We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite for Estonian Specialities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Liisu Juures

Liisu Juures
Ranked #117 of 914 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Liisu Juures is a popular family restaurant, where Estonian national food and family traditions are highly valued. Here you experience Liisu's cordial hospitality and her brother's excellent cooking mastery. You can taste Estonian wines and a variety of best beverages produced in Estonia.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Favorite for Estonian Specialities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We like this place on City Hall Square for Estonian specialities. It offers outdoor dining on the square weather permitting and a cozy, nicely decorated, lower-level space when it's drizzling. We shared the pork knuckle with sauerkraut and enjoyed it (moist and tasty).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wynnetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“New restaurant with nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nice new restaurant in Raekoja plats. There´s a couple of table in the terrace, at the edge of the square. A couple of stairs you can find vaults with tables and candles. Service is very fast, food is tasty & we are looking forward getting there again. The food itself was very tasty and I´m already missing the starter, assorted meat platter for 2 persons with 2 dips.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JypeWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This restaurant in right in the town square. Excellent traditional Estonia fare. Service tip top and both food and drink super. Price great too, would highly recommend for a traditional taste of Estonia. We visited at night sat outside soaking up the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caz1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
361 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
“Good food with a nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We ate here on our first day in Tallinn and thought that the food was pretty good. It is on the edge of town hall square so there are lots of people walking around and the view is quite pretty. We both had one of the fish dishes which was quite tasty. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The prices were about average compared to the other cafés around the square.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Sunday early evening, in the middle of our drinkorder waiter sees a bigger party coming and leaves us for ten minutes. Later when he brings our food he does not ask what we would like to drink with our food. We ate lamb with potatoes,carrots and so on. The lamb tasted like wool.
We are finns ,and the menu said " karitsa " wich is a young lamb that doesnt taste like wool.
Overrated

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heikki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liisu Juures also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Liisu Juures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing