We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Avoid it like the plague!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Avoid it like the plague!"”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We booked this hotel on nearly 60 days prior to our arrival. we booked this hotel given the location and recommendation (within the Old City and close proximity to the cruise ship terminal). subsequently, we attempted to book their airport pickup service (via 4-emails and 2-faxes to hotel) however to no avail (no response from hotel). finally, we requested airport pickup service via a hotel booking service and the hotel booking service confirmed accordingly. upon arrival at airport, no airport pickup service was present and we had to find alternate transportation (airport bus to outside the Old City and then walk uphill ½-mile into the Old City with suitcases to hotel). upon arrival at hotel, we were informed there were no rooms available, being bumped by a tour group and being relocated to a sister hotel on the opposite side of town (outside the Old City and away from the cruise ship terminal; however they paid for the taxi to their sister hotel and upgraded our room at my request). other non-tour group travelers were also bumped accordingly. there is no excuse for this type of conduct! we are experienced travelers (our 16th trip to Europe) and would not recommend this hotel to anyone (except perhaps a tour group)!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkruser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    170
    101
    32
    22
See reviews for
45
182
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dudley
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is in a great location in the Old Town, built within the old town wall. The hotel rooms were rather on the small side and so were the bathrooms, but there was everything you could need in there including a mini bar and for how long we spent in the room it didnt really matter. We were more than happy with the facilities for the price we paid which I think was £45 a room per night with breakfast. The breakfast was a buffet with all the usual continetal breakfast items, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, hams and cheeses, bread, toast, scambled eggs and sausages, tea, coffee and juice. So something for everyone. We didnt eat in the hotel in the evening. There is no bar in the hotel but you can buy bottles of beer, miniture spirits ands soft drinks from the reception.

You are within easy walking distance of all the attractions within the Old town, we didnt venture into the new town as we were only here for 2 days. We travelled as a group of female friends and felt completley safe at all times.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was comfortable and not a bad size. There was a small fridge in the room which was handy. There was some noise from the traffic on the road behind the hotel. Computer in the lobby for guest use. Breakfast was typical continental, which was fine with us. Based on the room and the overall stay we received good value and I would recommend the hotel.

That being said... we booked the hotel a few months before our stay. They contacted us two days before and said that they overbooked and had to move us to their conference hotel for one night. I refused and told them to try someone else. While we were there I overheard them telling some other guests that they had been bumped due to overbooking. I think that they post the rooms at low rates early on and as the hotel fills up they increase them. People who booked for the lower rates are likely the ones bumped. I think this is a terrible practice and not a good way to treat customers, many arriving after a long trip. Based on this, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pugman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Was traveling with an adult daughter. Our "assigned" room was small, with a double bed shoved up against a wall. Since I had requested a room with two beds, I asked if they had another room available, and they switched us to one of the corner rooms (405). The room wasn't that much larger, but had a corridor entry and many deep windows looking out over trees, making it feel like an entirely different place. Showers are tiny in all rooms. Take advantage of ability to use swim/spa facilities at sister Meriton hotel. It's a short walk, and the facilities are very nice. Price is right: free. Nothing outstanding about the breakfasts, but nice that it's included. Nice historic boutique hotel. It's on the edge of Old Town, so if there IS noisy nightlife in the center, you're nowhere near it. Yet, it's a quick walk to the old town center square.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This hotel is conveniently located in Old Town Tallinn and only a 5 minute walk from the ship terminals. Our room was spacious and oddly shaped with a lot of windows, making it quite charming. While it seems to be an older hotel, it has undergone renovations to make it more modern (stylish lobby and dining area). Breakfast was pretty good and they do provide free wifi. Very good value all things considered.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quatchi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Just returned from a two night break in beautiful Tallinn.

We stayed in the Meriton Old Town Hotel. Loved the location and the hotel, which is situated on the inside of the medieval wall of 'Old Town' Tallinn. Breakfast is continental style with plenty of choice. The hotel is very clean and also has free internet access. Cafe Mademoiselle inside the hotel is very reasonably priced and offers a taster of Russian food, as well as desserts and chocolates.

We upgraded to a Bella Vita room with wonderful views of Oleviste Church - if you are prepared to climb over 250 steps to the bell tower, the views are amazing! The room was spotlessly clean but I feel it needs to be taken up a notch or two to come up to the standard of the downstairs and reception area.
This is my reason for 4* otherwise it would have been 5.

When dining out, Olde Hansa is a must. The food was a little too 'scented' for my palette but the ambience and surroundings - with medieval costumes and entertainers, truly is an enjoyable and very memorable experience.

When I booked this short break no one could understand why I had chosen Tallinn as it's a fairly unexplored destination for us travellers from good ole' blighty. My advice to travellers from the UK.. book a flight with a budget airline (you know the one, it begins with 'R'), pack a pair of comfy walking shoes and explore the Medieval cobbled streets of Old Town Tallin.. it really is beautiful! :)

Room Tip: Bella Vita rooms have views over Oleviste Church
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mistyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
584 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The hotel was far from capacity, but for some reason we were placed at the farthest section in the hotel from reception. This was irritating upon check in when we walked all the way there and our key wouldn't open the door. I had to walk all of the way back and received no apology for the inconvenience. Also, said they would print something up for me but the next day tried to charge me, which offended me, and feel you shouldn't "nickel and dime" guests and at least let them know there is a charge before hand. Breakfast was nice, and we enjoyed the water spa. Another disappointment was informing them that it was my 50th birthday, and they did and said NOTHING! This is not 4-star behavior. Cigarette burn in the comforter and a few other irritating occurances caused us not to enjoy the one night we spent here. BAsed on our experience, I can't suggest a friend stay here. Too bad, because I can see where under different circumstances we would have nejoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Try another hotel first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#46 of 83 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#18 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#53 of 83 in Tallinn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Town Hotel

Property: Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Address: Lai 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Meriton Old Town Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Old Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rixwell Old Town Hotel in Tallinn is the only hotel in town, which is built into the original medieval city wall. The hotel's comfy 41 rooms offer an authentic taste of the Old Town at a reasonable price. This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Tallinn Old Town's restaurant, museum and shopping district. Tallinn's famous Oleviste Church is located on the doorsteps of the hotel and the Town Hall Square is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing