskari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent, right in the city centre and the place looks quite ok. However, the rooms in the basement look more like prison cells rather than a hotel room. I was in a room with no windows, no proper light and almost no air. Have seen another two rooms in the basement and they were both small and with tiny windows. One was so small, that you could hardly move round the room. The bathrooms are new, but very small and with showers that flood the whole bathroom. No storage space in the room either. The rooms in the upper floors might be better though.

On the brighter side, the breakfast was quite ok. The breakfast area is very small and crowded, especially on the weekend. Sometimes you need to wait a while before you get a free spot. The staff is just ok.

All in all not really worth the money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ilina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife. The hotel is a very nice building with lots of old world character. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.Room we had (201) was nicely decorated and comfy but small and the bathroom was very small. I am of slight build and struggled in it! Also the breakfast was a bit on the poor side if you could get in to the restaurant as it too is small. But can not argue about location 5 minutes from old town centre and 10 minutes from the port.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two days having stayed in an apartment with friends for 3 days previously. The hotel is situated in the old town within 5 minutes walk from the main square, and well located for the excellent seaplane museum, paterei museum and port. The hotel has a real rustic charm and is well maintained throughout. My room was on the fourth floor which was nice and quiet, clean and cosy. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in and I just felt completely relaxed. The breakfast was good, with lots of variety. I had to share a table with other guests on the second day as it was rather busy but that's how you meet people right? A really good experience all in all, and great value for money. Only downside was a small tv but don't let this deter you as it's a minor detail.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely comfortable hotel in a perfect location for exploring Tallinn old town. In a quiet area near the old Sea Gate (Fat Margaret gate and tower!) to Tallinn. The hotel is pretty quirky, and has quite an eccentric layout and rooms. It is comfortable and clean, and pretty well appointed, though could do with a bit more clothes storage in the rooms. As the old town, with lots of superb cafés and restaurants, is just a stroll away, the fact that they don't do evening meals is not a problem. The staff look after you well, and the breakfast are great for variety, and at the weekends go on until 11am for those 'morning after the night before' occasions! There's a surprise terrace as well, which looks out over part of the city, and makes a nice place to take you mini-bar beverages to drink! The hotel was ideal for a long weekend city break.

Room Tip: Check your room's location - if you aren't too good on stairs ask for a lowere floor; if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbie-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#54 of 82 in Tallinn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#42 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Olav Hotel
St Olav Hotel
#53 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
#44 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotthard Residents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotthard Residents

Property: Gotthard Residents
Address: Pikk 66, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Gotthard Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gotthard Residents 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotthard Residents is located in an historical part of the Tallinn Old Town, on Pikk Street near the Fat Margaret with its Maritime Museum and the legendary St. Olaf's church. From the windows of the hotel opens a great view on the historical Three Sisters on the one side, and a breathtaking sea view on the other side. The location of the hotel is very suitable for all travellers who visit Tallinn - only 20 minute drive from airport and about 5 minute by foot from the Passenger Port and Central Railway Station. The building of Gotthard Hotel is a great example of architecture of the beginning of the 14th century. The interior is carried out in Medieval style, decorated with unique elements of ancient furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Gotthard Residents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing