We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes - best eats in Tallinn”
Review of Cru

Cru
Ranked #19 of 941 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes - best eats in Tallinn”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Went for a birthday treat and to see what all the fuss was about. Wow - certainly lived up to expectations, came away satisfied and sated. Great menu with a modern take on some traditional foods - the moose in the woods (basically a prime moose steak and veg) was fantastic, as was the goose and the other foods we tried - however the pate on salt marble was awesome and deserves top billing. The portions were generous and exceptionally well-priced (especially so for food of this standard). The service was impeccable - friendly and well-informed. The restaurant is well located in the heart of the old town and the style is contemporary with some quirky touches. I will be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    128
    43
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, lovely food, great athmosphere in an old building with a contemporary vibe!
Both the chicken and the steak were perfectly dobe, nice fresh vegetables on the side, beautifully composed. Absolutely recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Håkon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“For serious foodies...”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were staying at the CRU Hotel and it was raining, so we decided to play it safe and 'eat at home'. What a good decision that was! The food was sublime, the service attentive and - for what we ate - the prices seemed very reasonable. A particular favourite was the asparagus and egg starter, which was creamy and delicious. For mains, I took a risk on the wild board but it turned out to be a good choice - succulent and tasty and quite different to anything else I have eaten. Portions were not large, but we didn't leave hungry. I later checked reviews on Tripadvisor and was not overly surprised to find it highly rated. It is a classy restaurant that will appeal to anyone looking for something out of the ordinary.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Grand Cru”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, top food and the nicest staff. I ordered wild boar and it was grilled perfect. Served with eggplant and a gravy from heaven.

Recomended!

Helpful?
Thank Sigbjørn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will go back!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were walking past, loking for a place to eat when the dishes beeing served on the terrace cought my eye. They looked so good we decided eat at Cru.
For starters my friend had asparagus with duck egg and I had the smoked elk tartare. These dishes were both excellent! Nicely presented and tasty. The asparagus was perfectly crunchy and the elk had a perfect balance of smokiness.
As mains we both had fish, but dufferent dishes. The fish in both was fried wery well, and the veg was crunchy and nice. Both dishes suffered from a complete lack of salt tough. It tasted like none of the components were seasoned. We did get salt quickly when we asked for it, but if we had had time to wait for new dishes I would have sent ours back, since it's not the same to add salt to a dish as to get it well seasoned.
Even so, I was so impressed by the starters that I will go here again :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SonjaFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cru also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Cru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing