We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Meriton old town, which we really enjoyed. We got one of the "bella view" rooms, which was really quite nice. It's in one edge of old town, inside the walls, and the whole old town is pretty small so it's easy to walk from here to anywhere.

Particularly nice, however, is that you're also allowed to use the gym over at the other Meriton (perhaps a mile away), which was a really beautiful, nice, fully equipped gym. We went over there for like an hour and a half, and totally would have come back if we hadn't gotten a nice, long sleep. They were even kind enough to let us check out two hours late with no extra charge.

The wifi was a bit sketchy in the rooms, but strong and fast in the lobby.

Price was cheap, staff was friendly, and the (off-site) gym all made for quite a pleasant experience :)

Room Tip: The bella vista was a nice touch, probably worth the extra $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyshantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

on arrival the receptionist spoke brilliant english very helpfull as i speak neither russian or estonian the rooms although small and crampt very clean my wifi connection was excellent and free so a big THUMBS UP for that the lift was very small for one person only but if you want to stay in the old town this hotel is for you

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie020173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Whether it is on business or St.Valentine's Day short trip to this small cozy country of Estonia, please consider this hotel for a several day stay. It will take you 9 stops from the Airport on bus and you will be staying quite close to the Old Town, specifically to its highest area, from which you get a perfect view over the whole Tallinn.
This is a clean and comfortable hotel more oriented on business due to having conferencing facilities. Although it is quite large, you get good atmosphere and every kind of service network hotels usually provide.
Perfect aqua centre with various saunas, ice in the dressing room, jacuzzi, swimming pool with excellent relaxation water streams. Many restaurants and bars inside the hotel. Good cleaning.
Drawbacks: no slippers, bathrobe and what is more significant - no water in the gym! :(

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valery_and_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed twice during our trip to Estonia and booth rooms were very good. Small but comfortable & clean. The location was great for exploring the city. The staff were friendly & helpful and breakfast was convenient & good. Excellent value!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The last time I was in Tallinn I stayed at the smaller Meriton Garden hotel, which I prefer over this one. The Old Towen Hotel, however, was perfectly adequate. The staff were friendly, and my room was clean and comfortable (although a bit over heated for my liking). My room was on the 1st floor with a view straight onto the road, from which there was some noise. Like at the Garden Hotel, by the end of breakfast time there is basically nothing left (food isn't topped up - it seems to be put out in one go, so later diners have a poor choice), and tables aren't cleaned. It's a short walk to the old town. When I checked in, the receptionist mentioned free use of the Conference Hotel pool (which I used the last time I was in town).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

A superb hotel, part of the ancient walls and yet still modern. Great location and service. Very nice breakfast and bar area. 10 minutes from all you would want to do in Tallinn. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therewasthisonetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Sweet little hotel with an excellent location right in old town Tallinn. The room was very clean and there was a large breakfast. It was a great deal financially, and we felt we got much more than we paid for. The beds don't offer a lot of support, so if you are overweight or need back support, you might be uncomfortable. The room is dorm like and functional. It was perfect for us because we spent the majority of the trip on the go. It was quiet, and a great respite at the end of the day. The included pass to the spa at the Meriton Conference Center was a luxurious and unbelievable perk. Be sure to try out the saunas. It was a great experience, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#42 of 86 in Tallinn
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#30 of 86 in Tallinn
528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Town Hotel

Address: Lai 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Meriton Old Town Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £32 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Old Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rixwell Old Town Hotel in Tallinn is the only hotel in town, which is built into the original medieval city wall. The hotel's comfy 41 rooms offer an authentic taste of the Old Town at a reasonable price. This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Tallinn Old Town's restaurant, museum and shopping district. Tallinn's famous Oleviste Church is located on the doorsteps of the hotel and the Town Hall Square is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing