We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tabinoya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tabinoya
Ranked #1 of 44 Tallinn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
320 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Hostel ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed. Staffs were really friendly and helpful, answering all my questions. The bedroom and common room are so comfortable. It was quite at night and very nice atmosphere to sleep. The price is really cheap compare to the quality of the hostel. Centrally located at the heart of the old town, walking distance to the tram and ferry, 1 minute walk to old town square and so many good restaurants near by.

Room Tip: The old town has many turns so be prepared with direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    34
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
24
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I very much liked my stay here. The hostel is very well looked after and organized. The building itself is very authentic and even has a sauna!:) Location is superb, but the most important thing, what makes it a great hostel is welcoming and skillful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMonksBunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Tabinoya hostel is a splendid, small and cosy hostel occupying th top two floors of a town house right in the heart of Old Tallinn, quite literally 1 minute from the town square. With wooden floors, authentic wooden beams, and a charming interior decor, the hostel oozes charms and character. The proprietor is friendly and recommended several good restaurants, both nearby and also ones somewhat off the well-beaten tourist track.
Downsides: very few, except perhaps for the backpacker seeking an all-night party atmosphere as this hostel is on for the quiet and laid-back type - stag-night participants should apply to the many hostels elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 444Tailyour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

A newly renovated hostel on the top floors of a several hundred year old building, right in the old town. Cosy kitchen and common room, old oaken pillars throughout all the rooms, gleaming clean showers and restrooms and a great view from the dorm. When first getting there, ignore the derelict door of the house and the smell in the staircase -- this is a real gem, and situated conveniently between the railroad station and most sights in the old town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The Tabinoya Hostel is a lovely, cosey place in the heart of the medieval city centre of Tallinn. We stayed in a double bedroom for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay a lot. The staff is very friendly & helpful, the whole hostel is clean, very new and quiet (when needed :) )! The "shoes off" approach makes it even more like staying at a friend's place than a hostel (extra slippers for unprepared ones for free)!

Breakfast is basic (bread + marmelade, cornflakes + milk), but the kitchen is well equipped, tea/coffee whenever you feel like it and a fridge for your own food is available - all you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The beds are comfortbale, the rooms are nice, the bathrooms nice plus there is a Sauna you can rent (after a long tour through the city maybe the best thing to do)!

A big plus is the location - right in the middle of the medieval city center! You cannot be closer to the sightseeing spots or pubs, but quiet enough to get your sleep after a long day (or night)!

If you want a nice stay at Tallinn, where you feel welcome & at home (without paying awful lot of money) - come to Tabinoya Hostel and enjoy Estonia! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabinoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabinoya

Property: Tabinoya
Address: Nunne 1, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tabinoya is located in the heart of Tallinn old town, only 100m away from the town hall square and the closest hostel to the train station (Balti jaam)! A perfect place for the travellers who are looking for a cosy and laid back environment to stay. An authentic old town building full of wooden decor is certainly our key feature which makes you unhurried, relaxed and our private Sauna is available to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tabinoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing