We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay in Tallin. The medieval city was amazing and the people very friendly. The hotel was very nicely located and practically the first hotel you come to walking into the city from the port. When you stay in the historic center you cannot expect a really modern hotel room. You trade that for location. We feel we made a good trade. The breakfast was great. Wear good shoes. The cobblestone streets are very uneven and my friend almost turned his ankle several times. Especially after drinking some of the fine local beer :).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildKate34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    170
    101
    32
    23
See reviews for
46
182
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
København
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in july 2013 and paid a total of €180.
The good: Central location (in Old Town) and free use of gym and spa in affiliated hotel (20 minutes walk away)
The bad: Very small room and extremely narrow beds (in order to fit them in room I suppose). Lousy breakfast buffet (lots of assorted foods but very poor quality).
The ugly: The room was extremely hot (no a/c), much hotter than the outside temperature. So really a room you just wanted to get out of.
Real value: €40 per night in high season if you want to use the spa/gym, Else €35 per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very small rooms and very hot in summer. You can walk to all important sights. The Service is unbelievable poor and unfriendly. The next Parking possibiliy is 15 minutes (walking) away and costs 12€/Day. No hairdryer on the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

A lovely old hotel overlooking a cobbled street close to all the medieval sights of Tallinn.Helpful and friendly staff,a comfortable room and an excellent breakfast at a reasonable price.Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherpaMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Nice location at one end of the old town, quite near the harbor, and the old town attractions are within a short walk. The building and hotel facilities are in good shape. Air condition is missing, which could be a problem during a hot season - it was warm during our stay, but the room was on the opposite side from the sun and not too warm. The room we got was a small one - even a little cramped - but clean and tidy, as was the bathroom too. Right behind the window was a road, but fortunately during the night the traffic was sparse. You couldn't sleep with window open though.
Reception personnel was nice - and other staff we didn't really meet. Restaurant is Russian style, breakfast was OK. We could also have used the services of a Spa hotel elsewhere in the town, but did not. There's a luggage room.
Overall, OK if your main expectation is a good place to sleep, not luxury or generous rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the main entrance. This could be a very peaceful location if your window is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeppoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Nice location near St. Olaf church in the old town. Quiet surroundings. Some of the rooms are very small. Actually, they are so small that you may have problems getting in and out of bed. Beds are not very comfortable either. You will get much better value for money in other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjetil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasmus-Rai K, Manager at Rixwell Old Town Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear user of Tripadvisor,

Thank you for taking your time and leaving your comment regarding the stay in the Meriton Old Town Hotel.

We are glad that you liked the location of the hotel.
We have to admit that some of the rooms in the hotel are indeed smaller then in any other newly built hotels. This is quite a characteristic feature for any hotel located within the medieval walls of Old Town. Nevertheless all of the rooms are unique in size and shape – some of the rooms in Meriton Old Town Hotel are up to 17 sq m. This mostly depends on the category of the room. Superior Bella Vita rooms are bigger and two of them also have a balcony. We would like to point out that our reception is always at your service and in case there is any possibility to change the room to a more appropriate one for the customer, our reception is gladly ready to do so.
We find it important to mention that within July 2013 all the beds in the hotel will be changed.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations!
Nevertheless we hope that we will have a chance to greet you in Meriton Hotels and in Meriton Old Town Hotel again to show our improvement.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
574 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had been walked by the Meriton Old Town GARDEN Hotel, a sister property, because apparently booking 6 months in advance is not sufficient notice for them to be able to actually hold a room. [See the MOTGH for Part I.) So after assurances that everything was otherwise in order, we schlepped to the MOTH (ha! good acronym actually!) where we were duly told that despite having been assured we were booked there ... there was no reservation there, either!

Fortunately, that took only about 15 minutes to resolve once it was determined that the reception gal was on her first day. So here we were at a hotel a mile from where we wished to be but it looked decent and, after all, it was only for one night.

We went to our room and entered. Or rather, squeezed. Did I mention this hotel is in a repurposed very old noble's house/castle and is nestled into the fortified city wall? Well, out room was in the basement and the wall of an ancient fortress tower occupied over half of what a normal size room should be. No room here for the booked king bed ... instead we had a tiny double. But there was a diminutive transom window way high on the wall and an old 15 inch tube television cantilevered off the wall on a rickety contraption.

Too tired by now to fight we accepted our fate, returned only to sleep, and high tailed it out of there at 0530 the next morning. No breakfast, not even a pre-packed to-go bag. Probably a good thing.

Never again at any place with Meriton in the name.

Room Tip: Request any room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasmus-Rai K, Manager at Rixwell Old Town Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you for giving your feedback!
Hereby we would like to give our feedback regarding some of the comments that you made.

We appreciate You taking your time to leave a comment about Meriton Old Town Hotel.

Though you do not mention the dates of your stay and your Tripadvisor username does not include your name, we took our time and checked all the possible bookings.
We found two possible matches. We checked both of them and both of them were originally made for Meriton Old Town Hotel (not Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel). Both names include „Old Town“ to make sure that our customers understand that both hotels are located on the territory of Old Town.
We would like to point out that those 2 hotels are located within 350m away from each other. This can also be found and proved by Google Maps.

All our double beds have the same size, we are sorry that this size did not meet your expectations. We would like to point out that starting from 08.07.2013 all of the beds in the Meriton Old Town Hotel will be replaced.
True that part of our hotel is also a part of the medieval wall of the city, which is also under the protection of UNESCO and is one of the main attractions in Tallinn. We are sorry for the fact that you did not like it.

We always provide our guests with a breakfast box - but of course in that case we have to know about the early check-out so our cooks would have a chance to prepare it.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Tallinn.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#46 of 83 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#18 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#53 of 83 in Tallinn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Town Hotel

Property: Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Address: Lai 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Meriton Old Town Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Old Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rixwell Old Town Hotel in Tallinn is the only hotel in town, which is built into the original medieval city wall. The hotel's comfy 41 rooms offer an authentic taste of the Old Town at a reasonable price. This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Tallinn Old Town's restaurant, museum and shopping district. Tallinn's famous Oleviste Church is located on the doorsteps of the hotel and the Town Hall Square is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing