We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Tabinoya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tabinoya
Ranked #1 of 43 Tallinn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kajang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Taro was very very very very friendly, and helpful.
The place was very cozy, room was nice, and I felt like I was at home....
Kitchen was well equipped as well. Free coffee & tea all day long, and they even provide breakfast. Awesome!

Coming from the East, removing shoes upon entering is not a problem, in fact I like it very much.

Nonetheless, one need to be extra careful with the stairs. Don't travel with heavy luggage or else, you will have to bring you carry-on on a very steep spiral stairs.

Overall it was a great experience, but I wonder, what was the smell upon entering main entrance? It smelt like CAT.......

Room Tip: Should you need quiet sleep, avoid room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fendiosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    37
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
24
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Really liked this hostel - it's in an old town building which has lots of lovely features. The staff are friendly and the free breakfast is basic but good. Wifi everywhere and good sized lockers. The only downside is a weird drain smell in the showers and toilets - it was quite overwhelming at times, but as everything was very clean, I couldn't understand where it was coming from.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Hostel is very central but that in a way was a problem as if you get a room that faces the street was very noise until quite late at night.
It is also a Japanese Hostel so you will ask to remove your shoes to enter, they provided sleepers but it was a bit of a pain to remove my shoes every time I've arrived. Also please note that there are quite steep stairs.
Apart for that it was very good, clean, the staff extremely helpful and friendly, the shower was excellent and kept clean. They provide towels.

Room Tip: Try rooms away from the street to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
240 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Tabinoya locates in the hearth of Tallinn's Old Town. It's easy to miss as it is two apartments transformed in to a hostel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. As hostels usually, you have to share the bathroom and common areas with others but this is great way to see new people. We met great people from Spain, Manhattan and Kazakstan. Breakfast is cereals and coffee but you can eat outside or bring your own breakfast there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edelfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
401 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed. Staffs were really friendly and helpful, answering all my questions. The bedroom and common room are so comfortable. It was quite at night and very nice atmosphere to sleep. The price is really cheap compare to the quality of the hostel. Centrally located at the heart of the old town, walking distance to the tram and ferry, 1 minute walk to old town square and so many good restaurants near by.

Room Tip: The old town has many turns so be prepared with direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I very much liked my stay here. The hostel is very well looked after and organized. The building itself is very authentic and even has a sauna!:) Location is superb, but the most important thing, what makes it a great hostel is welcoming and skillful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMonksBunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Tabinoya hostel is a splendid, small and cosy hostel occupying th top two floors of a town house right in the heart of Old Tallinn, quite literally 1 minute from the town square. With wooden floors, authentic wooden beams, and a charming interior decor, the hostel oozes charms and character. The proprietor is friendly and recommended several good restaurants, both nearby and also ones somewhat off the well-beaten tourist track.
Downsides: very few, except perhaps for the backpacker seeking an all-night party atmosphere as this hostel is on for the quiet and laid-back type - stag-night participants should apply to the many hostels elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 444Tailyour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
1,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 83 in Tallinn
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabinoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabinoya

Property: Tabinoya
Address: Nunne 1, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tabinoya is located in the heart of Tallinn old town, only 100m away from the town hall square and the closest hostel to the train station (Balti jaam)! A perfect place for the travellers who are looking for a cosy and laid back environment to stay. An authentic old town building full of wooden decor is certainly our key feature which makes you unhurried, relaxed and our private Sauna is available to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tabinoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing